We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Regina Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$126
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Imperial Torquay(Torquay)
US$128
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$247
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (257)
Filter reviews
257 results
Traveller rating
75
82
50
32
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
75
82
50
32
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsalfa travelalfa coachleisureplex hotelsharbour viewbuckfast abbeychef's specialsthe hotel managerthird floorturkey and tinselgreat holidaycoach partiesbabbacombe theatredance floorhotel is situatedthe hotel is cleanevening entertainmentcouldn't do enough
Filter
Updating list...
165 - 170 of 257 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Having stayed in several Alfa travel hotels I must say that this one in Torquay is very good value for money. Yes its not 5 star and you don't get 5 star service but when all is said and done we did not pay 5 star prices. So I review this hotel on the overall price we paid for our holiday.. staff all very nice young people, bedrooms spotless clean, and the food although not gourmet was excellent from breakfast through to dinner. So if your looking for the elusive 5 star treatment then this hotel is not for you, but if its good home cooked food and friendly staff your looking for then this hotel is one of the better Alfa travel destinations.. well done to all, many Thaks for a wonderful break.

Room Tip: Try getting one at the front, they have lovely views
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank alison p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Spent a lovely Christmas at The Regina Hotel,okay some of the rooms need a little improvement
what Hotel doesn't? The food was very good with something to please everyone.The Manager and
staff were outstanding all giving 110% and making every guest feel special.It was a Christmas with
all the trimmings,my friend and i will certainly be returning.WELL DONE REGINA HOTEL and
ALPHA TRAVEL.

Room Tip: higher floors have less A/C unit noise
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank shewell1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

I have just arrived home after a 4 nights Turkey &Tinsel arranged by Alfa Travel.Had a lovely holiday,the coach,hotel staff and food excellent,I would say 5star.The hotel however is showing signs of requiring a lick of paint,other than that,brilliant.This was my second holiday with Alfa Travel within two months.I have already booked two more for early 2014- cannot be bad. Gordon R

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Gordon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

I was shocked by the nastiness of the manager at this hotel and how he talked to the older customers, it was nothing short of bullying. The meals times were rigid and because we were 10 mins. late for breakfast he told us we could not have a starter because we were late and when I questioned it he told me there was no cereals left nor yogurt and we could have a cooked breakfast and nothing else. The He made the other 2 people at the table wait for us before they could order their breakfast and shouted at them when they queried it. If it had been in an old peoples home he there would have been an investigation it was that bat bad. The people on the next table were told they had to wait for the other people to come before they were served and they had been sat with strangers and the man protested very loudly and was eventually served. This is only an example of his attitude and his totally not suitable to be in a potion of management because he is megalomaniac and it has clearly gone to his head. God help the staff if they make a mistake. Most of the staff were nice but altogether their was a patronising attitude towards older people they treated us as if we were senile. I am 69 years and have very high IQ but , like the rest of the people ,was treated as if I was going senile. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone while he is in charge and will be making a very strong complaint to Alpha travel on Monday for putting me in this position The manager I am talking about is called Bartak I am surprised he can treat people in this way

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Aileen Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

I returned today from a holiday to the Regina.
Before I came on to write my review I read the previous ones so that I could give a balanced opinion.

So.................................
I stayed in room 7 so maybe I had a better room experience than other people.
Sitting at the window overlooking the harbour was lovely.
The bed...decoration...bathroom were all fine.
I have stayed in 'posher' places, but we should all remember what excellent value Alfa holidays are.

Other more expensive hotels don't always give you the service you get in this place.
The staff are such lovable people.
They work their little socks off...and always with a great big smile.
They give 100% and I thank them so much for doing that.

The food.........
I'd have trouble finding much to complain about.
There was enough choice that I'm sure the pickiest of people could find something.
I never had a problem with the quality of the produce they used.
The one thing that did make me giggle was the piece of blue cheese every night.
I'm a cheese maniac so had that as dessert every evening.
Now come on Regina!
I've never found any other place that gives you a half inch square of any cheese!
What's that all about?
Do you not think Alfa people will like blue cheese????
That is just a jokey complaint though as I got plenty of other cheese.

Entertainment.............
What fantastic people you've got!
Can't remember their names, but they were all good.
I was a bit disappointed about the dance floor layout on the first night...who can dance on a hankerchief sized floor?
I was cheeky and mentioned it though...and hey presto, the following night tables had been moved back.
You see...people at this hotel listen.

Thank you Bart and your lovely team.
Long may you continue treating guests as you do.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank jjctay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews