We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!”
Review of Abbeyfield Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Abbeyfield Hotel
Ranked #5 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Harold Wood, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed 15 September 2011

My partner and I recently stayed for 3 nights and we can not speak highly enough of the time we spent there. The room was spotless, the bed was far too comfotable and the selection of breakfasts available was first class. Jeff and Sandra were very accomodating to any requests. We would definitely stay there again and would strongly recommend to anyone looking to stay in Torquay.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephenjbailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    460
    59
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
78
358
18
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Just back from a 5 night stay here. Great location. Owners Geoff and Sandra are very friendly and helpful, great breakfast. Room was spotlessy clean with hairdryer, toiletries, tea and coffee, iron, tv and lovely decoration. Will cook an evening meal for you and there is a bar. Would staythere again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barkerk2610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham England
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

This B&B has everything going for it. Excellence decor, Clean Tidy. plenty of parking, quiet location yet easily walkable to the town and harbour. Breakfast was one of the best. with the fruit salad being simply superb. One of Jeff's nighbours told me that Jeff was a chef and it shows. Evening meals available too - but didnt try these. Offered tea on arrival and Jeff gave a great run down on the local attractions.

Room Tip: We had a bround floor room opposite the main door. Really easy to get to - great view over the gard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ianfromnotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

This really is a first-class guesthouse. It's beautifully furnished in the modern style, and spotlessly clean. It's located in a quiet area of Torquay and parking was no problem. My room was light and airy with a comfortable bed and an efficient shower. Breakfast was excellent – fresh fruit and full English breakfast cooked to order. The owners Jeff and Sandra couldn't have been kinder or more helpful, and as a solo traveller it was nice to have someone talk to and have a drink with at the end of the day. I normally stay in one of the big hotels but this is just as good (and a lot more economical!). Top marks from me!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macsailing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2011

stayed here over the august bank holiday with my wife and 2 children (14 and10)

had a perfect weekend in the family room ,,,, no complaints watsoever
,will definetly be back next year ,,,, we travelled on to newquay afterwards and stayed at the 5 star headland hotel....... all i can say is that the stay at the abbeyfield was much nicer ,,,
thanks geoff and sandra

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nickmotocross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2011

Absolutely cannot fault the place. The people were extremely helpful and attended to your every need. Our room was one of the best we have stayed in. Would stay here again if came back to Torquay. Excellent breakfast too. Love it!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annaboek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2011

My family stayed with Jeff and Sandra for 2 nights in August. The minute we arrived, we were offered a cup of tea and juice for the kids, we instantly felt welcome. Jeff took great time to advise us of local attractions and how to get there with all the local clues. The guesthouse itself was immaculately clean and tidy with everything you could possibly want. We all slept really well and spent both evenings in the cosy lounge room with the kids playing board games while us adults chatted. Warning: The brekkies are to die for, so don't plan any lunches!!! The choice of breakfasts were what you would expect at a major luxury hotel ranging from fruits/cerals/toasts to a full English or Continental breakfast. I heartily recommend The Abbeyfield - enjoy your stay and be spoilt.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.3 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
1.4 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#2 of 87 in Torquay
470 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cary Court Hotel
Cary Court Hotel
#6 of 87 in Torquay
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,754 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
499 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#11 of 87 in Torquay
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbeyfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbeyfield Hotel

Property: Abbeyfield Hotel
Address: Bridge Road, Torquay TQ2 5AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#3 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#4 Business Hotel in Torquay
#5 Best Value Hotel in Torquay
#6 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbeyfield Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abbeyfield hotel is a 6 bedroom,4 star licensed family hotel. Situated in one of Torquay's most favored locations, set within its own south-facing garden, with private parking. 400 Yards from seafront, train station, Riviera centre and within easy walking distance of harbour and town. Torbay offers a wide choice of quality attractions and is well served by good road, bus, ferry and rail links. For keen walkers, there are beautiful coastal walks and country parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Abbeyfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbeyfield Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing