We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Avenue Park Guest House
Ranked #47 of 153 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Stayed here on a Friday and Saturday night. Booked a couple of days before and so glad they still had a room free. We had a lovely little double. Not a huge room, but had everything you would need. Lovely comfy bed and duvet and pillows. Nice shower, tea and coffee facilities. Lovely breakfast too. Location wise, we found it perfect. Just far enough out of the centre of town, but only a 10-15 minute meander into the centre. Would not hesitate to book here again, and I'm sure that you would pay a lot more for some of the hotels in the town for half of the comfort. We parked out on the road out the front of the bnb which was fine for us and didn't have a problem getting a spot. The owners were very friendly and welcoming and not too intrusive which was perfect we felt. Help and advice is there if required.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ngwilkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    303
    43
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
55
231
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
south yorkshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

We've just got back from a three night break in Torquay, we stayed at the Avenue Park and have to say we really couldn't fault it. Sandra, the owner, did a great job of making us feel welcome and providing a bit of info on Torquay & the surrounding area. The room was spotlessly clean, tastefully decorated and had a really comfy bed and recently refurb'd bathroom. Breakfast was delicious and hard to resist each morning! Sandra & Louise were clearly busy serving the guests but always had time for a little chat. Parking wasn't a problem, we always found a space on the road at the front or at the back of the house. We would definitely return if we are back in Torquay in the future and wouldn't hesitate to recommend to anyone else.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Lovely relaxing break, very clean beautifully furnished room. Sandra was very friendly and welcoming, as was the waitress in the morning who served us with a delicious breakfast. Room facilities excellent.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

My wife and I came across this little gem of a guest house when we booked a long weekend in Torquay last week, 10th July. The hostess is a lovely lady who instantly made us feel welcome. The service at breakfast and wide choice were all superb. The full english is particularly good as it is obvious that the food stuff used is of a high standard rather than the run of the middle discount products you get in most places. The rooms are very well appointed and comfortable, very comfy beds. En suite rooms are spacious. The thing that struck me most was the cleanliness. You can normally find the odd thing lurking in the remote corners but not here. Its so clean and so tastefully finished. The location is superb, could not be better and with ample free parking as the resort itself must make a fortune on parking. The guest house was literally a 5 - 10 minute leisurely walk to the central harbour.

We will definately be returning where we are sure that the Sandra and staff will once again "shower" us with a warm welcome and service! Thanks to all.

Room Tip: All are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terrymaguire70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

The perfect place to stay, Sandra made us feel very welcome. The rooms were very clean & comfortable, breakfast was lovely, everything was local & easy to get to with or without a car. The perfect dining across the road at "Ocean Drive", was fantastic, excellent food, service & very friendly staff we ate there for 4 nights of our stay. No need to go into the town centre, which was also perfect. My mum & I would definitely come back to this guest house & would recommend to other friends & family.

Theresa & Shelley - Bristol

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

We spent five nights at the Avenue Park Guest House, so welcoming and very friendly, room top notch, breakfast lovely, and only a very short walk to all amenities in Torquay, will definitely stay here again if we find ourselves in Torquay in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katrina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

My family and I spent 3 weeks at this Guest House and had a wonderful time,Sandra the proprietor is a marvelous host, efficient and friendly, and an excellent cook to complement the service experience.
The rooms are tastefully furnished and very comfortable,good size shower and more than sufficient wardrobe space for the overseas traveler.The room was well serviced with plenty of clean towels and more than adequate bed changes throughout our 3 week stay.
The breakfast room is well appointed with attractive decor and comfortable.
One of the key attractions is the front garden which we used regularly for relaxing after a swim and/or trip to the various attractions nearby.
I would return without hesitation

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsmoothie2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 mi away
Crimdon Dene Hotel
Crimdon Dene Hotel
#27 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Berburry
The Berburry
#43 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Daylesford
The Daylesford
#63 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Burleigh House
Burleigh House
#28 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
1.1 mi away
Shirley Hotel
Shirley Hotel
#14 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
0.4 mi away
Torcroft Boutique B&B
Torcroft Boutique B&B
#11 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenue Park Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Park Guest House

Property: Avenue Park Guest House
Address: 3 Avenue Road, Torquay TQ2 5LA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Avenue Park Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious B&B 5 minutes walk from sea front and beach. Individually styled Premier,Superior and De-Luxe en-suite rooms with views over parkland and garden, luxury king size beds and soft seating, free WiFi access in all rooms complimentary hot drinks tray and toiletries, Hairdryer, DVD/Freeview TV. Delicious Breakfasts, continental and English. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avenue Park Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenue Park Guest House Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing