We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely B & B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Downs, Babbacombe
Ranked #36 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2011

Just returned from the Downs at Babbacombe, had a lovely room to the front of the hotel, with a small balcony, great views from here.
Rooms not that big but it did not matter too much with the extension of the balcony.
The room was very clean and a very comfy double bed.
Breakfast was very nice indeed with that extra special touch such as fresh fruits and really nice crockery, and a special fish option if prefered rather than the full english.
The price for the 3 night stay was very reasonable booked this on line a week before we went down there.
Would certainly stay there again, they even give you a pass for the parking which is at the rear in the NCP car park which is a nice extra too.
Take a trip you will not be dissapointed.
You may like to take afternoon tea at the Angel tea rooms which is next door but one, it is the best around don't miss that.
Cary Arms is lovely for either a snack, meal or just a relaxing drink, we also took a trip to the theatre to see Jimmy Tarbuck, he was a hoot too, something for everyone if you get organised. And to finish take a steam train from Paignton to Dartmouth a lovely way to travel for a day out.
See I am missing it already, have fun what ever you choose to do ENJOY...

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Woodhead45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
downs43, Owner at The Downs, Babbacombe, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2011

Thank you so much for taking time to write such a lovely review.

The room you had - room 10 - is one of our smaller doubles on the 2nd floor and as you quite rightly mention has a lovely balcony from which you can enjoy the uninterrupted view of Lyme Bay. Whilst this is not one of our largest room we are glad you found it comfortable for your stay. Of course - we would be biaised - but we do believe we have one of the best views in the area, and some guests say that with the red cliffs and sea views it rivals views on the continent.

We have spent much time and give much thought into the detail and extra touches in each room. All of our rooms differ in shape and size as the building (once 2 individual houses) was built over 150 years ago. Whilst we have been here over the last 4 years we have worked hard to make all rooms comfortable whilst not over cluttering them and to that end I am so glad you found our beds comfortable.

We do hope to welcome you back in the future.
Kate Wood
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (385)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

322 - 328 of 385 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2011

On arrival I was welcomed by one of the lovely members of staff (there are a few and all lovely) on entering my room I was thrilled the decor was lovely and every little detail thought through, the view from my balcony was breath taking. After walking down to Babbacombe beach which is dog friendly and beautiful we returned to our evening meal which was delicious and large portions size which pleased the male in our party!! Kate and Ed the owners are lovely and if a request was made and in their powers it was done.... We had such a lovely time we are returning in September with our pup and have also enquired about a New Years package...... The Lee's and Nanuke Kent

Room Tip: Our room was on the top floor, a sea view is a must the view is beautiful, beds very comfortable and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nanuke_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
downs43, Owner at The Downs, Babbacombe, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2011

Thank you so much for taking time to leave such a lovely review. We always try to meet, if not exceed guests expectations and we are so pleased that you had such a lovely time with us.

It was lovely that your husband and son could join you for part of your stay and that they enjoyed our food, we are lucky that we have such a wealth of excellent local supliers and local produce. It was also a pleasure meeting your mum when she dined with you, as mentioned we do welcome local residents to book in with us for dinner so she is always welcomed to pop in or give us a call.

We look forward to welcoming you again in September and do hope you will join us for the New Year.

Kate Wood
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2011

This was our 4th stay at The Downs & we were not dissappointed. We only booked a few days prior to our visit & I think we were very lucky to get a room on the front with a balcony which gives stunning views - to sit & watch the world go by, people watch this is ideal.
Due to the lateness of our booking Kate could only offer us a small double for the 3 nights, but this was fine caused us no problem,the bed was comfy theres a kettle tea, coffee & biscuits,tv plus en-suite facilities - its the balcony that makes the room. We decided to stay an extra night, but we had to move to a rear room which again was fine & Kate & staff moved all our things for us - nothings to much trouble for them . I would certainly recommend The Downs from very tatsty breakfasts welcoming staff & very comfortable clean rooms.
Once again Kate & Ed you've made our holiday THANK YOU.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WestMidlandsLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2011

This has to be one of the best hotels in the Babbacombe area, in every way. All the public rooms (and my bedroom) were tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean.
The view from my balcony had the "wow" factor. It was wonderful to sit out with a mug of coffee each morning to watch the sunrise and in the evening, the spectacular sunsets... magical.

The breakfasts were superb and, unusually for this country, you could also help yourself to a fresh bowl of strawberries, raspberries and blackberries.

The "full English" was full on, with bacon, egg, sausage, tomato, mushrooms, hash browns, fried bread and black pudding!

One morning I had a delicious scrambled egg and smoked salmon, which I could have had served in my room if I had wanted. For two nights I had dinner, which again was excellent with large portions. I don't believe they know the meaning of portion control.

Kate and Ed made me feel very welcome and their friendly and hardworking staff (especially Ben) are to be congratulated on their high standards in maintaining such an exceptional hotel.

Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Room 12
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaggieTucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2011

The Downs, Babbacombe was my wife and my second and third night’s stay on a recent 28 day holiday touring the UK. We were somewhat “jet lagged” from the flight from the US and also from the stress of learning how to stay on the left side of the road, traverse roundabouts, and navigate narrow two way lanes in the Devon countryside. Fortunately Ed and Kate (the owners) and their staff provided a friendly welcome and made these two nights totally enjoyable. We had a smaller room w/balcony on the second floor looking out toward the bay. The room was spotlessly clean and had a small but totally functional en suite shower and toilet room. We anticipated that the room might be small so we only took one piece of luggage each from the car which Ed gladly carried to the room for us. He also helped guide us into the parking lot in the rear and provided the parking pass that ensured that there would be no charge. The view from the room was spectacular and the soft breezes in the evening and night made sleeping a pleasure. The bed was comfortable and after two nights our internal “batteries” had been recharged and we were ready for the remainder of our trip. Breakfasts were comprehensive with hot foods (Complete English Breakfast) and Porridge and also fresh fruits, yogurts, and cereals. I am sure that I have missed something but suffice it to say the breakfasts were wonderful. The only possible issue that could arise in the summer (we were there before the season began) is that there are a number of B&Bs along the road that runs in front of The Downs and they all have outdoor seating and sell beer and wine (The Downs included). We did hear some talking in the early evening from outside and I wondered if when the weather got warmer if outdoor conviviality would continue past bedtime. Just a thought and something that might require a question when scheduling a booking. But all in all we were totally pleased and would certainly stay at The Downs if our travels return us to Torbay.

Room Tip: First Upper Floor rooms are larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brooklyn45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2011

The hotel was extremely comfortable and in the process of being modernised. The Bar, although still a little dated offered comfort and the added touch of board games, a blessing when travelling with children! We had the family room to the back of the hotel and although it didn't have a balcony, was very light and airy and the beds were comfort beyond belief!!!

The staff were all extremely friendly, especially Jude the waitress who worked like a trojan! The owners Kate and Ed were very friendly and also very accomodating for our last day with a very late checkout as our flight wasn't till evening.

The Downs hotel is in a beautiful location with stunning views which i was able to experience from the balcony as my parents had a room to the front of the hotel.

I would highly recommend this hotel as it is clean, close to ammenities, has friendly staff and excellent food!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tag306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2011

Stayed at Downs Hotel for three nights and enjoyed every minute. Anyone thinking of visiting Torquay, the Downs hotel is for you. Wonderful views.Beautiful accomodation and very kind and helpful hosts.Richards family of 7. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Room 12
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seanie8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torquay
0.1 mi away
The Babbacombe Hotel
The Babbacombe Hotel
#36 of 85 in Torquay
198 reviews
8.5 mi away
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Langstone Cliff Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dawlish
727 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anchorage Hotel
Anchorage Hotel
#63 of 85 in Torquay
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,118 reviews
0 mi away
Headland View
Headland View
#39 of 149 in Torquay
196 reviews
0 mi away
Seabreeze at Babbacombe
Seabreeze at Babbacombe
#54 of 149 in Torquay
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Downs, Babbacombe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Downs, Babbacombe

Address: 41-43 Babbacombe Downs Road, Torquay TQ1 3LN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: £65 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Downs, Babbacombe 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WINNERS of South Devon B&B, Guest House and Inn of the Year for 2013. 4* GOLD Visit Britain with Breakfast Award 2015 and 4* GOLD AA with Dinner & Breakfast Award for 2015. Situated directly above Babbacombe & Oddicombe beaches, we are a fully licensed family run establishment with 12 en-suite guest rooms, 8 have private balconies which enjoy fabulous unobstructed views across Babbacombe Downs and out over Lyme Bay. We welcome families, young and old, couples and singles alike. All rooms have TVs, direct dial telephones, hospitality trays and free Wi-Fi access. Our spacious restaurant and lounge bar ensures you have plenty of room. Suites are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Downs, Babbacombe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Downs, Babbacombe Hotel Torquay
The Downs, Babbacombe Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing