We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazingly wonderful tranquil friendly get away.”
Review of Merlewood House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Merlewood House
Ranked #111 of 148 Torquay B&B and Inns
Taunton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Amazingly wonderful tranquil friendly get away.”
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Thoroughly recommend. We went last year for our anniversary. Wendy is lovely and does amazing treatments. Still trying to get back down there. Rooms were all clean and fresh. Just nicely off the main streets but Wendy very kindly drive us to the seafront. 10/10

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheStrides702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
72
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

A lovely small B&B with only 3 rooms. We spent the weekend there with our family and were made to feel very welcome. Wendy the owner was a great hostess and makes a wonderful breakfast. The rooms are lovely and clean. The house is in a great location although on a very steep hill however only a short walk to the sea front and main shopping area. Wendy offers plenty of health and beauty treatments and we did the reflexology which was a nice experience. Thoroughly recommend this place!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissDUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2011

Set in the heart of Torquay amidst tranquil greenery. Perfect location to get to the evening ambience of the town or a short distance from a number of perfect Sunday strolls along the beach or rolling hillside.
Merlewood House really has it all. A beautiful house with sophisticated, chic decor, spacious clean ensuite rooms and a hostess providing not only a lovely breakfast but also a friendly, warm welcome throughout the stay. I felt truly comfortable and will certainly be returning. Worth every penny.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrienderZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Four Marks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2011

My husband & I stayed for four nights in this lovely B & B. The rooms are beautifully decorated and each unique. The bed was the cosiest bed I think we have ever slept in!

The location is brilliant, very short walk to the town (loads of restaurants) and beach.

Wendy, the B & B owner is fantastic lady.... made us feel so at home and comfortable. Nothing was too much trouble & she gave us great recommendations of places to go & eat, etc.

Our breakfasts each morning were delicious & Wendy offered a great selection (good stock of beans much to my husbands delight!!).

We had such a superb time that we have already booked our next stay in November with a couple of our friends. This time we are going to take advantage of the treatment room that Wendy has at the B & B and have a pamper session while we are there :)

Would definitely recommend this B & B to anyone.... you won't be disappointed.

Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Natasha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 May 2011

We had cause to find an 'out of office' location to conduct some development work and have a team meeting. Merlewood House provided everything we could have wanted, warm hospitality, great service, excellent rooms. The atmosphere really helped us relax and get some great work done. I'd recommend it to anyone wanting to get away for a couple of days for business or pleasure.

It's also perfectly placed for the 'coast walk', on which you get to see some stunning views across the bay, and walking around the cliff's in a circle, you naturally come back into the town just around the corner from Merlewood house. After eating, you are literally only a few minutes away from Merlewood House, making it easy to relax and then retire after a very pleasant walk - you really couldn't ask for a hotel in a better location.

Room Tip: All rooms are equally nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DRBovis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 May 2011

Superb boutique hotel, the hotel radiates relaxation! The rooms are beautifully decorated with comfortable beds, something many owners neglect! Nothing was too much trouble for the owner Wendy, who was simply charming!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claire8284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2011

We stayed three days with the very friendly hostess Wendy at Merlewood House during Easter 2011. It was 3 very good days, and we got a lot of very good advice regarding road trips and restaurants in the area from Wendy. The room we had was very nice and clean, and the the breakfast was one of the best we had during our stay in England this Easter!
We definitely recommend this B & B!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oj10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Hudson Hotel
Hudson Hotel
#63 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Barton
Hotel Barton
#42 of 88 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 88 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Peppers
Hotel Peppers
#21 of 88 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ashleigh House
Ashleigh House
#54 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.0 mi away
Haytor Hotel
Haytor Hotel
#7 of 88 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merlewood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merlewood House

Property: Merlewood House
Address: Merlewood House Meadfoot Road, Torquay TQ1 2JP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 148 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet Victorian Bed and Breakfast Guest House close to the Harbor and Meadfoot beach and easy walking distance to the town. Large en-suite rooms, spacious reception rooms and health therapies & treatments available in the fully equipped treatment room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Merlewood House Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing