We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Highly recommended. Fantastic view, clean, well...”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
29 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Torquay, English Riviera, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ian G
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommended. Fantastic view, clean, well furnished & close to harbour & sea front.”
Reviewed 30 December 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We booked this property because the view looked fantastic & it was just a 10 minute walk to the main harbour area . We were not disappointed as the view from the wall to wall picture window is in fact spectacular & we enjoyed watching the sand artist on the beach below drawing a new art work each day. The property was very well furnished & spotlessly clean. It is a short walk down to the sea front & harbour area where there are some excellent restaurants. Particularly would recommend No 7 Fish Bistro & The Elephant which we visited several times during our two week stay. I had some minor problems connecting to the WiFi but the owner quickly resolved the problem & couldn't have been more helpful. The property is on 3 levels & there is a nice patio area where we sat & enjoyed a few drinks watching the Sunsets. In summary a great place to stay & highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great view, central location & being able to park right outside & under cover.
Liked least: Not applicable.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANGELWING...
LONDON
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A fabulous place to stay”
Reviewed 29 December 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

From the entrance this looks like a very ordinary place .We opened the front door and walked through to the living room and could not believe the stunning sea views from the huge floor to ceiling windows .The apartment was immaculate , clean and comfortable .Very glamorous decor ,a gorgeous bathroom and everything spotless . There is also a huge terrace to sit out on and stare at the amazing views . We loved our time here and felt very pampered by the luxurious style of the place .Its a really gorgeous place to relax .We hope to return and have recommended to friends and family .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The huge windows and beautiful views .Glamourous decor
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ivanjulie
stoke on trent
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“exceptional property”
Reviewed 29 December 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at this property in june 2014, which we booked through blue chip holidays. On arrival we found the property to be in immaculate condition with everything we could have needed. All appliances and electrics were in perfect condition infact we commented to the owner how impressed we were with the mood changing lighting in the livingroom. As for the sofas we had no problem with those seperating they were of a sturdy leather construction and would only think rough handling would make them separate. We found the owner very friendly and approachable as I broke a wine glass and when I informed him he said don't worry about it these things happen. I am suprised that the above review found him to be unhelpful.As for moving the TV why would you even need to do this as nothing would obscure the 15 foot or more of panoramic views.
We would 100% stay at this property again and have no worries about booking direct with the owner. The people who were staying in the apartment owned by the same man had being returning for the past 12 years or more every year so that says a lot. Our only problem is they are already booked up for 2015 and probably by word of mouth or returning because they loved it so much. I say book book book you won't regret your stay

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barret99
wales
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“outstanding”
Reviewed 28 December 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in The Mews March this year, it was amazing.
The views from all floors could not be beaten,
Every room had excellent decor, from furniture to fittings and accessories.
We had contact with the owner and found him a very pleasant person.
We will definetly be booking again, hopefully in the next few days.
During our stay we was constantly texting and forwarding pics to our family telling them how amazing everything was.
When we entered through the apartment my first comment was, "its like being in Monaco"
What a wonderful view and accommodation to match.
M Francis

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything!!!!! the web site photos did not do The Mews justice.
Liked least: having to leave!!!!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan B
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Superb Apartment with Stunning Views”
Reviewed 28 December 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The apartment is an absolutely stunning "upside down house" with a view over the bay from the lounge window which is second to none. There are also stunning views from the lower bedrooms.

The location of the apartment is excellent with the bay / beach directly down to the West outside the apartment and harbour / main town around to the East. Where the apartment and neighbouring properties are sited is regarded as the best position / views in Torquay.

Covered parking is also allocated to the apartment immediately outside the main door.

The facilities are finished to the highest 'show home" standards, and are immaculate throughout and very well maintained.

Both the middle floor master bedroom and the lower floor twin bedroom have superbly finished en-suite bathrooms with a spa / jacuzzi bath in the master en-suite and a power / rainfall shower in the twin bedroom en-suite.

Storage throughout the apartment is plentiful with walk in wardrobes, storage cupboards and a well equipped utility room.

There are superb touches throughout the apartment which are well thought out - a key safe at the front door, a very secure safe inside the apartment, mood lighting in the lounge, ipod docking stations, powerful wifi and flat screen TV in the bedrooms in addition to the lounge.

In summary, a superb top notch apartment in a location second to none, which myself, my wife and kids enjoyed immensely and to which we would have no hesitation in recommending to anyone.

The December 2014 "complaints" that I see on tripadvisor are not for the apartment that i recognise. They are from someone with unrealistic expectations or malicious comments from someone with no discerning taste whatsoever.

I would think the latter.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and the quality of the apartment.
Liked least: Everything met / exceeded expectations. Everything spot on.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenand...
Wigan, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“lovely house with fabulous views!!!!”
Reviewed 28 December 2014 for a stay in September 2014

I am writing this review in response to the previous review left. me and my husband have also booked a number of properties in torquay with bluechip over the last few years, in our opinion our stay at the Riviera mansions ( the mews ) in sept 2014 was a most enjoyable stay, the first thing you notice on opening the front door was THE STUNNING VEIWS ACROSS THE HARBOUR AND SEA, the property was nice and clean, we did have a problem with the wifi so we text the owner and he came straight away as he informed us he only lived next door, he did sort out the wifi and even said that if we had any more problems to let him know and he would pop the modem round to a guy he uses in a local shop, any how what ever he did fixed the problem so we text the owner and told him everything was fine with wifi now and thanks for his help. our bed was lovely and comfy, clean bedding as well, we stayed in the double room. the Jacuzzi bath was a dream, and we had no issues with the lighting, all in all we had a lovely break in a very modern house with the added bonus of the stunning views! and every mod con you could think of, would highly recommend. we would have no hesitation in booking again. already recommended to family and friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: the stunning views
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kath D
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spectacular views and property”
Reviewed 28 December 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for one week in May 2014, the property was spotlessly clean,everything was lovely and new, the spa bath was a luxury, and easy to use. The kitchen was well equipped . There was a problem with a leak in the laundry room ceiling and I notified the owner who texted me to let me know he had sorted it, it was due to a pipe in the dishwasher. We would not hesitate to book this property again.
The only point I could make is that, it would have been nice to have met the owner at some point during the stay, it would then have seemed more personal as we were staying in his holiday property. We have since recommended this property to many people.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing