We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous meal and Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant at Orestone Manor

Restaurant at Orestone Manor
Reserve with OpenTable
Restaurant at Orestone Manor is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #22 of 332 Restaurants in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$51 - US$51
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, View, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Drinks, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Restaurant at Orestone Manor is set in a lovely Georgian building with views over the gardens and sea beyond. We offer informative, efficient,friendly service in a relaxed atmosphere. We offer a Fine dining and Set price menu as well as Light bites, Lunch, Afternoon Teas and Sunday roast Lunch options, using the best quality locally sourced ingredients. The new Brunel Lounge Bar is fully stocked and we specialize in Cocktails Most of all Friendly and Helpful Staff. Family run.
dawlish
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Gorgeous meal and Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

weve booked this hotel for our wedding breakfast and wedding eve before we fly to Greece. so we wanted to give it a try out. we wernt disapointed, everything about it was gorgeous. the setting, the pre dinner drinks and the meal. we tried the set mid week special to.. @ £25 a head, and loved it.
Weve been back twice for the afternoon tea... wonderfull aray of sandwhiches and cakes to die for.
Were taking 6 friends with us for a champange affternoon tea wedding breakfast, which co- insides with there special pudding tasting evening to,so im sure there will be plenty of cakes for us to try. cant wait

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HplusR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    35
    14
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fabulous romantic dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We pre ordered a fish platter and it proved to be a fabulous choice with amazing fresh shell fish and top quality ingredients! A memorable dinner.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill493
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Scrummy cream tea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

We googled "best cream teas" and found ourselves at the really lovely Orestone Manor Hotel, about ten minutes' drive from Torquay near Babbacombe. We are fussy about our cream teas - we require good scones, nice tea, excellent jam and LASHINGS of clotted cream. There is nothing worse than miserly servings of clotted cream - and staff disgruntlement when you ask for more. Orestone Manor doesn't let you down. Once you have loaded up with jam and huge amounts of clotted cream, there are gorgeously ripe strawberries for you to place right on the top of your towering scone. Orestone Manor staff are lovely, and the terrace overlooking the beautiful garden and distant views of sea is the perfect setting for extreme cream tea indulgence. The hotel decor is "colonial" apparently and had nice old furniture and paintings, and enough cushions with elephants on them to make me happy on my way to the loo. All the staff were great. Five star rating Orestone - thank you.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful meal, beautiful location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel/restaurant is set in a beautiful location with sea views. When we arrived we enjoyed a cocktail on the balcony in the sun.
We were then taken through to the smartly done restaurant where we enjoyed the best meal we've had in a long time!
This is a hidden gem to be tried!!
We will be back for one of their wine and done evenings!

Helpful?
Thank Chris b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good food, good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We ate at the hotel on both evenings. Saturday we had two courses each and Sunday three each. Total cost was £80. We felt that was great value.

Saturday's service was somewhat slow, however, they appeared very busy.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank P8R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant at Orestone Manor also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Restaurant at Orestone Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing