We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great b&b”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Patricia Guest House
Ranked #48 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Just got back from a lovely stay at the Patricia b&b Roy and Kath were lovely hosts the room was execelent very clean and spacious for a family room breakfast was very good quality and cooked perfectly we enjoyed our break so much we booked there and then to return twice again this year.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jane b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
There are newer reviews for The Patricia Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

We just returned from our 2 nights stay at Patricia.
This Guesthouse has a good location close to the beach, in a quiet area, close to the park , the Waves indoor swimmingpool and the Torrey abbey. You have a 10 minutes walk to the centre where you find shops, restaurants , caffe , marina.
We've stayed in the family room in the attic . There are lots of stairs which my 7 year old just loved! No complaints from us.
The room might seem cramped but I have seen smaller rooms in UK hotels and I must say we were pleasently surprised about the room. All was clean, well maintained , very comfy beds. We loved the feeling of living in a Victorian house.
In the room you also have a kettle with complimentary tea,cofee, milk and sugar.
Lovely breakfast made by your own preferences.
The only downsize might be the parking space but if you request (and is possible) as we have done, to be reserved, the owner will reserve a place for you. This issue is the same for other hotels/guesthouses in the area and should be understandable.
There is a parking nearby at thenearby park where for 10 hours you would pay 10 pounds.

Room Tip: All roms are quiet .
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blueyes2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed in the lovely B&B for two nights 23rd and 24th May 2014. We were made to feel very welcome as soon as we arrived. The accomodation was very clean and comfortable, with a nice lounge bar, with which we enjoyed a glass or two. The rooms are of a nice size including en-suite and beds were very comfortable. TV and tea making facitities. All very clean. The morning breakfast was also very enjoyable and dining was very organised and again we were well catered for. Would certainly stay here again.
Thank you Roy, for your hospitality.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P1erson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Unless you travel by public transport you might find this hotel inconvenient. The two spaces for car parking at the end of a narrow alley at the rear of the hotel were already engaged and although the proprietor offered to arrange parking elsewhere at additional cost; when he pointed out a vacant on-street parking bay I took it. Unfortunately, the yellow line parking restriction outside the hotel allows only 1 hour between 8am and 6pm in a bay a little way away which makes breakfast difficult as it's strictly between 8.30 am and 9.30am. If you can eat breakfast and exit the hotel in 30 minutes then you don't have to move your vehicle to another, possibly vacant, bay. Otherwise it's necessary to drive round looking for a vacant bay elsewhere, before breakfast.
The room allocated was attic accommodation, which was seven flights of stairs up from the dining room. No joke for the elderly or with limited mobility. Overlooking nearby rooftops, so far from the ground, it was surprising that traffic noise from the busy road outside was so intrusive. The light-transparent curtains together with the sound of a saniflow lavatory flushed during the night in the adjacent room and noisy cars and motorcycles, caused sleep disturbance.
The mattress was quite soft but was reasonably comfortable apart from the crinkly mattress protector.
Although the bedroom floor was not level, causing momentary unsteadiness, the bedroom had been carpeted and decorated fairly recently. The new ensuite, still with labels attached to the sanitary ware, although rather cramped, was satisfactory.
On the positive side the proprietor, Ray was quite helpful. Breakfast was well cooked to individual preference and everything was clean and tidy.
Nevertheless, the parking issue was a nuisance and, while it was not the worst place I have ever stayed in, I will not book "The Patricia" again.

Room Tip: Find another hotel
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clive T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nomad55torquay, Owner at The Patricia Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

I am sorry that you didn't enjoy your one night with us but i did offer you the chance to cancel the night before you arrived when you rang and had a rant at me because there was no parking left. All our guest have the offer of parking with a neighbour for £3.00 for twenty fours hours if our limited spaces are taken but you were adamant that you were not going to pay chosing to park on the street. We are from a bygone era,we are a victorian building and we try to retain the charm of that era. Your room was on the top floor but we do normally inform people when they book direct, or if they book online we hope that will inform us if they have mobility problems. I am so glad that you and your partner had no problems managing the stairs. I knew that you were not going to be happy from the moment you arrived but thankfully most of are guests leave happy any many return time and time again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

It is very good b&b for the price which we paid (£55 per night, double room). We have been there for 2 nights in May 2013. Close to beach, pier etc.
Quite clean, bed comfortable. Unfortunately very small en-suite bathroom but i did not bother about it.
Very tasty breakfast. The lady who cooks is the only one person in b&b business in whole UK who can make proper scrambled eggs. I never ate better in any hotel or b&b so big plus for food.
You can use a bar which is located right of the entrance which is quite good idea if you want have a drink inside.

The only problem is a car parking. There is none. You have to leave your car on the street and use pay and display 8am-18pm (if i remember well 2 hours max. stay apply) . Sunday street car park is for free. You can leave your car at their neighbor's car park for £3 per day.

Very kind, polite and helpful owners. The man owner is slightly tight with the money and charge for any small extras, even if something costs £1 and you can it in any hotel or b&b for free but business is business. The lady owner is very warm person and doesn't bother if you ask about something small extra so I could forgot about little charge introduced by the man.

Otherwise I recommend this b&b to anybody. Book and go for it!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madur44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nomad55torquay, Owner at The Patricia Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review The Patricia,it doesn't seem like over 12 months since you were here,how time flies. I would just like to clarify a couple of inaccuracies so as not to mislead other guest who might be thinking of booking with us,firstly we do have parking but like most other guest houses around here it is limited and as you didn't ring to try to reserve a space and only arrived in the evening of a bank holiday weekend all our spaces were taken and you refused the offer of parking nearby with a neighbour who lets our guest park for only £3.00 for 24 hrs chosing to park on the street. We cannot remember what you were charged for but the only extras we do charge for are drinks from the bar. If you remember we didn't charge for your little girl that you brought along saying she would share your double room,neither did we charge for the 2 cooked breakfasts that she had. We are pleased that overall you seemed to have enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Had a really nice two days here in a very welcoming hotel. Our hosts were friendly and helpful and the room was good and spotlessly clean. We opted for the full English breakfast which was first class. We would recommend this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happytraveller481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

This was our 3rd visit to the Patricia and yet again the service and welcome was wonderful. Roy & Cath are lovely hosts and provide a great service. Breakfast shouldn't be missed! Can't wait to go back next year.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 mi away
The Belmont
The Belmont
#28 of 87 in Torquay
123 reviews
0.0 mi away
Trelawney Hotel
Trelawney Hotel
#33 of 87 in Torquay
127 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beverley Hotel
Beverley Hotel
#71 of 87 in Torquay
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kelvin House Hotel
Kelvin House Hotel
#43 of 87 in Torquay
73 reviews
0.5 mi away
Elmington Hotel
Elmington Hotel
#45 of 87 in Torquay
107 reviews
0.1 mi away
Abbeyfield Hotel
Abbeyfield Hotel
#8 of 87 in Torquay
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Patricia Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Patricia Guest House

Address: 64 Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Torquay
#25 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £44 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Patricia Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Patricia Guest House is a charming Victorian town house built Circa 1871 and retains many period features, We are ideally situated in a central position within Torquay with the Town Centre and Sea front being approximately a 6 minute walk away, Tor Abbey and The Riviera Centre is approximately a 3 minute walk. Paignton, Babbacombe, Teignmouth, and Brixham are a short drive or bus journey away. We have a large comfortable guest lounge available with a Licenced Bar, you can also sit relax and read one of our many books which you are welcome to loan or play a board game. All of our comfortable guest rooms are en-suite and benefit from Tea and Coffee making facilities, Flat Screen Freeview TV's, and Hair Dryers. Our Superior and family rooms have 32" Flat Screen Freeview TV's with built in DVD player and are larger, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Patricia Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Patricia Guest House Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing