We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't listen to bad reports !!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Parkdean - Torquay Holiday Park
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Don't listen to bad reports !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Having just returned from a four day break here , and after reading all the negetive reports was a little worried about what we would find ! WeI have never felt the need to write a review on here. But find it sad that the site is slated soo much !! Seriously what do people expect when paying £70.00 for a four day break !!! The park is Conveniently located ten mins from Torquay ! Lovely new caravan. Spotlessly clean! Lovely modern play park for kids! Although quite a small park very well maintained and the best evening entertainment we have ever seen at a campsite by far !! We were two family's and all had a great time and will prob return ! Well done Parkdean!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Weybiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    189
    157
    73
    73
See reviews for
391
97
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

we were allocated this place as we were here as my son was playing rugby. Arrived to find that we were allocated a apartment instead of the caravan we had paid for. After reading other reviews thought here we go, but was plesantly surprised. Our apartment had been renovated and was'nt that bad as we would only be sleeping there. It had everything you need for a long weekend but would have gone mad if was here longer. After unpacking my other half decide to go outside onto our little balcony which had a nice view of the sea. When he came back in and went to lock the door it would'nt lock. went to reception which was closed but spoke to head of security who sent someone to have a look. They came said that someone would fix it tommorow as maintenance had finished for the day. Was told to push the settee across the door to stop my 4yr old son from getting out. As if that would stop any 4yr old child. Anyway following day after returning from watching my elder son play rugby went to check if it had been fixed - no chance it was still broke. Went to reception again and was told it would be fixed by tommorow morning. Never mind the safety of my child. We had to resort to wedging one of the chairs under the handle to keep it locked. So would i recommend this place no chance. And while we were there other people from other rugby clubs were having to share caravans as they didnt have enough room for everyone, which meant 10 people in a caravan for 6. clearly something is'nt working. Also the children are running up and down the stairs, banging on doors and screaming and shouting till 4/5 in the morning and no security to be found.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lbanusred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frome, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

Visited during school holidays as part of a Daily Mail holiday promotion with partner and two teenage children. On arriving at the park we all commented on the awful looking council flat accommodation next to reception which looks like it needs knocking down! Little did we know that is where we would be staying for the next 4 nights!

We were on the first floor and it was a bit of a drag lugging all our stuff across the car park and up the stairs as we had been expecting to park directly next to a caravan. Inside the apartment was basic but clean and there was plenty of storage space and a balcony on the plus side. The shower was also good. On the negative side the fridge door was broken. Once we had got over the initial shock the apartments are very well located for the shop, bar and entertainment. The weather also wasn't great that week and I imagine we were probably warmer than we would have been in a caravan. Also while walking around the block we noticed rooms on the lower level had been refurbished so hopefully they are making their way up.

The caravan park is a bit in the middle of nowhere and you would need a car to get around in my opinion.

We went to the entertainment most nights which was standard Parkdean quality and the pool was warm and clean. All the staff seemed friendly enough.

I will definitely return to another Parkdean site but not this one. I will be sticking to Ruda and Sandford in the future! Torquay itself also looked a bit dilapidated but being out of season probably didn't help. Brixham and Paignton are nicer places to visit.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

We stayed here in the 1st week of the Easter holidays and although when we were checking in- it was plainly obvious that the park was ramjammed but the check in staff were very quick and efficient.
After reading previous reviews we were dreading the unpacking of the car as you can't park next to your caravan. Luckily the weather was fine. And to be perfectly honest it was a bonus as the kids played around the caravan on bikes and with their toys and we didn't worry about the safety quite so much.
The pool could be a little warmer- it was cold in spots but the showers are freezing. That is probably our only main fault. The entertainment was as you expect on a parkdean holiday and the staff in the restaurant were quick to meet anyone's needs. I'd like to add that the play park by the restaurant is great for the kids.
The shop was stocked quite well we thought, but there's a tesco express on a parade of shops less than a 5 minute drive. We used the takeaway there one night and thoroughly enjoyed it. Apparently they deliver to your caravan too ( wish we'd known)..
We decided to spend a whole day down in Torquay, but wanted the freedom of having a beverage in the pubs too so ordered a taxi which cost under £10(apparently parking there is very expensive though) We enjoyed a sightseeing boat tour and much much more and were quite glad we done this.
We also took a walk and just outside the park there is a lovely woodland walk called orestone plantation. It's well worth taking the ramble.
We had an excellent holiday and feel a lot of past reviews don't reflect the hard work that parkdean have obviously put in to correct the problems they may have had.
Oh and on the way home we stopped by teignmouth for a cream tea and a quick spot of sightseeing, a must to visit. I wish we could have spent longer there!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OCMCP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

Stay from 2april for 4 days went with two teen age boys and a six year old. We had a great time room was fine. Kids loved pool and golf. Great little club in eve. We do not drive but got out and about on bus. Fish shop very good in village. From the bean family Essex :0)

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2011likeourhol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west sussex
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

This was a cheapie Sun Holiday, and to be honest the caravan was perfectly good enough. What let the caravan down was the hot/cold shower and the lack of warmth. We have just come back and had the weather have been a tad better this would probably have helped with the warmth in the caravan !! We ended up having to go and buy a thicker duvet (much to the kids annoyance) because the duvet in the caravan would have been sufficient for a summer break stay but could of done with being a tad thicker for the colder weather (in all bedrooms this would apply too). We didnt use the entertainment as simply had used this as a base for our holiday (plus the kids weren't bothered by going up in the cold evenings so we stayed in and played games etc). We did however use the swimming pool, mainly hoping that the showers in there may provide warmer water than the caravan. However we were very dissapointed when these turned out to be colder than the temperature in the swimming pool !!!
Saying that Torquay Holiday Park was an ideal location for us to get to where we wanted to go throughout the week, and even managed a pleasant hour drive into Cornwall as we wanted to visit an attraction over there !! Having stayed in North Devon before, Torquay was definately easier to access various places than Ilfracombe. For what we paid we were satisfied, however had we of paid the extortioniate fees for a week with the normal prices for school holidays then I think we wouldn't of been quite so accepting of this. Had the weather been a bit more favourable then this would i think have improved the warmth within the caravan, however this is something we are unable to change......

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flossie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frome, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012 via mobile

Have just returned from a weeks stay here and could not find fault.Park is very well maintained clean and tidy a little out of town but so what.I have stayed in most styles of caravan here over the last few years and have never been disappointed.Yes some maybe basic but for the price you can pay are perfectly adequate.The caravans are spotless on arrival and the cleaning teams work hard to get them ready for next guests on changeover days.Stayed in a Denbury caravan this time which was brand new for this year complete with small patio area.Very nice indeed.Stay here 3\4 times per year and have found the staff very friendly,helpful and attentive.Entertainment is good although this week park was quiet so felt a bit sorry for the acts as very few guest to perform to.Bingo played in the evening although quite short.Good money to be won subject to sales.All in all very satisfied withour stay here and look forward to returning in September.When I am on holiday I require good clean accommodation running hot and cold water a good shower and loo and this is what I got.Torquay holiday park is a good base for getting out and about.Dartmoor,Plymouth and Exeter all easily accesable.Fixed price taxis available to Torquay and railway station at torre or Torquay not to far away.Train fares very reasonable in Devon as well.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank davenfelix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
2.9 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,589 reviews
2.6 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#49 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#31 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
2.1 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
2.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#37 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkdean - Torquay Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkdean - Torquay Holiday Park

Property: Parkdean - Torquay Holiday Park
Address: Torquay Holiday Park Kingskerswell Road | Devon, Torquay TQ2 8JU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Torquay
Hotel Class:4 star — Parkdean - Torquay Holiday Park 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It was the Vistorian's who coined the phrase 'the English Riviera', likening this stunning 22 mile stretch of Devonshire coastline to its French equivalent. And with its balmy weather, sub-tropical plants, gastronomic delights and colourful waterfronts, it's easy to see why. So where better to spend the summer than at Torquay holiday park, close to all the Riviera's finest attractions. * A lively park in a country hillside setting * Stunning views towards nearby Torquay * Close to Brixham and Paignton seaside resorts * Blue Flag beaches just three miles away * Fantastic Showtime Entertainment ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Torquay Holiday Park Hotel Torquay
Parkdean - Torquay Holiday Park Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing