We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good site but you'll need a car!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Parkdean - Torquay Holiday Park
Reviewed 3 April 2010

We've just returned from a Mon - Fri break. As it was the start of the season and before the English school holidays, the park was very quiet. I would say that it was only about a quarter full.
We arrived at 2.30pm and thought we'd see if our caravan was ready and were really pleased when we had the keys. The caravan itself was lovely as it was new for 2010 and had obviously only been used once or twice before. However, when we got it we were a bit dubious about whether it had actually been cleaned so I gave it a once over myself (plus there was a hoover in there - very useful, we used it most days as we have two boys!). Around an hour later there was a knock at the door, asking if it had been cleaned! We phoned reception as our TV wasn't tuned and within 10 mins, 2 men came and sorted it! We did have parking next to our caravan but lots of caravans didn't. We didn't ise the pool, bar etc so can't comment on those. The playground was ok but very slippery as it was so rainy the week that we were there.
As others have said, the site is very hilly but we have a 2 year old and 4 year old and it was fine for us although it wouldn't be great for anyone with mobilty issues. It was very clean and tidy around the caravans but some of the public areas were a bit tired looking, although clean. The park itself backs onto a housing estate and you would need a car to go out and about as I saw no evidence of a bus on the lane that led to it.. There is a Teso extra a short drive (2mins) away and within about 5 mins we found a Sainsbury's and M&S which turned out to be handy.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SmudgieWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (730)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

712 - 718 of 730 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2009

Although you should not always take notice of what others say on this occassion it would have been a good idea for me to read the reviews before i went, i booked a short break for my husband myself and my two daughthers 14 and 11, we paid around £340 for a short break (monday to friday) which is what we had wanted very difficult to get anything during the summer holidays for that period of time, on arriving we where sent down to our caravan Belle Tour area it was a very steep hill and very few parking spaces to accomodate the amount of caravans on that particular section, if you where late back from a day out you had no chance of parking close and had to walk down that steep steep hill not recommended for the elderly or anyone with small children and pushchairs, the caravan was pretty decent for the money i might add, although there was a rip in one of the nett curtains, we didnt find the controls for the tv until the last day either, the work top was dripping with water this was quickly mopped up but was coming from where the boiler was situated, the rooms werent massive but they where okay, we didnt complain to the staff as my husband said it should right its self once it had been lite for a while which it did, nice country site lots of rabbits etc... steep climbs to the entertainment area, the shop shut at 6 so if you got back after that and you had run out of something then you where out of luck, didnt eat there, got a couple of nice takeaways from down the road, good local shops, torquay and surrounding areas lovely and a good base for sight seeing south devon, entertainment was very good a bit cheesy some of the time but the staff work every hard, seemed good entertainment if you had small children, didnt think the drinks where overly expensive, a caravan was broken into whilst we where there and all electrical items where stolen, personal and otherwise, which was a shame and you dont expect it to happen on a caravan site, my children enjoyed the swimming pool although they didnt go on the slide as it was shut, didnt do the crazy golf although it didnt look all that much of it, generally okay go and try for yourself its a good holiday base and we are glad we went.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pillpill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2009

Myself and my partner booked a last minute holiday to Torquay with 3 kids ages 5,12 and 16.We have been with Parkdean before so we knew that the park and facilities should be of high standard.
We were not disappointed.
The park was clean.Reception were polite and welcoming.The caravan was clean and plenty of room.Great views.No late night noise.Evening entertainment was brilliant (especially Buster who made me laugh that much I nearly wet myself laughing).Yes you do need a car but Torquay is only a 10 minute drive away and very beautiful,as is all the other nearby places.
Very very enjoyable and with plenty to do.Will definately be visiting again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alikay27569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2009

What a nightmare.

Shabby caravan although stated new for 2009. Cigarette ends littered outside caravan door. Dirty utensils and dishes in caravan and no fireguard provided as standard for gas fire.

Beds small and uncomfortable, no room to swing a cat - we had a 3 bedroom caravan and there were 2 adults and 2 children aged 10 and 7 - God knows what it would have been like if there had been more of us.

Swimming pool area was diirty - dead flies, dirty and cracked tiles, broken lockers.

Crazy golf area literally falling to bits. Bottles and glaseees left in childrens outdoor play area.

Drink prices expensive and watch out - the full entertainment programme including kids clubs does not start properly until the English School holidays. Teens club meant being given a choice of football in the rain or an hour free in the amusement arcade - so much for clay pigeon shooting etc.

The drinks promos and prizes for the kids only start when the English are off - if you're there at the start of the Scottish holidays you're wasting your time.

Parkdean Troupers were great but the other 'performers' were rotten including one comedian who swore and told bad taste jokes in front of kids.

Food was good in the Patio Bar but not very big so give yourself loads of time to wait for a table.

You need a car - you are miles away from the centre. Staff were very good.

Watch your children. My boy left the kids club early but no member of staff tried to stop him or even noticed that he had left - so much for child safety

£800 for 2 weeks of hell - never ever again.

Having seen Butlins adverts at the cinema I'd even rather go there than ever give Parkdean any of my hard earned cash.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HMFC22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2009

I stayed here for the last two weeks of August, my family in one caravan and family and friends in another caravan. The caravans were clean and the check in process was quick and friendly. the park has lovely views across Torquay.

The Seagulls were a complete pain, there were massive numbers of them pulling rubbish from the dustbins and spreading it around the park, it must have been a nightmare for those people in caravans adjacent to the bins!

The entertainment was tacky to say the least, mostly the staff singing and putting together dance routines, not professional.. although it has to be said, the staff were very hardworking, entertaining the kids all day and then putting on a show at night!

The bar prices were outrageous! Even the staff continually made jokes about having to bring your own spirits into the bar because of the prices, £3.40 for a Smirnoff Ice, soft drinks not much cheaper than that and often flat or just full of ice. Most people sat all evening without a drink.

Almost impossible to get a meal at the restaurant, always full, far too small for the size of the park.

For some reason the swimming pool does not open until 10 and is shut for lunch!! As is the shop... The pool then closes at 6 which was too early if you have been out for the day and then fancy a swim. I suggest they do this to force you into the bar or the arcade where you can spend a fortune entertaining your children, rather than being able to stay in the free pool.

Overall the staff were friendly, helpful and overworked - one guy on his own in the (big) arcade trying to help children with broken machines and stop kids fighting and breaking stuff... could quite easily of got out of hand - really needed more staff.

Crazy golf absolutely rubbish, a few old bits of wood with holes drilled here and there.

Overall, good staff, good accommodation (although we did book the most expensive caravans), bar prices stupid, entertainment rubbish and as for the seagulls!!!

Would not go back and would not recommend, stayed in much better places for far less.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAZZTURKEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2009

The caravan was a 2008 model, although it was dowdy (not like the photo on the website!) it was clean. The staff were all OK and friendly enough which was the only saving grace. The in-laws couldnt park next to their caravan as previously been told by the booking team that parking next to their caravan was NO PROBLEM! What a dissapointment as they have a rather expensive car so in the end had to park it next toours and walk down a steep hill to their caravan which we were also told was near our caravan! you couldnt even see it!
As for half board, well the food was generous when you did manage to get something that was listed on the menu.... there was no stock so we often ended up having the same meals sometimes 3 days in a row! not good for £800 a week for 8 of us (that was 6 adults and 2 children).
The photo is NOT the caravan park sadly :(
I have mada a complaint so watch this space lets hope Parkdene can redeem something out of our 'relaxing' holiday!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noodlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2009

After finding the park, we expected to be able to go places without the car, but this was not meant to be, small country road leading to the park with no footpaths (very dangerous with or without children), caravan park very hilly, caravans at the lower ground are not suitable for the elderly or infirm and parking is a total nightmare far too tight...overall a nice clean park but totally in the wrong place and sadly wont return....
torquay though is fab.............................................

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iccletroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torquay
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Torquay
Travelodge Torquay
#28 of 85 in Torquay
618 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hoburne Devon Bay
Hoburne Devon Bay
#1 of 25 in Paignton
639 reviews
7.4 mi away
Landscove Holiday Park
Landscove Holiday Park
#5 of 8 in Brixham
902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Beverley Holidays
Beverley Holidays
#3 of 25 in Paignton
884 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,113 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Iona Torquay
The Iona Torquay
#57 of 149 in Torquay
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkdean - Torquay Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkdean - Torquay Holiday Park

Address: Torquay Holiday Park Kingskerswell Road | Devon, Torquay TQ2 8JU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Torquay
Hotel Class:4 star — Parkdean - Torquay Holiday Park 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It was the Vistorian's who coined the phrase 'the English Riviera', likening this stunning 22 mile stretch of Devonshire coastline to its French equivalent. And with its balmy weather, sub-tropical plants, gastronomic delights and colourful waterfronts, it's easy to see why. So where better to spend the summer than at Torquay holiday park, close to all the Riviera's finest attractions. * A lively park in a country hillside setting * Stunning views towards nearby Torquay * Close to Brixham and Paignton seaside resorts * Blue Flag beaches just three miles away * Fantastic Showtime Entertainment ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Torquay Holiday Park Hotel Torquay
Parkdean - Torquay Holiday Park Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing