We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Downs, Babbacombe
Ranked #32 of 150 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed seven nights at this hotel nice view, nice people, good breakfast.
We had an issue with the carpet smelling of dogs but the owners cleaned the carpet without any hesitation which resolves the issue.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 138Annc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    309
    42
    6
    5
    3
See reviews for
89
193
26
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

What a fantastic week at The Downs, where Kate, Ed & their team have looked after us incredibly well. I can't agree more with the previous comments that nothing seems too much trouble. We had a lovely rear facing room as we booked quite late and all of the sea view rooms were already booked. We looked out over a flat roof, but it was an open view - not a brick wall or anything like that and the room was bright and airy with a great big window. We nearly lost each other in the big bed. Were able to sit out and enjoy the view on the front patio or from our lovely breakfast table. We have already asked Kate to pencil some dates in for a return visit. Well done to all of you.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jhayne5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

With superb views from the privacy of my own balcony, and the comfortable and immaculate bedroom, my visit couldn't have been better. Everything in the bedroom worked and was in good order. The views from The Downs Hotel are quite breath-taking. The area is quiet and peaceful. I had very tasty breakfasts at times to suit me, as I had some early starts, but nothing was too much trouble and I did not feel I was being a nuisance with my 7.30am breakfast requests. But the thing that really made my stay memorable was the helpful and friendly staff, particularly the owners, who made my stay everything I had been hoping for. I will be back! I highly recommend The Downs - treat yourself and I bet you will never stay anywhere else afterwards.

Room Tip: They have a room to cater for each individual's needs - just talk to the owners.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tigress97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Lovely gluten free scones as good as most wheaty ones. Good jam and clotted cream. Good service, although they are mainly a hotel. But not a great selection of teas (camomile, green, but no red bush).

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzyGallon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stowmarket
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed here for one night on our way back from a week in Cornwall to break our long journey home, and to meet up with our family staying in nearby Meadfoot, we were made very welcome by Kate and her friendly and helpful staff, the room was clean and nicely decorated with a balcony and great sea views, we were asked if we would like to eat dinner there that evening and after looking at the menu decided we would and we were not disappointed, a beautifully cooked three course meal, very reasonably priced. A delicious breakfast was served the next morning with lots of choice fruit, cereals, yogurts and the fried bread the best I have ever had!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carol r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We were a party of five staying in two rooms. The staff were friendly and very helpful. The rooms were clean and recently renovated. The bathrooms in particular were in excellent condition. The building itself is fairly old, but well maintained. The view from the rooms at the front of the hotel over Lyme Bay was really stunningly beautiful. Breakfast was great: the owners put a lot of effort into it.

Room Tip: Get a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DNH-FI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

A great week end break had at The Downs Hotel, the staff were welcoming and nothing was to much trouble. The owners Kate and Ed have a great team, and have created a lovely friendly atmosphere.
Stayed in the family room, which was very spacious with a great bathroom!

Room Tip: Family room has a great bathroom! Rooms at the front of the hotel have an amazing view! Parking a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BusyMum39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 mi away
The Babbacombe Hotel
The Babbacombe Hotel
#39 of 87 in Torquay
176 reviews
0.0 mi away
Headland View
Headland View
#40 of 150 in Torquay
180 reviews
0.0 mi away
Seabreeze at Babbacombe
Seabreeze at Babbacombe
#48 of 150 in Torquay
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Babbacombe Bay Hotel
Babbacombe Bay Hotel
#47 of 150 in Torquay
263 reviews
0.1 mi away
Babbacombe Guest House
Babbacombe Guest House
#63 of 150 in Torquay
202 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Babbacombe Royal Hotel
The Babbacombe Royal Hotel
#43 of 150 in Torquay
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Downs, Babbacombe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Downs, Babbacombe

Property: The Downs, Babbacombe
Address: 41-43 Babbacombe Downs Road, Torquay TQ1 3LN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Downs, Babbacombe 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WINNERS of South Devon B&B, Guest House and Inn of the Year for 2013. 4* GOLD Visit Britain with Breakfast Award 2015 and 4* GOLD AA with Dinner & Breakfast Award for 2015. Situated directly above Babbacombe & Oddicombe beaches, we are a fully licensed family run establishment with 12 en-suite guest rooms, 8 have private balconies which enjoy fabulous unobstructed views across Babbacombe Downs and out over Lyme Bay. We welcome families, young and old, couples and singles alike. All rooms have TVs, direct dial telephones, hospitality trays and free Wi-Fi access. Our spacious restaurant and lounge bar ensures you have plenty of room. Suites are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Downs, Babbacombe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Downs, Babbacombe Hotel Torquay
The Downs, Babbacombe Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing