We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What a great place to stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of St George cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Torquay, English Riviera, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Clifford...
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a great place to stay”
Reviewed 12 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Three 60 year olds visited Torquay for the first time.
We stayed at this wonderful cottage in up market Babbacombe. What a great area and St.George was a gem.
Every comfort of home and parking on the premises is a bonus.
The owner, Tess, is so obliging and willing to make sure everything is perfect.
Even left a welcome card.
Absolutely perfect.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Oct 2017
Always an absolute pleasure to host appreciative guests!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thebourne...
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Cottage & Best location”
Reviewed 24 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We have had a fantastic holiday! A beautiful Cottage with such a lovely feel to it, we relaxed immediately. Great location for long dog walks over the hills with amazing sea views for us and lots of dog pals for Monty too!! There is a little dog friendly beech on your door step where Monty had his first ever proper swim in the sea. Everyone we met was so friendly we really didn't want to come away - planning another trip soon!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Oct 2017
Yes, we have a lot of dogs for whom their trip to St George is the highlight of their year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
2 Jul 2017
Delighted the cottage was enjoyed. Our own family love to use it and it has become something of a hobby keeping it lovely as a peaceful retreat. Anybody aiming for a holiday in Babbacombe has to have parking.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“A delightful family stay at St-George”
Reviewed 1 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We spent a wonderful week with our 2 toddlers in this beautiful cottage. It is perfectly furnished and the decoration is tasty. The localisation is great as well : by the seaside and near many activities suitable for children (Kent Caverns, Steam train, natural walks along waterfalls, zoo, lovely cities all around...). The owner is absolutly nice : we didn't meet much (as we are by our own in the cottage) but she did everything to make us feel confortable and welcomed - our boys were even received with surprises, what a joy ! We will definitively try to come back - and walk the coastal path ! Tessa thank you so much for these nice holidays ! (Sorry for swiss english :-/)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 May 2017
You are welcome to return, Anne and family. Congratulations on your English too. Glad the cottage and the location gave you a lovely time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SueJHeref...
Hereford
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Perfect seaside stay”
Reviewed 15 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We spent a wonderful week at St George cottage with our two grandchildren aged 9 and 10. The cottage was described as awesome by 10 year old Jack. We have stayed in several self catering cottages and this was definitely the best.
Every detail was considered. There were supplies of milk, tea and coffee In the cottage. The sitting room was comfortable and warm in the chilly evenings, with a large flat screen TV and DVD player. Each of the two bedrooms had its own en suite bathroom. (This delighted the children.)
Our double room had a sea view and a beautiful bay window. The small garden at the front was a lovely space to sit and enjoy the early evening sun.
From the moment we arrived and discovered chocolates and bubble wands to the day we sadly had to leave, we felt welcome and very much at home. Tessa was very helpful when we could not get the TV channels, but it turned out to be an atmospheric problem.
We were able to park safely off the road and the downs really are about a one minute walk. We loved being able to walk to the beaches at Babbacombe and Oddicombe, but the climb back is seriously steep. (We took the cliff railway!)
There are so many attractions nearby, we did not need to drive far at all and there are plenty of restaurants within walking distance.
This cottage scores on every level; location , amenities and comfort and cleanliness.
I hope we can return one day.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Apr 2017
These were perfect guests, really appreciative and courteous in every way. The house was left spic and span and we would love to welcome them again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Perfect well equipped cottage”
Reviewed 15 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

This is our second stay at this super cottage.It is so comfortable and perfectly placed to enjoy all the area has to offer.
The owner is fabulous and goes that extra mile to ensure that everything is perfect .Can't wait for our next trip.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jan 2017
It's guests like Sharon who inspire me to continually make improvements.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave B
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great cottage, great place !!”
Reviewed 19 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

My mother and sister recently stayed in Babbacombe and I rented the St George's cottage, what a fantastic lovely place for my family to stay in, everything you could wish for, very clean with all amenities even a stair lift for my partially disabled mother which was a huge bonus, I must congratulate the owners on such a well presented cottage that has been modernised to a high standard ! If you want to stay in a beautiful place in a great cottage then this is a must to consider, thanks to the owners once more, my mother and sister will definitely return

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Nov 2016
When I hear this sort of review, it makes it all the more enjoyable and we love adding improvements each year.
Thanks for being lovely guests
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing