We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value for money accommodation. Great hospitality!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Babbacombe Palms Guest House
Ranked #46 of 148 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very good value for money accommodation. Great hospitality!”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We visited the Babbacombe Palms as a family of 3; with our 12 year old son. We would definitely agree with all comments regarding Mark and Tracey's fantastic hospitality. Usually we stay in hotels but chose this accommodation last minute as all hotels were full. Mark and Tracey had actually put us in a larger family room than we had expected, which was kind of them. The only downside was we had to go downstairs to the room and it was therefore a bit on the cold and dark side. Mark and Tracey must have realised this and had left portable heater outside room, which we used and sorted us out! Although we were unsure of the breakfast slot of 830am to 9am, it actually worked really well. It meant that all guests ate together each morning and we got talking to some lovely holiday makers; which we may not have done otherwise! Location brilliant and an enjoyable 5 min walk to cliff railway, front and fantastic pubs/restaurants. Lovely overall experience. Ps. Thanks Mark, Tracey and Michael for the anniversary card and chocolates - very thoughtful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philippa c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    28
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
51
94
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

From the minute we arrived, Tracey and Mark could not do more to make us welcome..... Not like the rude man down the road whose hotel we accidentally arrived at first!! :p

Rooms were very comfy and spotlessly clean, beds were comfy and breakfast great too.

Great value for money, couldn't have asked for more.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dtshaw7d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

It was my first time staying in a B&B and Mark and Tracey made it a very beautiful experience for me. It felt like home and i was very sorry to leave
The rooms were lovely, cosy and charming. They were very clean and smelt nice too. Clean sheets and towels which smelled nice too. I loved burying my head in the pillows at night.
Tracey and Mark were wonderful hosts, very welcoming and on hand with anything one may need including tour advice.
The full English breakfast was definitely the best i ever had. Always freshly and well made as well as very delicious.
Location was perfect. Close enough to everywhere (including the bus stop) and still quiet enough to be comfortable.
I would definitely recommend this place to anyone visiting, but more so i cant wait to come back myself.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MS_Ede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed for just two nights. The weather was rubbish, but the guest house was lovely and our hosts fantastic! The room was spotless! Would definitely recommend this guest house to anyone who is visiting Babbacombe.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hob67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stoke-on-trent
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

thanks for the lovely stay , stayed with my mum , fella and our little boy . the room was spotless , beds comfy , hotel situated very close to the cliff railway . full choice of whatever breakfast option you like at breakfast . hosts very welcoming and friendly . would stay again . parking free on streets nearby .

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rach1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

What a fantastic guest house, nothing was to much, an were very welcoming for familys, It was very clean, lovely rooms an lovely couple running it. Definetely stay there again. Breakfast was yummy. Not far from the seafront an all the local pubs.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Pinky6666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We have just come back from a weekend stay at the babbacombe palms, the owners Mark and Tracey made us very welcome from start to finish, the room we had was lovely very clean and modern complete with tea and coffe tray and even toiletries in the bathroom a lovely touch. Breakfast was fantastic especially Marks sausages, some of the best sausages we've had.
This hotel is in a great location for shops, pubs, restaurants and within easy walking distance to the beach. We highly recomend this wonderful hotel and will defiantly be returning very soon.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Babbacombe Guest House
Babbacombe Guest House
#55 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.2 mi away
Headland View
Headland View
#50 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aveland House
Aveland House
#71 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Babbacombe Royal Hotel
The Babbacombe Royal Hotel
#48 of 148 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.2 mi away
Seabreeze at Babbacombe
Seabreeze at Babbacombe
#45 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Downs, Babbacombe
The Downs, Babbacombe
#33 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Babbacombe Palms Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Babbacombe Palms Guest House

Property: Babbacombe Palms Guest House
Address: 2 York Road, Torquay TQ1 3SG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 148 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Babbacombe Palms Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at this small family run licensed guest house which has been acredited with a Visit Britain 4 star rating, and where comfort and cleanliness is assured. Quietly situated only 200 yards from the beautiful Babbacombe Downs and the magnificent views out over the spectacular coastline and beaches of Lyme Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Babbacombe Palms Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Babbacombe Palms Guest House Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing