We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Views - Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Downs, Babbacombe
Ranked #39 of 150 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2011

This was our 4th stay at The Downs & we were not dissappointed. We only booked a few days prior to our visit & I think we were very lucky to get a room on the front with a balcony which gives stunning views - to sit & watch the world go by, people watch this is ideal.
Due to the lateness of our booking Kate could only offer us a small double for the 3 nights, but this was fine caused us no problem,the bed was comfy theres a kettle tea, coffee & biscuits,tv plus en-suite facilities - its the balcony that makes the room. We decided to stay an extra night, but we had to move to a rear room which again was fine & Kate & staff moved all our things for us - nothings to much trouble for them . I would certainly recommend The Downs from very tatsty breakfasts welcoming staff & very comfortable clean rooms.
Once again Kate & Ed you've made our holiday THANK YOU.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WestMidlandsLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (378)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

317 - 323 of 378 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2011

This has to be one of the best hotels in the Babbacombe area, in every way. All the public rooms (and my bedroom) were tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean.
The view from my balcony had the "wow" factor. It was wonderful to sit out with a mug of coffee each morning to watch the sunrise and in the evening, the spectacular sunsets... magical.

The breakfasts were superb and, unusually for this country, you could also help yourself to a fresh bowl of strawberries, raspberries and blackberries.

The "full English" was full on, with bacon, egg, sausage, tomato, mushrooms, hash browns, fried bread and black pudding!

One morning I had a delicious scrambled egg and smoked salmon, which I could have had served in my room if I had wanted. For two nights I had dinner, which again was excellent with large portions. I don't believe they know the meaning of portion control.

Kate and Ed made me feel very welcome and their friendly and hardworking staff (especially Ben) are to be congratulated on their high standards in maintaining such an exceptional hotel.

Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Room 12
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaggieTucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2011

The Downs, Babbacombe was my wife and my second and third night’s stay on a recent 28 day holiday touring the UK. We were somewhat “jet lagged” from the flight from the US and also from the stress of learning how to stay on the left side of the road, traverse roundabouts, and navigate narrow two way lanes in the Devon countryside. Fortunately Ed and Kate (the owners) and their staff provided a friendly welcome and made these two nights totally enjoyable. We had a smaller room w/balcony on the second floor looking out toward the bay. The room was spotlessly clean and had a small but totally functional en suite shower and toilet room. We anticipated that the room might be small so we only took one piece of luggage each from the car which Ed gladly carried to the room for us. He also helped guide us into the parking lot in the rear and provided the parking pass that ensured that there would be no charge. The view from the room was spectacular and the soft breezes in the evening and night made sleeping a pleasure. The bed was comfortable and after two nights our internal “batteries” had been recharged and we were ready for the remainder of our trip. Breakfasts were comprehensive with hot foods (Complete English Breakfast) and Porridge and also fresh fruits, yogurts, and cereals. I am sure that I have missed something but suffice it to say the breakfasts were wonderful. The only possible issue that could arise in the summer (we were there before the season began) is that there are a number of B&Bs along the road that runs in front of The Downs and they all have outdoor seating and sell beer and wine (The Downs included). We did hear some talking in the early evening from outside and I wondered if when the weather got warmer if outdoor conviviality would continue past bedtime. Just a thought and something that might require a question when scheduling a booking. But all in all we were totally pleased and would certainly stay at The Downs if our travels return us to Torbay.

Room Tip: First Upper Floor rooms are larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brooklyn45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2011

The hotel was extremely comfortable and in the process of being modernised. The Bar, although still a little dated offered comfort and the added touch of board games, a blessing when travelling with children! We had the family room to the back of the hotel and although it didn't have a balcony, was very light and airy and the beds were comfort beyond belief!!!

The staff were all extremely friendly, especially Jude the waitress who worked like a trojan! The owners Kate and Ed were very friendly and also very accomodating for our last day with a very late checkout as our flight wasn't till evening.

The Downs hotel is in a beautiful location with stunning views which i was able to experience from the balcony as my parents had a room to the front of the hotel.

I would highly recommend this hotel as it is clean, close to ammenities, has friendly staff and excellent food!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tag306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2011

Stayed at Downs Hotel for three nights and enjoyed every minute. Anyone thinking of visiting Torquay, the Downs hotel is for you. Wonderful views.Beautiful accomodation and very kind and helpful hosts.Richards family of 7. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Room 12
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seanie8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2011

When we first booked this hotel, we weren't expecting much as we booked simply because it was a 'dog friendly hotel'. We imagined that it would only be basic and because it accepted animals, it wouldn't be 'pristine'. How wrong we were and what a jewel we've found! Not a dog hair in site and immaculately clean!

The rooms are tastefully decorated with lovely bedding and though on the small side, they have all of the essentials including a good beverage selection and on-suite facilites, having some toiletries included (omitted in most places these days). A good tip is to book early to ensure a balcony room (you can even enjoy breakfast on your private balcony overlooking the beautiful bay).

Regarding the food, it was devine! We chose to book the evening meal and it was scrumtious! Even the bar prices are reasonable and are cheaper than most hotels we've visited. We were allowed to eat in the bar area with our Golden retriever who was treated like a king, having his water bowl topped up on demand following his cliff top walks.

We were surprised to read the complaints of a couple of the reviews;

1. Relating to the pillows - ours were excellent quality and the bed was so comfortable that we had a good nights sleep, something we desperately needed after a couple of exhausting weeks!

2. Cancellation policy - this couldn't be clearer! It is stated on the website and is confirmed on the initial booking, as well as being followed up by post! So where's the confusion? Holiday insurance is a good safeguard. Did this person even stay there? If not, how can such a negative review be written?

3. Not meeting the proprietors - Kate and Ed spent much of their valuable time with us and nothing was too much trouble. We were personally greated as though old friends and their friendly dispositions certainly made us feel as though we had known them for years. In fact, we have never felt so welcomed! We are extremely well travelled and stay in hotels at home and abroad and usually in 5 star accommodation and 'The Downs' rate top of our list on this score! It's home from home, with all of the trimmings!

We will certainly be returning!



SO.... On the whole, give the Downs a try you won't be disappointed.

WELL DONE KATE AND ED - KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK!!!

Room Tip: Book early and request a balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bellaBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2011

Lovely hotel
Lovely people
Fabulous place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank l4woods2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
The Babbacombe Hotel
The Babbacombe Hotel
#35 of 86 in Torquay
193 reviews
0.0 mi away
Headland View
Headland View
#40 of 150 in Torquay
193 reviews
0.0 mi away
Seabreeze at Babbacombe
Seabreeze at Babbacombe
#55 of 150 in Torquay
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Babbacombe Royal Hotel
The Babbacombe Royal Hotel
#45 of 150 in Torquay
291 reviews
0.0 mi away
Babbacombe Bay Hotel
Babbacombe Bay Hotel
#49 of 150 in Torquay
274 reviews
0.2 mi away
Babbacombe Palms Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Downs, Babbacombe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Downs, Babbacombe

Address: 41-43 Babbacombe Downs Road, Torquay TQ1 3LN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: £65 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Downs, Babbacombe 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WINNERS of South Devon B&B, Guest House and Inn of the Year for 2013. 4* GOLD Visit Britain with Breakfast Award 2015 and 4* GOLD AA with Dinner & Breakfast Award for 2015. Situated directly above Babbacombe & Oddicombe beaches, we are a fully licensed family run establishment with 12 en-suite guest rooms, 8 have private balconies which enjoy fabulous unobstructed views across Babbacombe Downs and out over Lyme Bay. We welcome families, young and old, couples and singles alike. All rooms have TVs, direct dial telephones, hospitality trays and free Wi-Fi access. Our spacious restaurant and lounge bar ensures you have plenty of room. Suites are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Downs, Babbacombe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Downs, Babbacombe Hotel Torquay
The Downs, Babbacombe Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing