We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE DOWNS HOTEL BABACOMBE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Downs, Babbacombe
Ranked #35 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 November 2011

well my husband and i stayed here in sept and it is a pleasure to say we loved every moment of it food is 5 star hosts were there for anything we needed and i must say the stunning views from the hotel balacony are outstanding u will not want to shut the curtains and go to bed i promise u will love this place .

from sally & steve evans

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank evans2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (371)
There are newer reviews for The Downs, Babbacombe
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

298 - 304 of 371 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2011

Yes yes yes what a find - Kate & Ed run a fabulous B&B which is most definately dog friendly - only restriction is the restaurant but to make up for this they accommadate you & your dogs to have breakfaste or evening meal in the bar. Food is excellent - we were not lucky enough to get a sea view room (as a last minute booking & it was half term) but the room we had was spacious enough for 2 adults & 3 dogs & if you book early even with dogs you can have a room with a sea view - how fab is that just because you have dogs you are not penalised. The Downs is well situated to see round & about - Babbacombe itself has a the lovely Downs a dog walkers haven. There are 2 Beaches (you need to be fit that goes for the dogs too!) but there is a Cliff Railway to get you there & back one is sandy the other pebbles you can walk across to both & stop for a coffee or a bit of luxury for you & the dogs at the famous Cary Arms. Lots of lovely places to visit Torquay - Paignton - Dartmouth via the ferry from Kingswear - Brixham - Teighnmouth - Dawlish & a little further a field is Bigbury on Sea a fabulous expanse of sand when the tides out & you don't get stuck over on Burgh Island as the sea tractor brings you back over to Bigbury well worth a visit (parking expensive at Bigbury!) There is a pub pub on Burgh Island the Pilchard Inn which is renowned for it's 'Curry Night' but unfortunately it was not the day we were there! Well done Kate & Ed you run a suberb quality B&B - I would recommend to anyone especially to those who have had bad experiences with places who say they are dog friendly & when you get there they are obviously not!!!!! The Downs is 100% dog friendly.

Room Tip: Book early to get a room with a sea view
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlnHil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights. Bought through booking.com so it was a bargain. The view from our room on the first floor was stunning. The owners were very friendly and took into consideration our request. Breakfast was good. We had one evening meal at the hotel and that was nice as well as good value for money. It's not far from oddicombe beach (walking distance). There are shops close by. Torquay town centre is about 5-10mins drive. Reccommend for a short stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mroj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

Our third successive year at the Downs Hotel. Only stay for long weekends. Hotel is owned and run by Ed and Kate with Kate doing all the cooking from locally resourced food. Excellent quality food and credit to them both. (In fact the cream teas 'are to die for') . Rooms are adequate for your stay and as far as I am aware they all have sea view. They are clean.
Location is good for Model village / Babbacombe Theatre or just lazing in the sun on the grassed area right in front of the hotel. You couldn't ask for a more friendly and obliging staff. If you want you can take your dog along with you as well.
About 45 minutes walk (downhill) into Torquay centre (10 minutes on the bus)

Room Tip: I believe there are twelve rooms, on two floors. I believe all rooms are sea view across the grassed...
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Malcolm S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Stayed at The Downs for a long weekend. Took our dog. Had to admit I was slightly worried because I have stayed in dog friendly places before and the cleanliness was not up to scratch to say the least! However, I needn't of worried, the room was immaculately clean. Whether you've got a dog or no, I would recommend this hotel.
The food was excellent and the owners Ed & Kate are very welcoming.

Room Tip: Try & book in advance to ensure a sea view with balcony.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Kath823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

my 4th time there and still awsome rooms clean and tidy the staff are friendly
and helpfull and kate and ed are excellent hosts ,
and for people with dogs a lot of places to go like bygones the model village and also
cockington is a most,
the food at the downs is very very nice and you must have the steak ,
thank you kate and ed
judith and kim woof woof

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zennaEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Well what can I say, fantastic place, fantastic staff, fantastic room.

We could not have asked for more. We booked online approx one week before coming down to Devon from Warwickshire. We were not disappointed - in fact very happy. Breakfast must be a Kate speciality as was the Lamb Shank that both myself and my husband had. In fact, my husband said that either he was returning again on Sunday, after checking out on Saturday, for the lamb for his sunday roast or Kate could come to our house to cook it. Ever felt in the way? Seriously though, very good food, good company and I would recommend this place to everyone and anyone... in fact I have!!

We will be coming again. Although I suffer from crippling arthritis and diabetes, I did not find the walk up the stairs to the rooms too much as I had the use of the stairlift. Our room was on the second floor and the views were spectacular from the balcony. In fact it was so lovely, that we slept with the balcony door open for two nights to enjoy the fresh air and to see the lovely sunrise over the bay in the mornings.

I cannot express what a wonderful time we had. Visited the model village just up the road, rode on the cliff top railway and spent an afternoon on Oddicombe Beach. Just so enjoyable.

Will definately be coming back. Thanks so much for an attentive time too Kate and Ed, you could not do enough for us.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Branstons66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
The Babbacombe Hotel
The Babbacombe Hotel
#39 of 87 in Torquay
190 reviews
0.0 mi away
Headland View
Headland View
#37 of 149 in Torquay
189 reviews
0.0 mi away
Seabreeze at Babbacombe
Seabreeze at Babbacombe
#55 of 149 in Torquay
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Babbacombe Royal Hotel
The Babbacombe Royal Hotel
#45 of 149 in Torquay
285 reviews
0.0 mi away
Babbacombe Bay Hotel
Babbacombe Bay Hotel
#46 of 149 in Torquay
271 reviews
0.2 mi away
Babbacombe Palms Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Downs, Babbacombe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Downs, Babbacombe

Address: 41-43 Babbacombe Downs Road, Torquay TQ1 3LN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: £62 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Downs, Babbacombe 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WINNERS of South Devon B&B, Guest House and Inn of the Year for 2013. 4* GOLD Visit Britain with Breakfast Award 2015 and 4* GOLD AA with Dinner & Breakfast Award for 2015. Situated directly above Babbacombe & Oddicombe beaches, we are a fully licensed family run establishment with 12 en-suite guest rooms, 8 have private balconies which enjoy fabulous unobstructed views across Babbacombe Downs and out over Lyme Bay. We welcome families, young and old, couples and singles alike. All rooms have TVs, direct dial telephones, hospitality trays and free Wi-Fi access. Our spacious restaurant and lounge bar ensures you have plenty of room. Suites are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Downs, Babbacombe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Downs, Babbacombe Hotel Torquay
The Downs, Babbacombe Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing