We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Hotel, Highly Recommend, Friendly Atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Downs, Babbacombe
Ranked #37 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We have just returned from a nights stay at 'The Downs'. What a wonderful hotel. We had our dog with us and she was made to feel very welcome as were we.
We will be returning but this time for longer.
The rooms were spotless & well decorated, with stunning views.
The staff were extremley friendly & our dog was even allowed to sit with us at breakfast in the Lounge area which was great.
If you are looking for a great hotel in the Babbacombe area 'The Downs' is a must.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (382)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

301 - 307 of 382 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2012

Our family have stayed at The Downs on several occasions over the last couple of years at different times of the year. This Easter holiday break we are having here is as relaxing and welcoming as ever. The seaview room is spacious,spotless and the view breath taking.
The staff are friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BusyMum39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

I have returned to the hotel many times and it is better than ever. We are currently staying in a room with a brand new bathroom, it is brilliant. The views are fantastic and the service is great. I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kknowels1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We have just come back from a five night stay at the downs, it was the first time we have taken our dog, every effort was made for us to feel welcome. We even was able to take her down and sit in the lounge to have breakfast, and yes she was even cooked her own bacon!!! The room was compact but absolutely spotless, the views were amazing from the balcony. Kate & Ed and staff was very friendly, and couldn't have done any more for us.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

My wife and I + Lola our standard poodle stayed at the Downs for an overnight stop on our way to Cornwall, what a shame we only had one night. Kate & Ed and staff do a very professional service for a small and friendly hotel they could not have done any more to make our stay more pleasant.
We had a room on the first floor and what an amazing view over the downs and out to sea.
and what a FAB breakfast we had next morning,I understand Kate the owner doe's all the cooking good on you girl it's the best we have had.
Thanks for making our stay so relaxing, next time we will stay for more than one night.

Room Tip: go for a room facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SOLARP24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

My sister and I have just come back form our stay at the Downs B&B, we had a relaxing couple of days, the weather could of been a little better, the owners KATE & ED what a lovely couple, they made our stay complete.
From the staff being so courtious and so professional the atmosphere was fantastic!
The meals that KATE provided were of a very high standard just as the bedrooms that had excellent views from the balcony.
I can't wait to return

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SallyandDiane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

My family and I visited the hotel briefly, and what a shame we couldn't stay longer. I was impressed with everything from the courteous staff who maintained a professional atmosphere while being able to be approachable. The food was brilliant and they obviously have a great chef to prepare and present the food which throughout our stay was brilliant.

The view from our rooms were amazing and the whole, stay was only made better by how accommodating, helpful and friendly all the staff were with everything from great advice on local attractions and what would be best for our family considering the age of our children to, giving me a few local spots that were absolutely beautiful for me to take some photo's of.

I really want to express my thanks to all the staff, particularly the owners for a great stay in a luxurious hotel, at a great price. We really couldn’t have asked for anything more........other than being able to stay for longer if we had the time.

Thank you so much

Room Tip: Our room was beautiful, but from speaking to other customers in the dining room everyone was very ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OriginalBowsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torquay
0.1 mi away
The Babbacombe Hotel
The Babbacombe Hotel
#36 of 85 in Torquay
197 reviews
8.5 mi away
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Langstone Cliff Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dawlish
724 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Anchorage Hotel
Anchorage Hotel
#64 of 85 in Torquay
407 reviews
0.0 mi away
Headland View
Headland View
#36 of 149 in Torquay
196 reviews
0.0 mi away
Babbacombe Bay Hotel
Babbacombe Bay Hotel
#48 of 149 in Torquay
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Downs, Babbacombe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Downs, Babbacombe

Address: 41-43 Babbacombe Downs Road, Torquay TQ1 3LN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: £65 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Downs, Babbacombe 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WINNERS of South Devon B&B, Guest House and Inn of the Year for 2013. 4* GOLD Visit Britain with Breakfast Award 2015 and 4* GOLD AA with Dinner & Breakfast Award for 2015. Situated directly above Babbacombe & Oddicombe beaches, we are a fully licensed family run establishment with 12 en-suite guest rooms, 8 have private balconies which enjoy fabulous unobstructed views across Babbacombe Downs and out over Lyme Bay. We welcome families, young and old, couples and singles alike. All rooms have TVs, direct dial telephones, hospitality trays and free Wi-Fi access. Our spacious restaurant and lounge bar ensures you have plenty of room. Suites are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Downs, Babbacombe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Downs, Babbacombe Hotel Torquay
The Downs, Babbacombe Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing