We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WE'LL BE BACK!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Silverlands Guest House
Ranked #34 of 150 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“WE'LL BE BACK!”
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Just returned from a 4 night stay at Silverlands Guest House and wanted to comment on how pleased with were with our accommodation. Lynne is so welcoming and friendly. Our (family) room was spacious with 2 x single beds and 1 x double and very clean. The breakfast was lovely and hot and Lynne is great with the kids - nothing is too much trouble for her. We will be returning during the summer hols as there is so much to see and do in the area.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexmoo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    21
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
99
10
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Onchan, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Another visit to this excellent Guest House, this time as a couple instead of on my own. Spacious and comfortable room, clean, excellent breakfast and friendly, warm welcome. I will be back.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happy_tripper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2011

I regularly visit a friend in Torquay, and, as she has no space to accomodate me, I always choose Silverlands for my stay. I have recently returned from my third visit in as many years and I plan to stay again this September.

Lin and Steve are warm, friendly and welcoming hosts and Lin's cooking is second-to-none. The attractively decorated Breakfast Room is a great place in which to start the day!

The guest rooms are bright, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Many feature en-suite WC, washbasin and shower and all have TV with Freeview. Fresh towels are provided on a regular basis and tea and coffee making facilities - along with biscuits - come as standard. Free Wi-Fi is available too.

Private parking is available at the front of the guest house and a handy bus stop is just outside. Take a little time to admire the flowers and plants around the building too. This family obviously love their garden.

If you are planning a visit to 'The English Riviera', be sure to put this wonderful family-run B&B right at the top of your list. Don't just take my word for it...see for yourself!

Richard (Woking/UK)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Onchan, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

A second visit and certainly not disappointed. Just two minutes' walk from Torre Railway Station. A friendly welcome from Lin and Steve. My room, once again, was perfectly clean and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice and freshly cooked to order. Position is near enough to town (and the harbour and beaches) for a pleasant walk. There is a bus stop right outside, if you don't feel like the walk, or wish to go further afield and leave your car in Silverlands' car park.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happy_tripper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2010

We stood at Siverlands for the Bank Holiday and we booked an en-suite bedroom.

What we liked:
Our room was clean and it was on the quiet side of the road so we were happy.

What needs to be improved:
* The main light of our room never worked and we had to use the light from the bathroom all the time.
* 2 mornings out of 3, we have been woken up at around 07:00am by the extremely loud fire alarm so we were well annoyed. Also, we could hear the people talking in the corridor - there should be a signal reminding everyone that some residents might be asleep so they should remain as quiet as possible.
* The main service was OK but there was nothing exceptionnal about it. When we gave back the keys of the room it seemed they could not careless about how our stay was - literraly, it was: 'OK, thanks, good bye!'

We would recommend Siverlands for the price and location but we cannot say that our stay there made our trip to Devon unforgettable.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OlaMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2010

lovely comfortable, family friendy guest house pefectly located and good value, spot on breakfast, nothing too much trouble, considering my wife and eldest daughter are coeliacs,Lin the host is happy to accomodate sensitive diets.Gladly come back again

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HULLABAL00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Onchan, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2010

I stayed at Silverlands for six nights and could not have been more comfortable. The owners, Lin and Steve, are most welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. My room was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The choices for breakfast are as good as you could get in a five star establishment.
I travelled by train and the Guest House was an easy two minutes walk from Torre Station. There is a bus stop immediately outside, but I enjoy walking and the town was only ten minutes walk away and the harbour just twenty minutes.
Some of Torquay, I would say, does look 'a bit tired' but there are absolutely beautiful places like Babbacombe and Oddicombe Beaches, Babbacombe Downs and Cockington, all within a pleasant walk.
My stay was on a bed and breakfast basis, but for dinner there are plenty of pubs and restaurants within walking distance and on returning to my comfortable room, there was Freeview television to watch.
I had a lovely, restful holiday. Many thanks Lin and Steve (and not forgetting Ellie and Ethan).

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happy_tripper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 mi away
Stover Lodge Hotel
Stover Lodge Hotel
#38 of 150 in Torquay
195 reviews
0.0 mi away
Burleigh House
Burleigh House
#21 of 150 in Torquay
196 reviews
0.1 mi away
Garway Lodge
Garway Lodge
#26 of 150 in Torquay
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Babbacombe Royal Hotel
The Babbacombe Royal Hotel
#42 of 150 in Torquay
271 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Cleveland
The Cleveland
#5 of 150 in Torquay
367 reviews
0.5 mi away
Summerlands Guest House
Summerlands Guest House
#73 of 150 in Torquay
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silverlands Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silverlands Guest House

Property: Silverlands Guest House
Address: 27 Newton Road, Torquay TQ2 5DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Silverlands Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silverlands is a warm, friendly, family run hotel in the heart of the English Riviera where we can offer you a comfortable stay with our locally sourced full English breakfast. We have double ensuite rooms and family rooms with free WiFi, freeview TV, tea/coffee making facilities, complimentary chocolates on arrival, complimentary toiletries, hairdryer and fresh fluffy towels for an enjoyable stay. So whether it's a short stay, business or your summer holiday, we at Silverlands will be pleased to see you.Silverlands is an ideal location for easy access to the conference centre and visitors touring the English Riviera and South Devon's beautiful countryside and coastline. We are within walking distance of Torre Train Station and local buses stop directly outside the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms and LateRooms so you can book your Silverlands Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silverlands Guest House Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing