We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous place to stay”
Review of Abbeyfield Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Abbeyfield Hotel
Ranked #7 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights in July 2012 and we loved every minute of our stay. On arrival we were welcomed like friends and were offered a drink as we sat down in the living room. Jeff, the owner, then showed us the key attractions of Torquay and the surrounding area before being shown our room. The room was superbly decorated, extremely comfortable and homely. The breakfast was scrumptious. The service we received was 1st class and genuinely friendly. We highly recommend staying at this hotel and we would most certainly stay again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Firaxia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (551)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

442 - 448 of 551 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2012

Well, I give credit where it is due and I have to say, this is one of the best hotels I have visited (I have been to a fair few too). Sandra and Jeff gave us a very warm welcome and throughout our stay nothing was too much trouble.It was our wedding anniversary whilst there and we were really touched when we received a card and box of choccies - a lovely gesture and really appreciated - thank you. The establishment is nicely decorated, clean and comfortable.The rooms are airy and fully equipped with a hairdryer, airer and even a fan! The bathrooms clean and again had toiletries and towels provided - Lovely! The full english breakfast is hearty. Of good quality - tasty, very filling and above all, hot on arrival along with the variety of toast and preserves. Cereals,fruit and yoghurts, as well as different juices are available.
There is a bar too if you want a nightcap.
The hotel is in a peaceful road and parking was no problem. The bus stop is just a few steps away. Jeff gave us a map of the town which was really useful and also gave us some ideas of where to go and places to eat - a real bonus if you don't really know the area. I could go on and on, but you need to go and find out for yourself. These lovely people work hard and it really shows. Jeff and Sandra we can't thank you enough for your hospitality. We will return!

Room Tip: All rooms are airy, clean and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

I have stayed in various hotels, and in comparission the Abbeyfield Hotel is second to none! The rooms are clean and very well decorated, the location is fantastic, close to everything yet very peaceful and quiet in the evenings. I honestly can't think of a sinlge negative about this beautiful little hotel, and I would like to congratulate the owner, Jeff on providing his guests with with a home away from home and such great service. Your efforts are greatly appreciated and recognized!! Keep up the good work and see you soon.

No matter what the purpose of your trip, rest assured the Abbeyfield Hotel is always your best choice!!

on a side note...

They also make one of the best full english breakfasts you'll ever have!! Missing it already!

Room Tip: You really can't go wrong. We stayed in room #1, right at the front entry and it was quiet, cle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alcatejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Stayed her for 3 nights last week. On arrival we were welcomed like friends, invited into the living room and offered a drink. Jeff the owner then sat with us showing us the location of the hotel on a map and some local places to visit.

The breakfast was very good for a small hotel, with a selection of cereal, fruit and yoghurt's as well as the excellent full English. Extra toast was available if required.The room was very comfy and nicely decorated, with tea & coffee provided. Only downside (genuinely) was the water pressure in the shower. Not a problem for me but for some it may be. We were in Room 5. This room contains a bath (only room that does).

The location of the hotel is good for the main roads and is about 20 walk to the Harbour area and 5-10 to the seafront.

Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 5 has a bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gareth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Many thanks to Jeff and Sandra for a lovely weekend break. We were made very welcome from the moment we arrived, supplied with tea and biscuits and a map of the local area and plenty of information about places to visit and good places to eat. The room was spacious and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was ample and beautifully cooked. In a quieter area away from the main road, but near enough to walk into Torquay and Cockington. Free parking was also a bonus. Hope to return soon.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick372016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Stayed for four nights at the abbeyfield and from the moment we arrived up until leaving we were made to feel very welcome by both jeff and Sandra. We stayed in a double room which was both modern and comfortable. Breakfast was more than adequate each morning. Would definitely recommend this hotel and if we return to Torquay would definitely stay here again. Great value for money!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manchesterblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

I must say what a brilliant experience,both Jeff and Sandra could not do enough to please us,the Breakfast was fantastic,Evening meal 1st class,Bedroom was modern and spotless,a very pleasant stay,will be back for a second visit,no problem,many thanks for a pleasant stay,from Bill and Carol

Room Tip: just book,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bill m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.1 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 85 in Torquay
665 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
1.4 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#6 of 85 in Torquay
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Cimon
The Cimon
#16 of 85 in Torquay
415 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 85 in Torquay
609 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#19 of 85 in Torquay
1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbeyfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbeyfield Hotel

Address: Bridge Road, Torquay TQ2 5AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#4 Business Hotel in Torquay
#4 Family Hotel in Torquay
#6 Best Value Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £58 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Abbeyfield Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abbeyfield hotel is a 6 bedroom,4 star licensed family hotel. Situated in one of Torquay's most favored locations, set within its own south-facing garden, with private parking. 400 Yards from seafront, train station, Riviera centre and within easy walking distance of harbour and town. Torbay offers a wide choice of quality attractions and is well served by good road, bus, ferry and rail links. For keen walkers, there are beautiful coastal walks and country parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Abbeyfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbeyfield Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing