We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better!”
Review of The Elephant

The Elephant
Reserve with OpenTable
The Elephant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #19 of 357 Restaurants in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Description: The Elephant is a bright, informal restaurant which overlooks the beautiful Torbay harbour. It was the first restaurant in Torquay to be awarded a Michelin star which it maintains today. We aim to source all our ingredients locally and sustainably, many from our dedicated farm in Brixham. Please feel free to ask our front of house team about anything you are unsure of. Run by chef proprietor, Simon Hulstone and his wife Katy. Food is cooked by a talented team of chefs and served by friendly, professional team of staff. Diners can enjoy a delicious à la carte menu and set menus featuring local and sustainable fish, meat and vegetables, sourced from the surrounding area, in an informal and attractive setting. For an extra special culinary treat opt for the tasting menu. Expect friendly and knowledegable service without the formalities. All our dishes change regularly depending on which locally grown and reared (many sourced from our dedicated farm) ingredients are at their best.
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Our second visit and much better! First time we went downstairs and the meal just wasn't right - we should have nicely complained but we didn't. This time we went upstairs and had the tasting menu - very special! Loved it, the chef came and had a good 10 minute chat with us which was a lovely touch.

Thank Darren066_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElephantRestaurant, Owner at The Elephant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

I m glad you had a great evening and it was wonderful to chat to you. Hope to see you again soon

Best wishes

Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,064)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

593 - 597 of 1,064 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

I couldn't say if its the best in Torquay, as I have tried the others, because I keep going back to the Elephant. We've been here about 4 or 5 times, with a variety of different people, and everyone has always gone away happy.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DazBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElephantRestaurant, Owner at The Elephant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

We could nt ask for a better review.

Looking forward to seeing you again soon

Best wishes
Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We enjoyed the tasting menu at The Room in The Elephant for my mother in law's 60th birthday. The food was absolutely fantastic, one of the best meals I have ever had, beaten only by The Waterside, and Alain Ducasse at The Dorchester. Each course was considered, fresh, seasonal, delicately prepared, and absolutely delicious. The service was impeccable, the staff were very attentive, and the view from the bar area is beautiful. A wonderful meal and location for a special occasion. Extremely good value as well given the quality of the food, a delightful private dining experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElephantRestaurant, Owner at The Elephant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Wow what great company to be linked with thankyou very much and I am so glad you had a great time here in our Fine dining Restaurant.

Kindest regards

Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We had reserved a table via the internet from home in good time. Worked perfectly. We chose the wine and taste menu on the second floor - The room. Started with a cocktail in the bar. Very nice and good waitress who was very well-informed about all the dishes and wines. We got one eight course menu where several of the dishes offered surprises in both taste and design and commodity combinations. Each dish was like a painting or artwork framed with specially selected porcelain. Inserts some pictures to the comment that we took during dinner. In summary a fantastic gorumet trip that we really recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank roy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElephantRestaurant, Owner at The Elephant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to review our Fine dining restaurant on the first floor, also for putting up such great photos.

Hope you had a safe trip home

Best wishes
Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

This was so good we went twice in 4 days! My friends first muscle experience - starter was delicious. The steak was cooked to perfection. Don't miss the lovely little bar upstairs for pre-dinner drinks with a lovely view of the harbour and bay. Great food, friendly service.

Thank SamD2727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElephantRestaurant, Owner at The Elephant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

It was a pleasure to have you here on both occasions. Hope to see you again soon

Best wishes

Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Elephant also viewed

 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to The Elephant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing