We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb place to 'Enjoy'” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trafalgar House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Trafalgar House
Ranked #66 of 153 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Waregem
1 review
“Superb place to 'Enjoy'”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

We still enjoy the numerous beautiful moments we spend during our hollidays in Torquay. 5 nights at 'Trafalgar House' and especially Graham and Barbara made this happen. The friendliness, the practical tips, the many suggestions for spending our time, the pleasant chats, the extended breakfasts with great flexibility, the relax-moments in the garden with a nice bottle of rosé-wine, … we still remember it all.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean-Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    16
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
15
175
7
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

We stayed for 2 nights during our touring hols and were left wanting more. Beautifully appointed rooms which are decorated to a high standard, quality toiletries and fluffy towels. Large comfortable sitting room, conservatory and lovely gardens all make for a relaxing stay.
Wide choice for breakfast and again quality ingredients cooked just right!
Our hosts are delightful people, friendly, welcoming and helpful. We shall be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank claytods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed a couple of nights whilst attending a family wedding. Well positioned in the leafy suburbs of Torquay with handy car parking spaces. Trafalgar House is beautifully maintained and our room was spotless. We had a room overlooking the road which was fine and well appointed - possibly a little on the small side but certainly adequate. There will probably be bigger rooms and rooms with nicer views over the garden but that didn't detract from our stay. Breakfast was excellent with one of the best selections of fruit that we have seen and orange which was freshly squeezed. Graham and Barbara were attentive and went the extra mile to help ensure that our stay was right in every respect with Barbara even providing a lift in her car to the wedding venue as it was raining - very much appreciated.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

Only stayed here because I had an Amazon Local deal voucher and the reviews on here made the place appear in the top 5 b&b’s in Torquay at the time of booking. It was for our wedding anniversary and was going to be for 2 nights, but had previously arranged to extend our stay to 4 nights. Was looking forward to the afternoon tea and ‘hamper’ as advertised. The afternoon tea was very nice with the home made cakes and sandwiches, however the ‘hamper’ turned out just to be a small wicker basket on the chest of drawers in the room containing 2 packets of crisps, 2 small packets of biscuits, 2 oranges, 1 packet of peanuts and 1 bottle of mineral water between 2!! How much would another bottle cost? 50/60p? While we didn’t expect things like the crisps or oranges to be replaced once we ate them, I have never stayed in a b&b where biscuits are not replaced daily.

The breakfast was quite nice, but not filling. No beans with it. I assume I would have to have asked for them, but I’ve always had them as ‘standard’ with a breakfast, never as an ‘optional’ extra! I also don’t particularly like the idea of just finding an empty table to sit at in the morning and not having one allocated for all your stay. Maybe it’s just me?

We stayed in the four-poster room, which although it was clean & tidy, I have to say would best be described as ‘compact’. I managed to squeeze by the side next to the wall every night to get into bed. The room was also quite cold as the windows, which seemed to be the original sash windows, let cold air in even though they were shut tight and the radiator was on the warmest setting, although the heating was never very hot anyway. There was only a blind to pull down on the windows, which did not make a lot of difference to the draught coming in or the temperature of the room. Had a battle with the cupboard door every day that often refused to close properly. And the hangers were awkward to get to as the rail went from front to back and not across the cupboard.

There is no folder in the room advising you about details of the place you are staying in or the surrounding area. There is also no plan of escape on the back of the bedroom door in case of emergencies, nor are there any fire exit signs on the exit doors. (But being a fire warden for my company I tend to notice these things).

However, Barbara & Graham were very friendly, especially when helping us dry out our very wet coats after being caught in a storm.

Overall, it was quite nice, but we’ve been there now and there are a lot of other hotels in Torquay to try when we go next time.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the four poster room, especially when its cold weather outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freedy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

I'm writing this sipping a cup of freshly grounded coffee chilling out on a quiet, peaceful terrace, sun beaming on my face. Just had an quality farm house fry up after sleeping in a bed I really didn't want to get out of. I stayed here as had a gig DJing in Torquay last night and my honest opinion of this place is I really cant fault it. The customer service from Graham and Barbara is really good, friendly, genuine people that truly go out of their way to make you feel welcome....so much so this is the first time I have written a review, can't normally be bothered but I thought these guys deserve some kind words. The room was spotless, they really focus on a attention to detail with prepping the room for you.....when you stay here you will know what I mean. In a nutshell peeps I'll probably be staying here every time I play in Torquay from now on - thanks for such a nice stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

I was delighted with this B&B for several reasons. Firstly the friendliness of the hosts. Barbara and Graham went out of their way to be helpful, attentive and welcoming. When we arrived, Graham provided a detailed explanation of how the external doors locked and unlocked to ensure we remained safe and secure during our stay. The decor of the B&B was excellent, bright, fresh and with pictures by local artist Deborah Treliving (workshop at local Cockington Court), which were stunning.
Breakfasts were delicious and fresh with fresh orange juice, fresh fruit, cereals, a choice of pastries, ham and cheese or a cooked breakfast with refills of toast and tea/coffee freely available. The car park was just outside the side door, which was very convenient. The location, although in a neighbourhood with several other B&Bs or hotels, was quiet and relaxed - and within jogging distance of the seafront!!. We had a view onto Trafalgar House's lovely garden and heard the birdsong through our window each morning. We had room six, as a twin but it can be set up as a double/ kingsize too. The room was spacious, bright, airy, clean and comfortable with Deborah Treliving pictures. The bathroom was small but clean, modern and well maintained (one minor point - more power in the shower would have been good, nevertheless it still performed perfectly well).
All in all, this was an excellent B&B for our four days. I stayed with my elderly mum who loved it. The hosts could not have been better and the house met all our requirements.

Room Tip: We had room 6 overlooking the garden which was lovely - birdsong and garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Kid77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
78 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

We were the only ones staying at this B&B when we were in Torquay, and Graham and Barbara took the opportunity to take some day trips away, so we had the run of the place. We loved our room which had two big windows and overlooked the hillside. The neighborhood was pretty and reminded us of the coast of Italy. There were palm trees outside our window! Graham prepared a delicious cooked breakfast after we sampled the serve-yourself continental b'fast. The B&B was really appropriate for a seaside resort. No Fawlty Towers here!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.4 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
0.1 mi away
Briarfields
Briarfields
#13 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Redholme
The Redholme
#2 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Westgate
The Westgate
#21 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mount Edgcombe
Mount Edgcombe
#10 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.1 mi away
The 25 Boutique B&B
The 25 Boutique B&B
#1 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trafalgar House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trafalgar House

Property: Trafalgar House
Address: 30 Bridge Road, Torquay TQ2 5BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Trafalgar House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trafalgar House is perfectly located on the English Riviera in Torquay, within easy walking distance of the Marina, Harbour, town and coast, yet being set 700 metres away in a calm, tree lined road it is a wonderful place to come back to after an active day. Guests can relax in the sub-tropical garden or in the guest lounge. Recently refurbished all the rooms and guest areas are tastefully decorated, light, bright and airy. We are very proud of the breakfasts which offer a large choice of freshly prepared fruit, cereals, youghurts and fruit juice, followed by a wide menu selection of cooked breakfasts or continental choices. We are perfectly located so guests can enjoy the many sites and activities in the area:- Coastal walks are stunning, National Trust properties: Coleton Fishacre, Greenway Mansion and Killerton are all only a short drive away. Dartmoor National Park is also within 30 minutes. Boat Trips, Steam Railway trips, Caverns and a coastline of world renown, Cockington, Dartmouth and Totnes great places to visit as well as many other Devon villages. Golf, Bowls, Crazy golf and tennis are all available within 600 metres. There are many many more things to do and places to visit. We are also fortunate to have a vast range of excellent restaurants in the town and surrounding areas. We are very happy to make helpful suggestions based on what you would like to do to get the most from the time you spend with us. We look forward to welcoming you to Trafalgar House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Trafalgar House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trafalgar House Hotel Torquay
Trafalgar House Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing