We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best of the rest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Downs, Babbacombe
Ranked #33 of 150 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“The best of the rest”
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Just arrived home from a week of mixed weather in Devon but felt compelled to pen this whilst it was fresh in my memory.......YOU MUST STAY AT THIS PLACE.
Our arrival was welcomed by Kate and Ed who from the minute we arrived made us feel like long lost friends. We were given a choice of rooms and although space would normally be a premium for us the view from (the not too small) balcony rooms were to die for. If you can find a better view then let me know !!!
Having unpacked we went down to the well stocked bar where we met several other holiday makers who it seems were frequent visitors to this establishment and proceeded to tell us how good the food was. At first i thought this is too good to be true.......How wrong I was.
We decided to try the three course evening meal at £15 per head and was not disapointed the quality and size of the portions on offer were outstanding. Not only where they home made, but there was a multitude of choices too succulent to list (Go and see for yourself)
This is the first time we have stopped at a hotel where we would do evening meal as we like to try restaurants all over the country. We ate here EVERY NIGHT. It was that good.
I know this might look a bit over the top but listen.......If you dont enjoy your visit to the Downs then you must have serious social problems. This place is definately the Dogs B#####Ks
We will definately visit again and reccomend it to all our family and friends.
Thanks for a great time!!!

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are views to die for
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bazfitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    307
    42
    6
    5
    3
See reviews for
89
191
26
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Enjoyed a relaxing 2 night break at the Downs owners and staff very friendly and helpful. Hotel in ideal position overlooking Lyme Bay. We had a balcony which was lovely especially as we had such good weather. The Breakfast is good with lots of choice, didn't have evening meal as decided to go to local award winning fish and chip restuarant (ok, but nothing to write home about + expensives for what it is!) and one of the local pubs (lots to choose from). The room was decorated lovely, but was very small and the bathroom was tiny! Beds were ok, but didn't sllep great as it was very hot when we stayed and the quilts wee a bit to heavy and we had mattress toppers which seemed to make us hot!
Otherwise a good small hotel would stay again.

Room Tip: if you don't mind a small room with a very small bathroom, defeinitely go for a room with a balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kltoms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We spent a few days with Kate and Ed before our very secretive wedding. There was a lovely wedding balloon decoration waiting in our room as a welcome. The view from the balcony is amazing. On our wedding day (no visitors) they shared our excitement and upon our return from the registery office there was a bottle of champagne waiting and Ed kindly took photo's for us. The food during the time spent there was really great and the steak and ale meal is the best! We cannot thank them enough for the wonderful time spent there and we will definitely be back!

Room Tip: The balcony rooms have the most awesome views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glamgran111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Very wet day , warm welcome and child friendly, good service and surroundings. Avery well presented and tasty platter, the first time I have tried mussels, whoa, lovely.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grosvener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We have just returned from a short family break at 'The Downs'. We found everyone to be extremely friendly, especially Kate who seemed genuinely pleased to welcome us and our children and went out of her way to help arrange a surprise for my parents who were also staying there at the same time. The family room that we had was lovely - nicely decorated and spotlessly clean. My parents room was also to the same standard with the fabulous adddition of a wonderful sea view and a small balcony they could sit at.The breakfast was fantastic - delicious local produce and cooked to perfection. I would not hesitate to return to 'The Downs' in the future and would thoroughly recommend it to anyone wanting to stay in the area!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicR72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

My husband and i are just back from a 3 night break at The Downs Babbacombe and what can we say ,a fantastic location and lovely hosts .Kate and Ed made us very welcome from the very start. When we booked we were told that we would be in room 10 which is a small but perfectly formed double with a balcony,the bed was very comfortable and had decent pillows,the views from the balcony are outstanding even on a very wet and windy day.Breakfast at The Downs was great , a choice of cereals , fresh fruit and juices was followed by a fab cooked full english . The Downs has a classy feel without being pretentious , warm and welcoming and very clean and we shall be returning to stay again,and telling friends and family that it is a great place to stay

Room Tip: A front of hotel , with balcony is a must but anywhere in this great little hotel would be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerry j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wolverhampton
1 review
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We have just returned from a 3 night break at 'The Downs', Babbacombe and what a lovely little hotel this was. The bedroom itself (fixtures, fittings, furnishings) was first class and spotlessly clean and the view from the balcony was stunning. The fact that we could have our dog with us all the time, including breakfast, was just great! The owners, Kate and Ed, were really kind and accommodating - they even supplied Molly's food and water bowl and mat in the bedroom!! They were always asking if everything was ok for us and nothing was too much trouble. I would definitely recommend this super hotel to anyone wanting a break in a lovely location in a first class, friendly hotel. We will be back!

Room Tip: Room with a balcony/sea view is a must - stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sshel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 mi away
The Babbacombe Hotel
The Babbacombe Hotel
#39 of 87 in Torquay
176 reviews
0.0 mi away
Headland View
Headland View
#44 of 150 in Torquay
179 reviews
0.0 mi away
Seabreeze at Babbacombe
Seabreeze at Babbacombe
#46 of 150 in Torquay
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Babbacombe Bay Hotel
Babbacombe Bay Hotel
#47 of 150 in Torquay
264 reviews
0.1 mi away
Babbacombe Guest House
Babbacombe Guest House
#59 of 150 in Torquay
202 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Babbacombe Royal Hotel
The Babbacombe Royal Hotel
#42 of 150 in Torquay
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Downs, Babbacombe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Downs, Babbacombe

Property: The Downs, Babbacombe
Address: 41-43 Babbacombe Downs Road, Torquay TQ1 3LN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Downs, Babbacombe 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WINNERS of South Devon B&B, Guest House and Inn of the Year for 2013. 4* GOLD Visit Britain with Breakfast Award 2015 and 4* GOLD AA with Dinner & Breakfast Award for 2015. Situated directly above Babbacombe & Oddicombe beaches, we are a fully licensed family run establishment with 12 en-suite guest rooms, 8 have private balconies which enjoy fabulous unobstructed views across Babbacombe Downs and out over Lyme Bay. We welcome families, young and old, couples and singles alike. All rooms have TVs, direct dial telephones, hospitality trays and free Wi-Fi access. Our spacious restaurant and lounge bar ensures you have plenty of room. Suites are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Downs, Babbacombe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Downs, Babbacombe Hotel Torquay
The Downs, Babbacombe Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing