We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Parkdean - Torquay Holiday Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Parkdean - Torquay Holiday Park
UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

We use this park to stay when visiting elderly relatives in the area which works out cheaper than staying in a hotel or B&B. You need a car to go out during the day to experience Torquay and Paignton as the site has very little other than swimming and a small amusement arcade. The club at night could be better as the entertainment is very repetative, same people singing dancing, just different tunes different costumes - the team of site entertainers are really not as good as they think they are. Sid & Lizzie for the kids is good though.
Staff helpful, although upon arrival we did have to contact reception as the stool in the caravan came apart as we lifted it leaving a base with four very sharp corners which could have caused a nasty injury to my grandchild. Can't understand why the cleaners didn't remove or report this or did they just hoover round it ??

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BodsUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chevon M, Manager at Parkdean - Torquay Holiday Park, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for your honest review.

We're sorry that we didn't get all elements of your stay just right, we have shared your comments with our Management Team at Torquay to be aware of.

Kind regards,
Chevon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    183
    155
    69
    70
See reviews for
375
95
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Myself and my family recently spent a week at the park, are two little ones age 3 and 1 absolutely loved it especially the entertainment in the club at night (sid and lizzy). We stayed in a Denbury caravan which was spotless and had all the essentials needed for your stay. I would highly recommend this park yo anyone visiting torquay

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank daniwebb86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chevon M, Manager at Parkdean - Torquay Holiday Park, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for your review, we really appreciate it.

We're pleased you had a great time and we hope to welcome you back soon :)

Kind regards,
Chevon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

After reading mixed reviews my partner, 7 month old & I decided to stay here for a week in July.. wish we went somewhere else.

So we arrived at the park early & was met by a nice receptionist who allowed us to check in early & gave us our passes & key.

Got up to the room which at first glance was a extremly basic apartment & unpacked. (Apartment 217) Whilst playing on the floor with our little one we noticed hair strands, a lot of crumbs and NAILS from previous guests - it clearly had not been hoovered, which in my opinion is the most basic cleaning a place should get... Disgusting!

The sofas felt as if all of their cushions had been taken off and we were just left with the frame Of the seats. Tiny telly, one socket in one of the bedrooms & manky shower.

Night-time came & the noise from other guests was absolutely ridiculous - shouting across the carpark, loud banging etc you can even hear when other people turn their lights on and run the tap. (When you have a baby who is constantly being disturbed by all of these noises its not very fun!!) You can also hear the corridor doors smashing back as people come in and out of the block. Bearing in mind we were on the top floor and furthest away from the bar and entertainment so who knows what it would have been like if we were closer.

Next day, saw a cleaner and the cleaning cupboard well lets just say the site & smell explained why our room was so grimey.

The whole apartment block stunk of a dingy old smoke den, where there were dead moths and general muck everywhere.

The site itself - patio bar - basic, no comfy chairs to relax on & have a drink just decking with tables and dinner tables. Park was good for older children but not very accesible with a pram. Swimmimg pool seemed clean, no family changing rooms just one disabled toilet. Arcade - small, indoor kids play area - ok,
Entertainment not sure as never went.

The site itself is situated up an extremly tight windy country road so if not a very confident driver beware. You have to drive everywhere, there are no nice walks you can do from the site with a pram & the site is too small to walk around and see anything interesting.

Torquay itself is lovely and lots to do in surrounding areas such as Paignton zoo & beach.

Overall, yes it's cheap so the tiny telly & sofas with no cushions you can kind of expect but it should atleast be clean and quieter than what it was.

We left 2 days early.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amijayne91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chevon M, Manager at Parkdean - Torquay Holiday Park, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for your review.

I would really like the opportunity to speak to you regarding your comments. If you could please send your details to; tripadvisorservice@parkdean.com and advise me of a suitable time for us to contact you.

Kind regards,
Chevon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We visited this caravan site for the first time and can only say we will not return. We went with our 13 year old son and our daughter and her boyfriend. The caravan when we arrived smelt of dogs the curtains were wet in every room. I had to ask for another quilt considering we had paid for five people they hadn't judged very well. The pillows were the worst ever and the linen felt damp. It was not very well equipped either in the way of kitchen utensils. We never once went into watch the entertainment. On other caravan sites when you arrive you normally have a welcome pack with ideas of things to do and places to visit and also emergency contact numbers. Not here just the club passes and a how did we do survey. When I asked at reception about contact numbers the receptionist said oh I've got them here in the draw what hood is that if you need a doctor.the only plus side was the indoor pool which was very clean and life guarded .these caravans need some serious updating my daughter and partner now have colds from stopping in that damp caravan.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank donna b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chevon M, Manager at Parkdean - Torquay Holiday Park, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for your review of Torquay Holiday Park.

I would really like the opportunity to speak to you regarding your comments. If you could please send your details to; tripadvisorservice@parkdean.com and advise me of a suitable time for us to contact you.

Kind regards,

Chevon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We arrived there on the 30th June. Caravan was boiling!! it was lovely and clean and a good size for my party of 5. We were told that the lounge was large enough to keep our travel cot pushed to the back which it wasn't but that wasnt a problem. My son loved the park and the horse in the arcade. The kids entertainment was good. The (adult) entertainment wasnt great but what you would expect for cheap holiday (sun holiday).The pool was ideal but the lifeguards wouldnt let my son down the slide cos he wasn't quite tall enough, which really upset him cos he was allowed on it the day before!!!!! At the end of the day my kids loved it and thats what counts.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank starlightrob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Booked through the sun holidays and after reading reviews wasnt expecting too much but were pleasantly surprised how nice this was. We were allocated an apartment which were very nice. Kids entertainment was very good and lovely pool. Will definitely return in the future

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank joethepower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Just come back after a long weekend. Was allocated a caravan at the back of the park. Very steep hill to walk up and down everytime you wanted to vist the swimming pool, club house, arcades ect. Swimming pool was good size with flume, childrens area and jucazzi for over 16. The entertainment on a night was better some nights then others. Play area for children is very good,shame it rained so my children couldnt use it. Not enough around the park to do if the weather is rubbish,arcade or swimming that's it. Caravan I was impressed with untill the toilet and sink got blocked. Reported problem in the morning and lucky we was out for the day as when we got back at 19.00 no one had been out. If we had been in we would have to keep walking all the way up to reception area to use loos. Had to phone out of hours who come down straight away to try and fix the problem and then informed he has been on maintance all day but no one had reported the problem to him. He couldn't fix it so allocated us a caravan next door, and said we could use that to go to the loo and use the shower untill the next day when we was leaving. This was fine untill the following morning and he hadnt informed reception or cleaners. Lucky I had just gotten out of the shower!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Zouigie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chevon M, Manager at Parkdean - Torquay Holiday Park, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for your review.

We are sorry we didn't quite get your experience right and appreciate you taking the time to share your comments.

Kind regards,
Chevon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torquay
2.9 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#24 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,518 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,165 reviews
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
3.3 mi away
Devon Valley Holiday Village
7.4 mi away
Landscove Holiday Park
Landscove Holiday Park
#4 of 9 in Brixham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkdean - Torquay Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkdean - Torquay Holiday Park

Property: Parkdean - Torquay Holiday Park
Address: Torquay Holiday Park Kingskerswell Road | Devon, Torquay TQ2 8JU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Torquay
Hotel Class:4 star — Parkdean - Torquay Holiday Park 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It was the Vistorian's who coined the phrase 'the English Riviera', likening this stunning 22 mile stretch of Devonshire coastline to its French equivalent. And with its balmy weather, sub-tropical plants, gastronomic delights and colourful waterfronts, it's easy to see why. So where better to spend the summer than at Torquay holiday park, close to all the Riviera's finest attractions. * A lively park in a country hillside setting * Stunning views towards nearby Torquay * Close to Brixham and Paignton seaside resorts * Blue Flag beaches just three miles away * Fantastic Showtime Entertainment ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Torquay Holiday Park Hotel Torquay
Parkdean - Torquay Holiday Park Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing