We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfy and cosy”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Abbeyfield Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Abbeyfield Hotel
Ranked #5 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
1 review
“Comfy and cosy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013

I stayed here with my husband for a two night break to celebrate our ruby wedding anniversary. Was a nice touch to have a box of chocolates in our room which was a nice surprise. We highly recommend this B&B, we had a lovely warm and comfy king size bedroom and the breakfast was great. The only bad thing was the weather! Were made to feel very welcome.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    449
    55
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
77
346
16
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2013

Jeff and Sandra were warm and welcoming and were happy to see us, even on a Saturday with a voucher exchange. We were greeted with a cup of tea and biscuits while we checked in and Jeff showed us all the best places to see on a map. He was very knowledgeable about the area and so enthusiastic, we wanted to go explore straight away! The room itself was lovely, nicely decorated and modern while still keeping to the traditional style of the house. The bathroom was light and clean and the shower was great. It's about a 15/20 minute walk from Torquay sea front and restaurants. The bed was comfy and we had a great night's sleep.
Breakfast was really good. Choice of cereals, fruit and juices and a full English breakfast made how you like it. Overall, we had a brilliant stay and we would definitely stay again if we were in the area. It's so nice to see a couple so passionate about the area they live, it really made our stay much more enjoyable.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2012

We visit Devon on a regular basis as we have family living here We always stay with Jeff and Sandra, We wouldn't stay anywhere else They are such lovely people nothing is to much trouble for them. The rooms are well equiped and tastefully decorated, beds are lovely and comfortable and the breakfast are very good (so much to choose from) Its just like home That is why we like to stay here

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catwoman34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2012

My husband and I came for a weekend break to chill out and unwind. This guesthouse is wonderful. You are made to feel extremely welcome by both Jeff and Sandra. The rooms are spotlessly clean and very nicely decorated and most of all comfortable. Breakfast was top class and there was plenty of choice for everyone. Disappointed that i had to miss out on one breakfast due to not feeling too good, but made up for it the next day!!! We will most definately be going back to stay at the Abbeyfield and will take our two children and nan with us next time !! Thank you Jeff and Sandra for a lovely weekend.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tibbles1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southam, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2012 via mobile

We were unsure of where we going and were greeted very warmly and shown to a very clean room with fresh clean bathroom. Great recommendation for dinner and a big comfy bed. Lovely break fast. Exactly what we wanted. Very good value.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 99PMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2012

We have stayed at jeff sandras place 3 times now and we are never disapointed. The rooms and service are perfect everytime along with the breakfast.
The location is central to everywhere and the private parking is very good.
we will always stay here every year as we have never been disapointed.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sbirtwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012

We would like to thank Jeff and Sandra for a lovely stay in Torquay. Upon arriving we were met with a hot drink with biscuits and Jeff took the time to point out local restaurants, attractions etc on a map. Our room was fantastic and had lots of finishing touches to make it extra special - a proper hair dryer, radio alarm clock, toiletries and plenty of tea/coffees etc. Breakfast was excellent with a super choice of cereals, fruit, yoghurts, toast and a delicious Full English. The hotel is close enough to walk to town and has plenty of car parking spaces so that you don't have to worry about going out and not being able to park when you return. We would certainly return to stay again and would not hestitate to recommend this hotel to anyone else wishing to visit torquay or the surrounding area. Thank you again to Jeff and Sandra who work so hard to make everyones stay as good as it can be - Steve and Lyn from Droitwich Spa

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynda1959_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.4 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#8 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,597 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cary Court Hotel
Cary Court Hotel
#3 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
0.3 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
2.6 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#6 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbeyfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbeyfield Hotel

Property: Abbeyfield Hotel
Address: Bridge Road, Torquay TQ2 5AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#3 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#4 Business Hotel in Torquay
#5 Best Value Hotel in Torquay
#7 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbeyfield Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abbeyfield hotel is a 6 bedroom,4 star licensed family hotel. Situated in one of Torquay's most favored locations, set within its own south-facing garden, with private parking. 400 Yards from seafront, train station, Riviera centre and within easy walking distance of harbour and town. Torbay offers a wide choice of quality attractions and is well served by good road, bus, ferry and rail links. For keen walkers, there are beautiful coastal walks and country parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Abbeyfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbeyfield Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing