We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bar prices outrageous! Entertainment repetitive and tacky!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Parkdean - Torquay Holiday Park
ESSEX
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bar prices outrageous! Entertainment repetitive and tacky!”
Reviewed 9 September 2009

I stayed here for the last two weeks of August, my family in one caravan and family and friends in another caravan. The caravans were clean and the check in process was quick and friendly. the park has lovely views across Torquay.

The Seagulls were a complete pain, there were massive numbers of them pulling rubbish from the dustbins and spreading it around the park, it must have been a nightmare for those people in caravans adjacent to the bins!

The entertainment was tacky to say the least, mostly the staff singing and putting together dance routines, not professional.. although it has to be said, the staff were very hardworking, entertaining the kids all day and then putting on a show at night!

The bar prices were outrageous! Even the staff continually made jokes about having to bring your own spirits into the bar because of the prices, £3.40 for a Smirnoff Ice, soft drinks not much cheaper than that and often flat or just full of ice. Most people sat all evening without a drink.

Almost impossible to get a meal at the restaurant, always full, far too small for the size of the park.

For some reason the swimming pool does not open until 10 and is shut for lunch!! As is the shop... The pool then closes at 6 which was too early if you have been out for the day and then fancy a swim. I suggest they do this to force you into the bar or the arcade where you can spend a fortune entertaining your children, rather than being able to stay in the free pool.

Overall the staff were friendly, helpful and overworked - one guy on his own in the (big) arcade trying to help children with broken machines and stop kids fighting and breaking stuff... could quite easily of got out of hand - really needed more staff.

Crazy golf absolutely rubbish, a few old bits of wood with holes drilled here and there.

Overall, good staff, good accommodation (although we did book the most expensive caravans), bar prices stupid, entertainment rubbish and as for the seagulls!!!

Would not go back and would not recommend, stayed in much better places for far less.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAZZTURKEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    201
    161
    75
    76
See reviews for
412
101
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, East Sussex. UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2009

The caravan was a 2008 model, although it was dowdy (not like the photo on the website!) it was clean. The staff were all OK and friendly enough which was the only saving grace. The in-laws couldnt park next to their caravan as previously been told by the booking team that parking next to their caravan was NO PROBLEM! What a dissapointment as they have a rather expensive car so in the end had to park it next toours and walk down a steep hill to their caravan which we were also told was near our caravan! you couldnt even see it!
As for half board, well the food was generous when you did manage to get something that was listed on the menu.... there was no stock so we often ended up having the same meals sometimes 3 days in a row! not good for £800 a week for 8 of us (that was 6 adults and 2 children).
The photo is NOT the caravan park sadly :(
I have mada a complaint so watch this space lets hope Parkdene can redeem something out of our 'relaxing' holiday!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noodlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durham
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2009

After finding the park, we expected to be able to go places without the car, but this was not meant to be, small country road leading to the park with no footpaths (very dangerous with or without children), caravan park very hilly, caravans at the lower ground are not suitable for the elderly or infirm and parking is a total nightmare far too tight...overall a nice clean park but totally in the wrong place and sadly wont return....
torquay though is fab.............................................

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iccletroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Torquay hotels

northamptonshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2009

Just returned from 4 night stay at torquay holiday park, travelled with children aged 14,10 and 18months caravan was clean and tidy. We didnt eat at the patio bar cafe as like the other reviews it was always busy and people had to wait up to an hour for a table this is my only bad point about the park it really needs to be bigger for the size of the park. Swimming pool was fine as was the play areas and the arcades although you do get the parents who seem not to care where their children are and so they seem to run riot. Shop has all your basic requirements and the reception staff were friendly and helpful. The park is not within walking distance to the beach you would definately need a car to get you about but beware in our 4 days we spent about £40 on parking alone but then it is a seaside town with a lot to do so I guess this is to be expected. We stayed in an 09 Riv Tor caravan and I would recommend that if you have heating even in august you will definately need to switch it on as all of us were freezing at night.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mayson172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosport
1 review
Reviewed 9 August 2009

I am glad that I didn't read these reviews before I booked our holiday at Torquay Holiday Park because I don't think I would have booked. How wrong this would have been!! I don't think that we stayed in the same place as some of your reviewers. Like one of your reviewers we too stayed in Vixen Tor - yes there were some steep hills - but you are in Devon after all what do you expect.

Our accommodation was first class and very clean. The entertainment was brillant every night. We went with our daughter, son in law and 2 grandchildren aged 3 and 4 and they loved Lizzy and Sid. Anthony and Kevin and the rest of the troupers were great as were all the other enterntainers. The food was well cooked and very reasonably priced - we were halfboard. My only criticism was that unless you were at the patio bar when they opened you did sometimes have to wait for a table - this could have been much bigger to accommodate all who wished to eat there.

All in all we had a great time and would not hesitate to go back again in the future.

Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank AdelaideGosport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
2.9 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,750 reviews
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Torquay
Travelodge Torquay
#33 of 87 in Torquay
547 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 87 in Torquay
2,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 87 in Torquay
1,082 reviews
2.6 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#46 of 87 in Torquay
358 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#32 of 87 in Torquay
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkdean - Torquay Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkdean - Torquay Holiday Park

Property: Parkdean - Torquay Holiday Park
Address: Torquay Holiday Park Kingskerswell Road | Devon, Torquay TQ2 8JU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Torquay
Hotel Class:4 star — Parkdean - Torquay Holiday Park 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It was the Vistorian's who coined the phrase 'the English Riviera', likening this stunning 22 mile stretch of Devonshire coastline to its French equivalent. And with its balmy weather, sub-tropical plants, gastronomic delights and colourful waterfronts, it's easy to see why. So where better to spend the summer than at Torquay holiday park, close to all the Riviera's finest attractions. * A lively park in a country hillside setting * Stunning views towards nearby Torquay * Close to Brixham and Paignton seaside resorts * Blue Flag beaches just three miles away * Fantastic Showtime Entertainment ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Torquay Holiday Park Hotel Torquay
Parkdean - Torquay Holiday Park Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing