We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a warm welcome break”
Review of Abbeyfield Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Abbeyfield Hotel
Ranked #7 of 86 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 May 2012

The first thing we noticed was the warm frindly welcome with a cup of tea after our trip down to Torquay.The room was very clean and tidy and of a high standard.The breakfasts each morning of our stay was first class.we've yet to meet sandra but jeff was very attentive towards us and we wanted for nothing. All in all we had a lovely relaxing 3 night break and was well looked after in pleasant clean surroundings. Thank you I will definately stay here again soon. John and Debbie

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tonjon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (546)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

461 - 467 of 546 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2012

The Abbeyfield is an excellent hotel offering friendly and helpful service and great breakfasts from a master chef. The hotel is spotlessly clean and the rooms are very comfortable and well serviced. The bar is very handy at the end of a working day and the hotel is close to the conference centre and Belgrave Road pubs and restaurants. The beach is just down the road and the harbour a short taxi ride or about a twenty minute walk. We had a great time and will visit again the next time we are in the Riviera.

Room Tip: I asked for the family room and my daughter was delighted to discover that she had her own space sli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Had a lovely 2 night break, location was perfect. Our hosts were really friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Spotless rooms and breakfast was a very high standard. Would definitely stay there again and recommend to anyone.

Thanks for a lovely time - Ian & Jane

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matthews1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

A group of us stayed here 4 nights over the Easter weekend. Booking the seven rooms was easy with an email confirming our booking and requests re: special diets. Jeff and Sandra were perfect hosts. On arrival we were offered a welcome drink and given a map and advice of things to see and do during our stay. The place looked very clean and tidy.

The rooms were very tastefully decorated, comfortable and spotlessly clean. A TV was on the wall. There was plenty of storage space. A hairdryer was in the dresser drawer and we were shown where the ironing board and iron were stored if we needed it. Tea and coffee making facilities were in each room. The bathrooms were bright and fresh and spotlessly clean again, some had baths whilst others had a good size shower cubicle.
The bed was very comfortable so after a good night’s sleep we were looking forward to breakfast. We were not disappointed. Breakfast was served every day in the dining room and the breakfast was extensive. To start with there were cereals, yogurts and fresh fruits and juices, accompanied by tea and coffee. We were then brought a cooked breakfast- the eggs cooked according to our taste; good quality sausages together with bacon, mushrooms, hash brownies, tomatoes or baked beans resulted in tasty breakfast that was well presented. This was then followed by plenty of toast and home-made jams and marmalade.
An attractive, comfortable lounge with a large screen TV was available as well as free Wi-Fi. Guide books and reading books were available.
We would thoroughly recommend this place- good quiet location, decor and most importantly, - very attentive and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Falconscroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Had a two night stay in this excellent hotel. Hosts were warm and welcoming, nothing was too much trouble. Rooms were spotlessly clean, breakfasts were wonderful. One of the best we,ve stayed in and would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cliff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Had two nights stay, room and en-suite was exceptionally clean, comfortable, had everything you need. Breakfast was a full english could not fault this at all it was excellent. Jeff and Sandra the owners are very welcoming and friendly, and have alot of information about the area. Would recommend this Hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Comfortable, clean, good food, friendly hosts - perfect

Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.4 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#5 of 86 in Torquay
509 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 86 in Torquay
3,017 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 86 in Torquay
568 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
1.1 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 86 in Torquay
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbeyfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbeyfield Hotel

Address: Bridge Road, Torquay TQ2 5AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Torquay
#3 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#4 Business Hotel in Torquay
#6 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £51 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Abbeyfield Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abbeyfield hotel is a 6 bedroom,4 star licensed family hotel. Situated in one of Torquay's most favored locations, set within its own south-facing garden, with private parking. 400 Yards from seafront, train station, Riviera centre and within easy walking distance of harbour and town. Torbay offers a wide choice of quality attractions and is well served by good road, bus, ferry and rail links. For keen walkers, there are beautiful coastal walks and country parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Abbeyfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbeyfield Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing