We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday for all the family!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Parkdean - Torquay Holiday Park
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We have just got back from a Friday to Monday stay here and i must say we were sorry to leave and wished we had booked a few more days. There was myself and my partner in our late thirties and our two children aged 8 and 15 and the mother in law. On arrival staff were smiley and helpful and we even had an upgraded caravan free of charge which was a lovely surprise. I would strongly recommend the Wellswood caravan, its spacious and is just a short walk from all facilities we had number 9 and you can park your car right next to the caravan. The beds were surprisingly comfortable and the shower ... Well I've had worse in a B and B! Endless supply of hot water for the 5 of us and a proper power shower! Everything was clean and spotless, after reading some of the reviews I'm not sure if we were just lucky or they were unlucky? The pool was great for the kids and our 8 yr old loved the two water activities we booked him into wet and wild being the best. The life guards were great with him and really got involved and made the kids experience great! We only sat at the bistro a couple of times but both times we were plagued by wasps this was mainly due to dirty tables that hadn't been cleared quickly, this was a real shame as the views from there were lovely. Theres a NISA shop on site thats reasonably priced and well equipped, fresh bread etc. The club house was just what you'd expect really, an hour of kids entertainment and then bingo! If you didn't want to sit through either you just go a little later when the singers come on which i have to say were great! Susie was great and her voice amazing for all the tributes she did. They even put on a dance show a comedian and game show on different nights. The only down side here was the tables and chairs! The tables on the upper tiers were stuck down and so thin you knocked knees with the person opposite so not comfortable, and the other thing was there weren't any beer mats on the tables? So within a minute of putting the drinks down the table was soaking which was unpleasant and also not good for your bingo tickets! As a few ppl have commented you have to drive to nearby attractions but they are not far at all!! The Kent Caves are great and Paignton beach well worth a visit. There were so many other attractions to go too but alas we ran out of days. Our 15 yr old loved it too in fact they both said they'd love to go back as they made friends in the amusement arcade and swimming etc just wish we had time for them to try the archery lesson. its just a lovely old fashioned holiday for the family of all ages. Thanks Park Dean for making our short stay a holiday to remember! We came home relaxed , revived and with a smile on all our faces:)

Room Tip: Our caravan was a Wellswood and was S9. The site is very hilly so if you are with elderly relatives...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alfiewrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (730)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

439 - 445 of 730 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2014

Stayed here for a week we had rented two apartments, when we boojed we asked to be together. But no we were on different floors, different ends, carpets were grubby, curtains in room came down when closing. Tv was an old portable, with seperate dvd player, freeview so 3 remotes. Laundrette was always busy due to only three machines. Which on most days were full used by comoany to clean linen, and staff doing personal laundry left clothes in drier for 1hr then returned to her job. This blocked up driers for cutomers and washing machines. Enterainment average. Crazy golf poor ran out if golf clubs. No lifts to top floors wished we had booked especially for the price paid. However by going out into torquay utself was fantastic

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Wjdeedee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chevon M, Manager at Parkdean - Torquay Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2014

We are sorry to read of the issues experienced and we appreciate you taking the time to share your views with us and others.

Kind regards,
Chevon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

we decided to have a appartment for a change. when we pulled up outside i wondered if we made a mistake. the outside looked shabby. the carpets looked like they have never been cleaned. on entering the room which was on the top floor and overlooked torbay the mood changed. it was large and clean with a good cooker and fridge, and beds were not to bad. the park is o.k but lacks atmosphere. the pool was warm and big enough for us. the night entertainment is entirley for the kids. the money this holiday cost ,i would have expected professional acts. drinks expensive. we left one night at 10.30, and i bet there was only 30 people left in the room. never seen this before in 30years of holidaying. if it was not for the views i would have rated the park lower. i think it back to caravans for us as there is no consideration from other guests, doors banging, load t.vs, kids screaming. etc
you will need to drive every where as camp is on the top of the outskirts.
would not return.
ive everywhere as camp is on very top of outskirts

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank bobt354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chevon M, Manager at Parkdean - Torquay Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2014

Thank you for your review and feedback, we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience.

Kind regards,
Chevon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Just got back from Parkdean Torquay this was our 2nd year here and we loved it again all the staff are helpful and friendly, special thanks to the Troupers who made it great for our 2 boys
We have already booked again for next year and hope some of the staff will be there as well as I know some do move round from park to park.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Trev622014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We booked a caravan for 3 nights - a long weekend. Upon arrival all was good, Caravan and the park was clean and tidy.
We spent 1 day in the park using the swimming pool (NOTHING LIKE THE PHOTOS), which was clean but basi and the childrens club, very basic but the kids enjoyed it.
I personally would avoid the Restaurant. In the evening we waited over an hour for the food, which when it turned up was pretty good, but expensive for what it was. The cutlery was very dirty, we ended up cleaning it ourselves.
The following morning we tried breakfast and yet again waited an hour for eggs and bacon, yet we were the only ones in the restaurant!!! and yes the cutlery was dirty.
Be aware of a high population of wasps when you are eating in the summer!!
We did make a complaint to the park manager, who i must say was exceptional (Sally), she dealt with our complaint, and we were satisfied with the outcome.
The evening entertainment was cheesy but its more for the kids, discos etc.
Overall not bad, I would say if you are expecting 5* then dont come here. You pay for what you get.
The restaurant needs more staff, and maybe a bit of updating to the swimming pool and club.
A good base to explore Torquay and its surrounding area.

Room Tip: Pre book your caravan - The new caravans are better but you get what you pay for
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chevon M, Manager at Parkdean - Torquay Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for your review.

We're sorry to hear about the issues experienced whilst at Torquay, we are however pleased to hear that Sally was able to resolve your concerns with you at the time.

We hope to welcome you back to a Parkdean park in the future.

Kind regards,
Chevon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I paid £1,258.00 for 2 weeks. Don't know what I was expecting from a caravan so perhaps I'm being kind with three stars or expecting too much (I don't know... You decide). I've been a tent user since childhood but recent bad summers caused me to try a caravan. I was surprised that on arrival you're given a plastic bag and told to find your van. On a campsite you're often shown where to pitch your tent and for £1258 I would think it courtesy to show the weary traveller to their holiday accommodation. The van had seen better days even thought it was very clean. The lights were reluctant to come on and there was a shallow hole in the wall next to my Grandsons pillow. The toilet was oozing water from the base where it joined the floor.
Parking?!?. In a word "Inexcusable". Cars have been the size they are today for many years. It's no good saying the park was created when Ford Escorts were small. Cars were big last year, the year before and the year before. I picked up car door damage as others probably did. I drive a Freelander and there were vans, 4x4's, estates etc as you'd expect in the 21st century. It was sometimes impossible to park and get out of the car (I'm 6ft tall. 13 stone. So I'm not a large person). It was also difficult to pull the car out to drive away once it was locked in by a car opposite.

Our most serious concern was the swimming pool. There was No control over little children pooing in the pools. No baby swim nappies and no rules regarding nappy trained children in the big pool. Twice we had to get out because there was poo in the water and on the walkway. The pools were then closed and we all had to cram into two showers and dress in a crowded locker area. The third time the pool didn't open because of water problems. It's an environmental health nightmare waiting to happen. My Wife and I paid £12 per day at the Riviera Centre in Torquay to keep our child and ourselves safe.
On the plus side Parkdean Staff were very nice and I had a nice holiday in Torquay. I didn't use the site entertainment so can't comment.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank andy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We paid over £700 for a caravan at Parkdean Torquay. We booked a Parkdean site as we have previously stayed at Warmwell, which was lovely. On arrival we were very disappointed with the caravan as it was not at all like the photographs on the website. It was very basic which was fine but was not comfortable in the slightest. The beds did not make for a good night's sleep and the spare duvet did not have a cover on it. The dressing table stool was covered in very dubious stains and the bathroom was not very clean.
The play park was good for the children but the swimming pool was very dated and after being hounded by the children to go there the first time, they didn't mention wanting to go there again, especially the older children who said it was too crowded.
The supermarket offers basic stuff which is obviously overpriced and limited. We ate once at the patio restaurant which was ok but expensive for the quality.
All in all we tried to spend as little time as possible at the site and preferred to visit the amazing beaches and surrounding areas. I would not recommend this site to anyone who is expecting what they see on the photos because they are misleading. I will not be returning to this park but would definitely visit this beautiful part of the country again.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank fordys4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chevon M, Manager at Parkdean - Torquay Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for your review.

We're sorry to hear you feel let down and that Torquay didn't meet with your expectations.

Parkdean are committed to improving and we really appreciate your honest feedback, we have shared your comments with our management team.

We hope to welcome you back to a Parkdean park in the future.

Kind regards,
Chevon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torquay
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
5.2 mi away
Hoburne Devon Bay
Hoburne Devon Bay
#1 of 26 in Paignton
643 reviews
5.7 mi away
Beverley Holidays
Beverley Holidays
#3 of 26 in Paignton
884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Landscove Holiday Park
Landscove Holiday Park
#5 of 8 in Brixham
904 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,186 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Iona Torquay
The Iona Torquay
#54 of 149 in Torquay
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkdean - Torquay Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkdean - Torquay Holiday Park

Address: Torquay Holiday Park Kingskerswell Road | Devon, Torquay TQ2 8JU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Torquay
Hotel Class:4 star — Parkdean - Torquay Holiday Park 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It was the Vistorian's who coined the phrase 'the English Riviera', likening this stunning 22 mile stretch of Devonshire coastline to its French equivalent. And with its balmy weather, sub-tropical plants, gastronomic delights and colourful waterfronts, it's easy to see why. So where better to spend the summer than at Torquay holiday park, close to all the Riviera's finest attractions. * A lively park in a country hillside setting * Stunning views towards nearby Torquay * Close to Brixham and Paignton seaside resorts * Blue Flag beaches just three miles away * Fantastic Showtime Entertainment ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Torquay Holiday Park Hotel Torquay
Parkdean - Torquay Holiday Park Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing