We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Professionally well-run”
Review of Abbeyfield Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Abbeyfield Hotel
Ranked #7 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Professionally well-run”
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Just what you need ... a well-presented, well-run place with pleasant proprietors, comfortable room, good breakfast etc. Location is fine, with harbour, shops & railway station all within about 10 minutes walk.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1 which was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardRG40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    467
    60
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
78
366
18
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We stayed at the Abbeyfield Hotel recently for three nights and wished we had booked for a week. The owners Jeff and Sandra made us very welcome and the hotel is delightful The rooms are spotless and very comfortable. Jeff told us of many places of interest to visit and nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was a feast and worthy of a 5 star rating We could not fault this hotel and we would happily recommend it to both family and friends Thanks to both Jeff and Sandra for a great stay and we will hopefully see you when we return to Torquay

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joni m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

We stayed for 2 nights and were very warmly welcomed by Jeff and Sandra. Jeff was very knowledgeable about the area and the local restaurants and events. The rooms were spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Well what can we say about breakfast?! An attentive chef and plentiful choice. It was nice that both were supporting local enterprises by serving produce such as home made jams and marmalades. Both Jeff and Sandra clearly work very hard in the running of their B&B. If we were to return with our boys to Torquay we would most definately stay here again. Thanks to both Jeff and Sandra.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Babymoo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 September 2012

We had a fantastic stay at the Abbeyfield Hotel. The owners Jeff and Sandra were very friendly and the cooked breakfast was second to none! The room was clean and tidy and the separate area for the children worked perfectly.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 September 2012

This was our first visit to a B&B for several years as we'd always camped before so we were unsure what to expect. I have to say that we were very pleasantly surprised! The owners were very friendly, the room very clean & tidy and to top it off the full cooked breakfast spot on! We were given some great info by Jeff about the local area on arrival which made exploring the area much easier (even recommending a great beach we wouldn't have found ourselves). Our two year old daughter was also allowed to stay for free in our room and the price for the room was one of the best around! Thanks again for a great stay and hope to see you soon!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andyb129a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 September 2012

As all the other reviews say this is a lovely little hotel, very clean and really tastefully decorated. The breakfast was excellent, wonderful having a cafetiere of coffee to myself! The bar was nice as we arrived lateish after a long drive and could have a drink before going to bed. The owners have obviously worked hard to provide a nice place to stay and it shows. Definately reccommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlotte b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We stayed for 2 nights and we are leaving our first Trip Advisor review as the hotel and hosts were so good. The owners Jeff and Sandra are friendly and professional as mentioned in the other reviews Our family of 5 (children 2,4 and 6) were made very welcome. Also the hotel and our room were spotlessly clean. Finally, the breakfasts were excellent.

In summary, the dozens of great reviews are well deserved, if we come to Torquay again we will stay here and wil recommend the hotel to others.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve90z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.3 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
0.9 mi away
Cary Court Hotel
Cary Court Hotel
#4 of 87 in Torquay
516 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#2 of 87 in Torquay
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
509 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,814 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 87 in Torquay
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbeyfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbeyfield Hotel

Property: Abbeyfield Hotel
Address: Bridge Road, Torquay TQ2 5AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#4 Business Hotel in Torquay
#5 Best Value Hotel in Torquay
#6 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Abbeyfield Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abbeyfield hotel is a 6 bedroom,4 star licensed family hotel. Situated in one of Torquay's most favored locations, set within its own south-facing garden, with private parking. 400 Yards from seafront, train station, Riviera centre and within easy walking distance of harbour and town. Torbay offers a wide choice of quality attractions and is well served by good road, bus, ferry and rail links. For keen walkers, there are beautiful coastal walks and country parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Abbeyfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbeyfield Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing