We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value for Money” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abbeyfield Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Abbeyfield Hotel
Ranked #5 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great Value for Money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Fantastic welcome from Jeff and Sandra.
Pot of tea on arrival was much appreciated.
First time at Abbeyfield but it felt like visiting friends.
Stayed for 5 days, very clean and comfortable room, excellent breakfast.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NormanStenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    445
    54
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
77
342
15
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,290 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 422 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Enjoyed a weekend break at Abbeyfield. Has a comfortable lounge to relax in and a dinning area for breakfast. Jeff is very welcoming and informative , he's got it just right for being helpful and available without being intrusive. Tourist maps are available and plenty of info about whats on in Torquay and surrounding area with some helpful recommendations from Jeff. Breakfast was superb both days. Room 2 has a view across garden, it was clean and has on suite loo and shower. Comfortable bed and wardrobe space. Small TV and tea coffee tray which is restocked daily.It is in a peaceful location about a 10min walk to town but I found it really easy to get lost so take a decent street map if you want to find your way back. The hotel is on the junction of Bridge Road and Lime Avenue which has vehicle access at one end only but pedestrian access at both ends.

Room Tip: Room 2 has comfy bed , view across garden. Ask for your wifi code it's free, our tablet worked b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tezpil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forfar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a week and thoroughly enjoyed everything about the place. The previous reviews were spot on, so you can book in confidence. Location, rooms and breakfast were 10/10. The weather completed a wonderful week.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank KGBviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Although it was our first visit, it felt more like visiting friends than staying at a hotel.

Jeff and Sandra worked so hard to make the stay relaxing and stress free. From the moment you arrive and enjoy a cup of tea and a chat about the hotel, you are made to feel welcome and valued.

Jeff offered a run down of the local area including where to go, what to see as well as good places to eat. I mentioned i enjoyed photography so Jeff also offered some really good suggestions for taking pictures.

The room was a junior suite and was spotlessly clean, bright, spacious with a very comfortable bed. My wife was particularly pleased to see sockets and good lighting near a mirror.

The breakfast was very good with a selection of fruit juices, pastries as well as an excellent cooked breakfast anyway you wanted it. Although breakfast was between 0830 and 0900 you had as long as you needed without being rushed to finish.

We travelled by car so the location with free parking was perfect to explore the whole of the Bay with Babbacombe, Paignton and Brixham all less than a 30 minute drive away.

Room Tip: The junior Suite has an additional seating area with windows overlooking the garden and is a really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fair oak
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Have just returned from a 4day break at the Abbeyfields Hotel and cannot fault the hotel at all.The room and bathroom was really clean and spacious and the bed was soo!! comfortable.Breakfast was everything youd wish for and Jeff went out of his way to cook exactly what you wanted /,any way you wanted so no complaints there.The beach was a short stroll down the hill so the location was very good.All in all we had a lovely time and would definitely stay again when we return to Torquay

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nannymuppet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We booked this based on reviews left here and weren't disappointed. The room was well appointed and the bed was comfortable.
The owner, Jeff, is very congenial without being excessive.
Our only minor niggle was the narrow time window for breakfast (8:30 to 9:00).
Overall a great weekend. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We had a nice stay at the Abbeyfield Hotel. We have two kids aged 1 and 3, who were catered well for. We got a nice family unit, with two separate bedrooms. The rooms were nice and tidy. Also a great breakfast + welcoming, helpful and pleasant hosts!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vegard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#23 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,532 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#2 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Cary Court Hotel
Cary Court Hotel
#3 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
2.6 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#7 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbeyfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbeyfield Hotel

Property: Abbeyfield Hotel
Address: Bridge Road, Torquay TQ2 5AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#4 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#4 Business Hotel in Torquay
#6 Best Value Hotel in Torquay
#7 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbeyfield Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abbeyfield hotel is a 6 bedroom,4 star licensed family hotel. Situated in one of Torquay's most favored locations, set within its own south-facing garden, with private parking. 400 Yards from seafront, train station, Riviera centre and within easy walking distance of harbour and town. Torbay offers a wide choice of quality attractions and is well served by good road, bus, ferry and rail links. For keen walkers, there are beautiful coastal walks and country parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Abbeyfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbeyfield Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing