We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfaction guaranteed”
Review of Abbeyfield Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Abbeyfield Hotel
Ranked #7 of 86 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2011

We had stayed here 2 years ago and it made a good impression on us then so decided to stay again for a couple of nights at Easter. We were not dissapointed as the standards were still very high. A very friendly welcome, a clean and accomodating family room with 2 single beds seperated by a door for our 2 teenagers. The location was great as we walked down to seafront via the Abbey in about 10 minutes. The breakfast is the star of the show.Thankyou for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Ring and speak to owners for advice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susie186262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (545)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

497 - 503 of 545 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2011

My colleague and I stayed at the Abbeyfield Hotel for a week and we really enjoyed each day. Everything is perfect: stylish, cosy, very clean rooms, delicious breakfast and above all, the friendliest, most caring host we have ever met. Bravo!
Ingrid and Martin from Austria

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inaVienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2011

Jeff and Sandra on our arrival made us very welcome and throughout our stay were very helpful, looking for places to visit and travel options around Torquay.
The breakfasts were excellent, we had two evening meals which Jeff calls "Bar Snacks"
these were more than enough for both us, fresh and tasty after a long days walk.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kholder764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2011

We stayed at the abbeyfield in February so it was not very busy. The service we received was one of the best for any accommodation hotel or guest house we have every stayed in. We did not eat in on a night time (although offered) but were given every help on the best places to eat. I would like to thank Jeff and Sandra for a great relaxing weekend. We will be staying again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank egger83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2011

Jeff & Sandra go out of their way to make your stay just right. Excellent choices for breakfast. Very comfy bed.
Only disappointmnet was the weak shower.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AWP98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2010

I stayed with my two sisters for 4 nights and we were given a very warm welcome, lovely spacious rooms very comfortable.
We ate evening meals in the hotel and the meals were very excellent, we were asked for any special requirements for meals. very good.
Jeff & Sandra made our stay a lovely break, thank you.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CliffFroud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2010

From the moment I arrived I was made to feel welcomed and important to Jeff and his wife who run the hotel. A caffetiere appeared whilst completing my registration, accompanied by scrummy biscuits. The room I stayed in (no.5) was clean, comfortable and ideal for me, with a goodsized ensuite.
Because I had to be out for business reasons (the purpose of being in Torquay) before the normal breakfast time, Jeff kindly ensured that he was around and with my full english breakfast ready.
Location is very handy and parking is avalable onsite which doesn't half save on the expensive parking meters in Torquay .
All in all I would definitely recommend this hotel to you all.
Welcome assured, hospitality superb, and totally stress free.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeremyWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.4 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#5 of 86 in Torquay
506 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 86 in Torquay
3,010 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 86 in Torquay
566 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
1.1 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 86 in Torquay
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbeyfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbeyfield Hotel

Address: Bridge Road, Torquay TQ2 5AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#3 Best Value Hotel in Torquay
#4 Business Hotel in Torquay
#6 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £51 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Abbeyfield Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abbeyfield hotel is a 6 bedroom,4 star licensed family hotel. Situated in one of Torquay's most favored locations, set within its own south-facing garden, with private parking. 400 Yards from seafront, train station, Riviera centre and within easy walking distance of harbour and town. Torbay offers a wide choice of quality attractions and is well served by good road, bus, ferry and rail links. For keen walkers, there are beautiful coastal walks and country parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Abbeyfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbeyfield Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing