We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel with a friendly atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Downs, Babbacombe
Ranked #33 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel with a friendly atmosphere”
Reviewed 7 April 2012

I have returned to the hotel many times and it is better than ever. We are currently staying in a room with a brand new bathroom, it is brilliant. The views are fantastic and the service is great. I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kknowels1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    303
    42
    6
    5
    3
See reviews for
88
188
26
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We have just come back from a five night stay at the downs, it was the first time we have taken our dog, every effort was made for us to feel welcome. We even was able to take her down and sit in the lounge to have breakfast, and yes she was even cooked her own bacon!!! The room was compact but absolutely spotless, the views were amazing from the balcony. Kate & Ed and staff was very friendly, and couldn't have done any more for us.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

My wife and I + Lola our standard poodle stayed at the Downs for an overnight stop on our way to Cornwall, what a shame we only had one night. Kate & Ed and staff do a very professional service for a small and friendly hotel they could not have done any more to make our stay more pleasant.
We had a room on the first floor and what an amazing view over the downs and out to sea.
and what a FAB breakfast we had next morning,I understand Kate the owner doe's all the cooking good on you girl it's the best we have had.
Thanks for making our stay so relaxing, next time we will stay for more than one night.

Room Tip: go for a room facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SOLARP24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2012

My sister and I have just come back form our stay at the Downs B&B, we had a relaxing couple of days, the weather could of been a little better, the owners KATE & ED what a lovely couple, they made our stay complete.
From the staff being so courtious and so professional the atmosphere was fantastic!
The meals that KATE provided were of a very high standard just as the bedrooms that had excellent views from the balcony.
I can't wait to return

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SallyandDiane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

My family and I visited the hotel briefly, and what a shame we couldn't stay longer. I was impressed with everything from the courteous staff who maintained a professional atmosphere while being able to be approachable. The food was brilliant and they obviously have a great chef to prepare and present the food which throughout our stay was brilliant.

The view from our rooms were amazing and the whole, stay was only made better by how accommodating, helpful and friendly all the staff were with everything from great advice on local attractions and what would be best for our family considering the age of our children to, giving me a few local spots that were absolutely beautiful for me to take some photo's of.

I really want to express my thanks to all the staff, particularly the owners for a great stay in a luxurious hotel, at a great price. We really couldn’t have asked for anything more........other than being able to stay for longer if we had the time.

Thank you so much

Room Tip: Our room was beautiful, but from speaking to other customers in the dining room everyone was very ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OriginalBowsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

We have recently returned from a 2 night stay at the Downs Hotel, my husband two teenage daughters our little puppy and I. From the moment we arrived nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were lovely, one has a balcony with a seaview and the meals were fantastic. Our vegetarian daughter was very well catered for and my other daughter requested a starter as a main course and was delighted with her meal. If you stay here I recommend that you have an evening meal. Having a dog presented no problems at all. The hotel was very accommodating and the surrounding area is ideal for dog walking. On our final morning we discovered that our car battery was flat and the hotel owner was very helpful and gave our car a jump-start allowing my husband to go to a local garage to buy a new battery. We had a lovely stay and will return as soon as we can.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a seaview balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sandra b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

well my husband and i stayed here in sept and it is a pleasure to say we loved every moment of it food is 5 star hosts were there for anything we needed and i must say the stunning views from the hotel balacony are outstanding u will not want to shut the curtains and go to bed i promise u will love this place .

from sally & steve evans

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evans2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 mi away
The Babbacombe Hotel
The Babbacombe Hotel
#38 of 87 in Torquay
174 reviews
0.0 mi away
Seabreeze at Babbacombe
Seabreeze at Babbacombe
#44 of 149 in Torquay
144 reviews
0.0 mi away
Headland View
Headland View
#47 of 149 in Torquay
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Babbacombe Royal Hotel
The Babbacombe Royal Hotel
#42 of 149 in Torquay
263 reviews
0.0 mi away
Babbacombe Bay Hotel
Babbacombe Bay Hotel
#45 of 149 in Torquay
260 reviews
0.1 mi away
Babbacombe Guest House
Babbacombe Guest House
#56 of 149 in Torquay
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Downs, Babbacombe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Downs, Babbacombe

Property: The Downs, Babbacombe
Address: 41-43 Babbacombe Downs Road, Torquay TQ1 3LN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Downs, Babbacombe 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WINNERS of South Devon B&B, Guest House and Inn of the Year for 2013. 4* GOLD Visit Britain with Breakfast Award 2015 and 4* GOLD AA with Dinner & Breakfast Award for 2015. Situated directly above Babbacombe & Oddicombe beaches, we are a fully licensed family run establishment with 12 en-suite guest rooms, 8 have private balconies which enjoy fabulous unobstructed views across Babbacombe Downs and out over Lyme Bay. We welcome families, young and old, couples and singles alike. All rooms have TVs, direct dial telephones, hospitality trays and free Wi-Fi access. Our spacious restaurant and lounge bar ensures you have plenty of room. Suites are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Downs, Babbacombe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Downs, Babbacombe Hotel Torquay
The Downs, Babbacombe Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing