We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Abbeyfield Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Abbeyfield Hotel
Ranked #5 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Great Place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Thanks to my sister for finding this place. We stayed there for 3 nights. As soon as we entered one could see it was a well kept, clean place. Jeff , the owner greeted us. He was very warm and welcoming. Took the time to sit and guide us on what we should see and how to get there.
The rooms were in good condition as well. Everything was well thought off. The breakfast was great. His wife too was very warm and welcoming.
Great location...would recommend it to anyone. On the whole a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ferzshirz .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    449
    55
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
77
346
16
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Just had short break whilst recovering from Knee operation.
Still the same magnificant service.
Room spotless Breakfast fantastice.
Hosts Jeff and Sandra are wonderful
This was out tenth visiist and going again in 6 weeks with the Grand daughter.
Would not think of going anywhere else.

Room Tip: Phone and speak to Jeff he will be most helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeWorcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

The position of the hotel is very good you can easily walk to the sea front, harbour and the town.
Our bedroom was very clean and comfortable, with an en-suite, the breakfast was excellent, there is plenty to choose from it was served hot and tasty The bar was very good, well stocked with very good prices. Jeff and Sandra are excellent hosts being knowledgeable about the area they were also friendly Jeff went out of way to ensure we had everything we wanted. Being greeted with a tray of tea on arrival was very much appreciated thank you both for a very enjoyable stay. We hope to stay again in the Autumn.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandyc007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Clean rooms, friendly staff, good breakfast and really reasonable prices. A great find! Thank you for our stay, it's great to find a comfortable and welcoming place in Torquay as we have family here. Thanks!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JessIca K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Brilliant place and excellent hosts. Enjoyed our stay and the hospitality. We will come back again, perhaps for a week this time. The hotel is highly recommended. Thank you for a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

My wife and I arrived late due to roadworks, however we were met by Jeff, who provided a welcome tray of tea and biscuits. From meeting him, I found him always to be friendly. Over tea, he provided a map of Torbay and took time to point out the many places of interest in the area.
Our upstairs bedroom was quiet well equipped, clean and positioned at the front of the house. The en suite bathroom was similar. A good choice of food was available for breakfast. This was cooked to order during the three days we stayed at the hotel. The english breakfast was excellent. Jeff went out of his way to ensure that we were satisfied with the food.
He was always willing to discuss local restaurants and attractions, together with the best way to travel to them.
His local knowledge was excellent and he took time to make sure we were happy during our stay
We enjoyed our stay. The hotel is well situated, with a short walk to the promenade. A bus service is available virtually outside the front door.
We would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank silverleo37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Stayed recently for one night on our way back from Cornwall. Greeted by our host Jeff who made tea and provided a map and directions to the nearest sports bar and various other points of interest. Very comfortable room. Everything bright and clean including use of the lounge which made it all very homely. Lots of interesting books to browse through, both in the lounge and another area on the first floor where you could sit and read. Breakfast was wonderful, so much choice. Easy walk to town/seafront. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.4 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#7 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,594 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cary Court Hotel
Cary Court Hotel
#3 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
0.3 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
2.6 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#6 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbeyfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbeyfield Hotel

Property: Abbeyfield Hotel
Address: Bridge Road, Torquay TQ2 5AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#3 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#4 Business Hotel in Torquay
#5 Best Value Hotel in Torquay
#7 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbeyfield Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abbeyfield hotel is a 6 bedroom,4 star licensed family hotel. Situated in one of Torquay's most favored locations, set within its own south-facing garden, with private parking. 400 Yards from seafront, train station, Riviera centre and within easy walking distance of harbour and town. Torbay offers a wide choice of quality attractions and is well served by good road, bus, ferry and rail links. For keen walkers, there are beautiful coastal walks and country parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your Abbeyfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbeyfield Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing