We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent all dog people”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Downs, Babbacombe
Ranked #34 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
england
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent all dog people”
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Once again all brilliant cant complain kate ed best hosts ever and rooms superb and clean and as long as they are here I will keep comming back with me doggy and surrounding area is doggy friendly hole area good for people and dogs . Thank you to you both and your staff

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zennaEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    42
    6
    5
    3
See reviews for
90
195
26
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

I was walking the South West Coast Path and booked in here for one night. A lovely room with a view to die for! The room was clean and the large bed very comfortable. Dogs are welcome which is a bonus.
The owners were very helpful. I hope to come back and visit soon again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DooleyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Had a wonderful long weekend here. Breakfasts were excellent and on a couple of nights we had an evening meal which we thoroughly enjoyed. Plenty to eat, had a great time and we will definitely be returning. Owners and staff were very pleasant and helpful. Very happy to recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

We have just enjoyed a family weekend. Lovely to wake up, open the curtains and take in the spectacular view without having to get out of bed!
Breakfast was superb and the owners couldn't have been more accommodating. They have an excellent knowlege of the local amenities with helpful suggestions of places to visit,
Will definitely be going back again

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 123madhatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harbury
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 January 2013

The Downs Hotel is an ideal location for a family gathering. Set beside the Babbacome Downs overlooking Oddicombe Bay it offers all those things that a family could want. It is family run so the owners understand what a family wants from such an occasion and they have made sure that we had all the facilities that we wanted. The accommodation, food, service and staff is outstanding considering the size of the operation. Located in an area where there are numerous things of interest to do, close enough to the main centre of Torquay but far enough away to give the impression of almost being a village setting. We shall be returning with the family in March and most likely at other times of the year just to make sure it was not just a one off experience.

Room Tip: North facing upper floors have a breathtaking view over sea and South Devon / Jurassic Coast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013 via mobile

We went to the Downs Hotel for new year and not for the first time. We went as a family and enjoyed ourselves as much as ever. The area surrounding the hotel is full of things to do and their is never a dull moment. The owners are friendly and so are the staff making the atmosphere pleasant, the rooms are spacious and the bathrooms are spacious and well maintained. I would recommend it to anyone.

Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank kknowels1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012

I stayed in The Downs Hotel when on a business trip to Torquay.

The Hotel has a lovely outlook, which I didn't realise until I woke in the morning and had a beautiful view from the balcony from my room. It made me think I should come back to share the hotel with my partner at some point, which I will probably do.

The parking is apparently mainly behind the hotel, but in quieter periods it is possible to park on the paved area at the front of the hotel, which is obviously used for seating outdoors in the summer. I am not sure how far the walking distance to the hotel would be, but I don't think this would put me off coming back.

The hotel has free wifi to all rooms which is always something I need for work. There was no problem logging on to this and the speed was fine.

The owners of the hotel are lovely, and Kate is a very bright, helpful and intelligent lady who clearly works as hard as she can to make each guest enjoy their stay.
I was offered a flask of fresh milk for my tea which was a nice touch, and meant I could enjoy more than a couple of cups of tea on my arrival.
The breakfast choice was huge and sounded very high standard, although I chose something simple it was clear that they use the best ingredients and produce.

There is a well prepared guide in each room which explains what services are available and the wifi password, along with recommendations of where to eat and places to visit. I was so interested in this that I am going to bring my partner with me to stay at this hotel and explore Torquay a little more.

My room was clean and had a lovely big bed with high quality sheets and bedding. This gave a lovely feel to the room. The building is Victorian so the rooms have character and as such the en suites have been added at later dates. Mine was cramped but very clean and care had been taken to ensure it smelled lovely.
The heating in the room is adjustable by the occupant which was great as I have often been too hot or cold while staying in places before.
The towels were immaculate, and the shampoo and shower gel etc was presented beautifully, there were even chocolate cookies to welcome me after a stressful day at work!

Overall a lovely welcoming place with lovely owners, thanks for the hospitality! :)

Room Tip: There are some rooms with balconies with views, and a couple of rooms at the back of the hotel. I wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank experttravelcorner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 mi away
Headland View
Headland View
#45 of 149 in Torquay
184 reviews
0.0 mi away
Seabreeze at Babbacombe
Seabreeze at Babbacombe
#52 of 149 in Torquay
147 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Babbacombe Royal Hotel
The Babbacombe Royal Hotel
#46 of 149 in Torquay
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Babbacombe Bay Hotel
Babbacombe Bay Hotel
#49 of 149 in Torquay
264 reviews
0.2 mi away
Babbacombe Palms Guest House
0.1 mi away
Babbacombe Guest House
Babbacombe Guest House
#61 of 149 in Torquay
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Downs, Babbacombe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Downs, Babbacombe

Property: The Downs, Babbacombe
Address: 41-43 Babbacombe Downs Road, Torquay TQ1 3LN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Downs, Babbacombe 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WINNERS of South Devon B&B, Guest House and Inn of the Year for 2013. 4* GOLD Visit Britain with Breakfast Award 2015 and 4* GOLD AA with Dinner & Breakfast Award for 2015. Situated directly above Babbacombe & Oddicombe beaches, we are a fully licensed family run establishment with 12 en-suite guest rooms, 8 have private balconies which enjoy fabulous unobstructed views across Babbacombe Downs and out over Lyme Bay. We welcome families, young and old, couples and singles alike. All rooms have TVs, direct dial telephones, hospitality trays and free Wi-Fi access. Our spacious restaurant and lounge bar ensures you have plenty of room. Suites are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The Downs, Babbacombe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Downs, Babbacombe Hotel Torquay
The Downs, Babbacombe Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing