We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good b&b”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Patricia Guest House
Ranked #51 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Derby
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very good b&b”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

It is very good b&b for the price which we paid (£55 per night, double room). We have been there for 2 nights in May 2013. Close to beach, pier etc.
Quite clean, bed comfortable. Unfortunately very small en-suite bathroom but i did not bother about it.
Very tasty breakfast. The lady who cooks is the only one person in b&b business in whole UK who can make proper scrambled eggs. I never ate better in any hotel or b&b so big plus for food.
You can use a bar which is located right of the entrance which is quite good idea if you want have a drink inside.

The only problem is a car parking. There is none. You have to leave your car on the street and use pay and display 8am-18pm (if i remember well 2 hours max. stay apply) . Sunday street car park is for free. You can leave your car at their neighbor's car park for £3 per day.

Very kind, polite and helpful owners. The man owner is slightly tight with the money and charge for any small extras, even if something costs £1 and you can it in any hotel or b&b for free but business is business. The lady owner is very warm person and doesn't bother if you ask about something small extra so I could forgot about little charge introduced by the man.

Otherwise I recommend this b&b to anybody. Book and go for it!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madur44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nomad55torquay, Owner at The Patricia Guest House, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review The Patricia,it doesn't seem like over 12 months since you were here,how time flies. I would just like to clarify a couple of inaccuracies so as not to mislead other guest who might be thinking of booking with us,firstly we do have parking but like most other guest houses around here it is limited and as you didn't ring to try to reserve a space and only arrived in the evening of a bank holiday weekend all our spaces were taken and you refused the offer of parking nearby with a neighbour who lets our guest park for only £3.00 for 24 hrs chosing to park on the street. We cannot remember what you were charged for but the only extras we do charge for are drinks from the bar. If you remember we didn't charge for your little girl that you brought along saying she would share your double room,neither did we charge for the 2 cooked breakfasts that she had. We are pleased that overall you seemed to have enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    23
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
31
37
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Had a really nice two days here in a very welcoming hotel. Our hosts were friendly and helpful and the room was good and spotlessly clean. We opted for the full English breakfast which was first class. We would recommend this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happytraveller481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 November 2013

This was our 3rd visit to the Patricia and yet again the service and welcome was wonderful. Roy & Cath are lovely hosts and provide a great service. Breakfast shouldn't be missed! Can't wait to go back next year.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Stayed here for a long weekend recently with some friends. The location is perfect for a small wander into Torquay either via the top of the town or along the seafront. Roy & Kath were very friendly and lovely hosts. The hotel was spotless and the fried breakfast was excellent with all of the trimmings. Planning to stay here again next year.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Stayed for long weekend, very pleasant, welcoming hosts, nothing was too much trouble. Comfortable room and spotlessly clean. Beds were OK, nothing ever the same as your own bed, Great hearty breakfast. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LillianGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Stayed here for four nights at the beginning of Sept. We were attending my cousin's wedding.
The location of the B and B is fantastic.
The hosts Roy and Kath are very helpful. And were always available.
Our room was spotless , super clean! The mattress could have been more comfortable , but they werent bad. A mattress topper would probably make them better.
Breakfast .... was fantastic . Best English breakfast I have had in years. ( please note breakfast is only available from 8:30-9:00)
Parking was not an issue.
I would recommend this place to stay. Its location, cleanliness and breakfast all are Fantastic!!!
Will definetly stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ejweager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

we stayed five nights in a top floor family room basically the attic. Five flights of stairs to ground level and another set of steep stairs to the dining room. The room and ensuite were clean but cramped. One tiny window which only opened a couple of inches. The room was stifling despite the fan provided. Beds were hard. My 10 year old daughter had an accident the 1st morning there and burned her leg badly by knocking over a mug of boiling tea. she needed hospital treatment and could hardly walk, the owners were both aware of the situation but didn't offer another room on a lower floor so we struggled up to the attic each day. The guest lounge was on the ground floor but seemed to be locked most of the time. We tried to make the best of our holiday despite this but feel the owners could have done more.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jane k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nomad55torquay, Owner at The Patricia Guest House, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
I am sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay at the Patricia and i understand that having your 10yr old daughter scald herself whilst making herself a cup of tea very early on your first morning was very upsetting for you. I feel that this incident has clouded your judgement about your stay as most if not all of what you are saying is totally inaccurate,so i will try to put a few things right. Firstly you say that we could have done more for your daughter,but what and how? The first we knew of the accident was when you came to tell us at 7.00am and said that you had already phoned for an ambulance,we sat you all in the lounge and asked if we could get something cool to cover the burn but this offer was refused and before we could make you a drink the ambulance had arrived. When you arrived back from the hospital a little later you came into the dining room for breakfast and informed us that the hospital had dressed the wound and given her painkillers which had hellped,you then all had breakfast and we didn't see you again until the next morning when again when we asked how she was we were told that she was ok. As you went out, all day everyday to the zoo etc we had no reason to believe otherwise. Never once during your stay did you mention that anything was wrong,if you had have told us that your daughter had a problem climbing stairs we could have helped you to find lower floor accommodation elsewhere as we were fully booked and both of our family rooms are on the 3rd floor (3 flights of stairs not 5). The other option open to you if things were as bad as you state would have been to cut your holiday short and have taken your daughter home but you stayed for the five days that you had booked without complaint. The other inaccurate point you made was that your room was a cramped attic room neither is the case,you were in the larger of our two family rooms and yes it does only have one window,most bedrooms do but it does open fully inwards or as you say for a few inches at the top the choice was yours as for the en-suite being cramped although the bedroom is for 3 people the en-suite is a standard size made for one person at at a time to use. I am pleased that you found your room clean as we take pride in our cleanliness and as you can see from our other reviews the guests all compliment us and say how spotless everything is so i was surprised that you only gave us a 3 for cleanliness.I am sorry that you had difficulty sleeping and in your opinion our mattresses were hard, they are all top quality deep sprung matresses that again we have had many comments from guest saying how comfy they are. I suppose that being upset about the accident didn't help you to relax, as you told me the day after it happened, you felt responsible and blamed yourself for allowing her to make a hot drink . Another thing you said, was that our guest lounge was locked for most of the time.Again this is not accurate, it is locked when we go to bed and sometimes during the day if we have to go out, you chose not to use it when it was open,every evening we sat in chatting to guests but you came in and went straight to your room. Regardless of your hurtful comments, we do hope that Eleanora has made a full recovery and we send you all our best wishes.
Kath and Roy Hamilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 mi away
The Belmont
The Belmont
#31 of 87 in Torquay
117 reviews
0.0 mi away
Trelawney Hotel
Trelawney Hotel
#42 of 87 in Torquay
111 reviews
0.5 mi away
Elmington Hotel
Elmington Hotel
#41 of 87 in Torquay
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Richmond
Hotel Richmond
#67 of 87 in Torquay
359 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kelvin House Hotel
Kelvin House Hotel
#48 of 87 in Torquay
69 reviews
1.0 mi away
Harbour Heights Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Patricia Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Patricia Guest House

Property: The Patricia Guest House
Address: 64 Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Torquay
#25 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Patricia Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Patricia Guest House is a charming Victorian town house built Circa 1871 and retains many period features, We are ideally situated in a central position within Torquay with the Town Centre and Sea front being approximately a 6 minute walk away, Tor Abbey and The Riviera Centre is approximately a 3 minute walk. Paignton, Babbacombe, Teignmouth, and Brixham are a short drive or bus journey away. We have a large comfortable guest lounge available with a Licenced Bar, you can also sit relax and read one of our many books which you are welcome to loan or play a board game. All of our comfortable guest rooms are en-suite and benefit from Tea and Coffee making facilities, Flat Screen Freeview TV's, and Hair Dryers. Our Superior and family rooms have 32" Flat Screen Freeview TV's with built in DVD player and are larger, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Patricia Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Patricia Guest House Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing