We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another happy stay for me and my doggy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Downs, Babbacombe
Ranked #36 of 153 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
england
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Another happy stay for me and my doggy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Once again happy stay nice clean rooms and friendly staff and Kate and ed brilliant . Food hotel well worth it and tasty .wfi in rooms and views to die for cant wait again till next year. Area brill walks and things to do its such a friendly area its hard to believe its true please come to this hotel It's my 6th time here I always relax and never bored

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank zennaEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate W, Owner at The Downs, Babbacombe, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
It was so lovely to welcome you and Kim again.

We are so please we still exceed your expectations and have you firmly logged in the diary for next year. Your comments or encouragement are very welcomed, especially since you work in the industry.

We look forward to seeing you again next year.

with kind regards,
Kate, Ed & team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    294
    40
    6
    5
    3
See reviews for
85
181
25
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Wow, lovely Hotel/guest house, Ed and Kate could not have been more charming and helpfull if they tried, lovely couple, down to earth and friendly, nothing is to much trouble.
we stayed two nights in first floor room with balcony, exceptional views, very comfy bed, and comfortable chairs on the balcony.with a good size table, not one thats not worth having.
If i had to find any faults, i would say the sink in the toilet is on the small side, and if the tap is turned on to quickly water hits the sink and bounces on to yourself, but you just have to remember to turn tap on slowly.
The water pressure to the shower is quite slow, so its not a fast invigerating wash, more slow and serine.
Apart from this, our dogs were welcomed, and even had the oppertunity to take our dogs into the bar whist we ate if we prefered that instead of leaving them in the room whilst we ate in the restaurant.
all the food cooked by Kate was truly lovely and perfectly presented.
Ed was a perfect host, and easy to talk too, no airs and graces just pleasant and friendly.
Both myself and my husband would not hesitate to stay again, when the oppertunity arises.

Room Tip: rooms with views slightly on the small side, but the views and balcony, 100% make up for that, and y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilovemydogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate W, Owner at The Downs, Babbacombe, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you so much for such a lovely considered review. We also thank you for rating us 5/5 over ALL areas (not sure why overall it came out as a 4/5 ..)

We do try to anticipate guests needs, and as you mention all requests are welcome and where practicable we will be more than happy to accommodate any additional requests.

The room you stayed in has just been refurbished and a new bathroom installed. Indeed we have opted for a slimmer wash hand basin, however we have taken your feedback on board when planning our continuous program of refurbishment. In the meantime, as you suggested Ed has adjust the tap flow so that splashes do not persist. With regards to the shower water flow, we made the decision not to install 'power showers' as in all areas we attempt to be as responsible and 'green' as possible. I do love your description of the serene experience which shall be adopted forthwith.

Your dogs were lovely, and we are so lucky that we have 2 distinct areas where we can serve breakfast and dinner enabling you to keep your dogs with you, whilst not disturbing our guests who prefer to dine alone.

I (Kate) do the cooking, although ably assisted by Ed (who does all the chopping and grating). We are so fortunate to have an abundance of fantastic local produce and were thrilled to have been awarded Breakfast awards from both Visit Britain and the AA in addition to a Dinner award from the AA. We now have a dedicated vegetarian menu and have daily specials as well as some old favourites.

Thank you once again for your encouragement whilst you were with us and your kind words on this review. We do hope to welcome you again soon.

with kind regards,
Kate & Ed Wood & team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Once more THANKS to trip advisor and all who rated this hotel. The room was great a bit on the small side for a double BUT you only sleep there so it not much of a problem and it was very neatly laid out with a balcony over looking the sea. I believe some of the room are larger. Breakfast was good and kept me going until a light lunch and there was a bar for the evenings as well as a nice area outside to sit and watch the sea and the people going by.

Room Tip: Choose one in the front with a balcony the view is fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlesRoberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate W, Owner at The Downs, Babbacombe, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Mr Roberts,

Thank you so much for the kind words of encouragement whilst you were with us and those left in this review. We are glad that the reviews you read on here helped give you an accurate view of ourselves, our service and what we are trying to achieve in our family run establishment.

You are quite right, during your 3 night stay with us you were in one of our smaller sea view rooms on the 2nd floor. We do have larger rooms available and as mentioned 8 of our sea view rooms do have the added benefit of balconies with terrific uninterrupted sea views. Tables and chairs are on each balcony and we also have our spacious Lounge Bar that guests can freely use throughout their stay, with free WiFi in all areas.

We made the decision when we purchased The Downs, that the bed and breakfast had to be good, and I am glad that you found both to your liking. We made the choice to have as big a bed as possible in each room (yours was a 5' King size) and invested in 1200 pocket sprung mattresses, so we are so glad you scored us 5/5 for sleep quality. Much thought has also gone into the layout of each room, so whilst yours was a smaller sea view room we are so glad you found the layout easily usable.

We are very proud of our breakfasts, having been awarded again Breakfast Awards from both the AA and Visit Britain. We do have some super local produce and at breakfast at The Downs no request for more will be refused, as long as all is eaten!, ensuring everyone has a hearty breakfast which will set them up for the day. Some guests who have our generous evening meal tell us they only need a light bite during the day, so we are glad you were satisfied.

Babbacombe is such a lovely place and the gentle hum is enjoyed by all our guests, whether it be on their balcony or on our forecourt seating area.

Thank you once again for your kind words and we do hope to welcome you again in the not too distant future.

with kind regards,
Kate & Ed wood & team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

I have stayed at The Downs with Kate and Ed so many times I have now lost count. Unfortunately the work I had in the area has now stopped, which prompted me to leave a "final" review. However I am sure that I will return in a leisure capacity now I know what is on offer to share with my partner. (I have already told my family to visit!)
Kate and Ed run a clean and organised hotel, provide lovely breakfasts (I haven't been around to try anything else), and have often met me with a pot of tea after a long day at work!
The rooms are modern, have wifi, and many have beautiful sea views. I would recommend staying in one as the views are breathtaking! There are pictures in the bar area of the bay at various points in history which is interesting to learn more about the area.
I love the little touches Kate provides- home made shortbread and cakes to welcome you on arrival, a packed lunch when I had an early start- finished of with a pretty bow!
If you are reading this review then stop wasting your time and book a room before they are booked up! Kate and Ed will point you in the direction of local attractions and you will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: Stay in a room with a view they have balconies and great outlook- although all are nice :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank experttravelcorner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate W, Owner at The Downs, Babbacombe, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you Lucy for your lovely review, and your words of encouragement whilst you were with us.

We are saddened that you local contract has now finished but do hope to welcome you and partner when you come down and try out our excellent local dive sites. And remember I would be more than happy to prepare a packed lunch or one of our excellent hampers.

Thank you once again,

Kind regards,
Kate, Ed & team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Spent a lovely Easter Weekend here with the family, what a lovely little place! Views across the Downs and situated just right, not too far away from anything but still nice and quiet. Room was a little small but was nonetheless very comfortable, clean and well maintained. Breakfast was superb and nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doody1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate W, Owner at The Downs, Babbacombe, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a smashing review.

It was our please to welcome you and your lovely family and we do hope to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Kate, Ed & team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Just returned from another fabulous weekend break at The Downs. I have never found a fault with this lovely hotel. Lovely views across the bay. Spotlessly clean rooms. Very comfortable beds. Very dog friendly. Kate is a wonderful cook and Ed is a brilliant host. All the staff are lovely and go out of their way to help in any way they can. Nothing is to much for them! Would just like to say a big thank you to Hannah who couldn't have done more for us. Everyone at the hotel are so warm and friendly and we are looking forward to our next visit. There is a large car park at the back of the hotel and for £2.50 a day you can use a 24 hour car park pass which can also also be used in other car parks in the Torbay area which really does save you a lot of money.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea facing balcony room. There is no lift at the hotel but the staff are more than happy t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaJGreen1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate W, Owner at The Downs, Babbacombe, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Mrs Green,

Thank you for once again visiting us and for leaving such a lovely review. Your words of praise and encouragement whilst with us to both ourselves and our staff are so very welcomed. The 4 girls that work with us are all at various stages of development and Hannah, as you mention is an incredible asset to us as indeed they all are.

Our sole intention is to make your stay as comfortable as possible whilst you are with us and I am so pleased that we achieved this during all of your stays.

We look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Kind regards,
Kate, Ed & team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Me and my husband stayed here for three nights over easter and had a wonderful time very welcoming , friendly helpful and a perfect little stay . Breakfast every morning was fantastic , clean comfy bedrooms and a fantastic location to explore we would recommend staying here :)

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emzib07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate W, Owner at The Downs, Babbacombe, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you so much for taking time to leave such a lovely review.

We have worked hard to create a welcoming and comfortable environment so we are so glad that you felt just that whilst you were with us.

Thank you also for your comments about our breakfasts. We are so lucky to have such wonderful local produce and again are so pleased that this was enjoyed by you both.

We do hope to welcome you back should you visit the area again.

Kind regards and best wishes,
Kate, Ed & team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 mi away
Headland View
Headland View
#45 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.0 mi away
Seabreeze at Babbacombe
Seabreeze at Babbacombe
#50 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.1 mi away
Babbacombe Guest House
Babbacombe Guest House
#55 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Babbacombe Royal Hotel
The Babbacombe Royal Hotel
#48 of 153 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.2 mi away
Babbacombe Palms Guest House
0.0 mi away
Babbacombe Bay Hotel
Babbacombe Bay Hotel
#34 of 153 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Downs, Babbacombe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Downs, Babbacombe

Property: The Downs, Babbacombe
Address: 41-43 Babbacombe Downs Road, Torquay TQ1 3LN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Downs, Babbacombe 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WINNERS of South Devon B&B, Guest House and Inn of the Year for 2013. 4* GOLD Visit Britain with Breakfast Award 2015 and 4* GOLD AA with Dinner & Breakfast Award for 2015. Situated directly above Babbacombe & Oddicombe beaches, we are a fully licensed family run establishment with 12 en-suite guest rooms, 8 have private balconies which enjoy fabulous unobstructed views across Babbacombe Downs and out over Lyme Bay. We welcome families, young and old, couples and singles alike. All rooms have TVs, direct dial telephones, hospitality trays and free Wi-Fi access. Our spacious restaurant and lounge bar ensures you have plenty of room. Suites are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your The Downs, Babbacombe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Downs, Babbacombe Hotel Torquay
The Downs, Babbacombe Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing