We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great house, great location”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
5 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Torquay, English Riviera, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Teresatre...
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed 3 weeks ago for a stay in October 2017

This property was booked as a surprise celebration for my mum-in-laws 80th Birthday.
I spent a consideration amount of time researching properties suitable for the families needs,which consisted of 9 Adults and 2 toddlers.My father-in-law has dementia,and there was also 2 members of the family with a chronic illness.The property was advertised as suitable for the disabled,with a lift to each floor.
The property looked stunning and we knew the area well as we regularly stay at The Imperial Hotel Just across the road.
On arrival it was quite late and dark.The property was beautiful but unfortunately the cleanliness leaves a lot to be desired.
My son his wife and their little one chose their room to be greeted by an unclean toilet and leaking radiator.
We telephoned the management company early next morning who I will agree came quickly cleaned the bathroom and we were told it must of been an oversight!!!!!
A heating engineer was sent out but he explained it would need replacing as we did not want any further disruptions during our stay we agreed that it could be turned off.
The bedroom my husband and I stayed in was cold and damp which was due to works which had been carried out on the balcony.There were many other minor issues,but life is not perfect and we are aware that sometimes things go wrong.
However when the lift started dropping approximately 2ft on descent we were most concerned.
Once again we called the management company and waited for the lift engineer.He told us he needed to access the control room but did not have a key to do so.He recommended that the lift would need to come out due to it being a hydraulic system,he also commented on the missing safety strip which was missing and was a hazard.Unfortunately he was unable to make the lift drop.
From ground floor lobby to living area negotiation of 8 flights of stairs
Which had a massive impact on our holiday.
On arriving home I contacted the booking agent and the owner himself,who felt that we did not warrant any level of monies to be returned.The lift was clearly dangerous for anyone entering or leaving.
The lift had a history of faults deemed by the owner himself the previous year but apparently was all good as new ,this was clearly not the case.
A 2ft drop in any lift I would expect that most likeminded people would agree is a hazard

We are not expecting a full refund however, I think it reasonable to expect a gesture of goodwill
in regards to the considerate difficulties that we faced through the lack of a fully functioning lift.

Regarding the fact we had spent the week there it would have been very difficult to leave the property at such short notice with elderly parents and the other members of the party with difficulties to find any type of alternative accommodation.
I therefore would be cautious when booking this property.
We paid over £1600 and I consider the owner has certainly not, and does not intend to take any responsibility for the failings of this accommodation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emh1983
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great house, great location”
Reviewed 19 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We were so lucky to have found this gem of a property, with 2 members of our party having restricted mobility we struggle to find suitable holidays.
The children loved the cinema room and we could all fit in for watching films and playing pool and table football.
The lounge on the top floor with the balcony is amazing, you can sit and look at the views all day!
The garden is stunning with even higher views but not suitable for little ones.
The location is brill, walking distance to the seafront restaurants and shops.
There were imperfections and I won't be picky but it is important to know for those who cannot walk that there is a step into the house and my mom had to get in through the garage as the step from the garage into the house was smaller and easier than the front door.
There is also a little step to the lift on the ground floor so we had to make a little ramp.

For some reason there were flies gathering on the ground floor glass bricks but no idea where they were coming from.

It is a big house and with 6 hours to clean it in between guests it will not be perfect, all the important areas were clean, under the beds and sofas were dusty.

We had a great week here!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsey H
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect for special celebrations”
Reviewed 30 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
5
people found this review helpful

Celebrated my husband's 60th birthday at Park Hill House as a group of 11 friends- perfect place ! This architect designed house offers superb stylish accommodation with a stunning garden view of Torbay.

The quality of fittings and furniture is high spec throughout. The beautiful oak flooring throughout the five floors is complemented by decor and lighting which creates a relaxing, airy ambiance. Bedrooms and ensuites are all well designed with an individual controlled underfloor heating system.

The house provides wonderful communal spaces for eating and relaxing- the 'penthouse' suite with panoramic views;the glass garden room with sofas and dining area;the cinema/ games room with leather recliners and the open plan kitchen-diner.

The kitchen facilities are excellent if you chose to eat in. The coffee machine was particularly popular! Added bonus of a barbecue for al fresco eating .

The house provided a wonderful back drop for our celebrations . It is well located being just a 10 minute stroll down the hill to the harbour .I would highly recommend Park Hill House to family and friends for a special break in this beautiful coastal area of Torbay .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
5
people found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Malcolm H
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A little bit Special!”
Reviewed 22 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
5
people found this review helpful

"A little bit Special"

This property has a quiet 'lived in' ambience and is in an excellent location - approx 10 mins. walk to the harbour. The rooms are spacious and 'dressed' with Art and decorative items. Furnishings are modern verging on elegant and the kitchen is well equipped. As a base for a 'three generation' family group, such as ours, it should be 'ideal'. We shared some great family-time here!

We highly recommend it and have awarded a 'top score' but there are several aspects which the Owner/Agency - and potential guests - need to consider.

The house, internally, is comfortable and welcoming but previous guests had queried the reliability of the lift (problem quickly solved) - so we were disinclined to use it. If stairs are a problem to anyone in your party - check this aspect with the Owner/Agency.

If your holiday is a 'wet one' and/or you do not wish to make use of the garden, the house remains 'excellent value for money' and a very pleasant place to 'chill'.

The garden is interesting, with 'warm climate' planting and small sculptures. It looks well from the house and even better when using it - with 'al fresco' dining areas and a gazebo seat from which to enjoy the views. During our stay it had a 'dishevelled' sort of beauty as it was in need of some mid-season pruning, weeding and watering but on our last day the gardener arrived - together with some rain! At its best earlier in the year.

Whilst we know that bird droppings are a continuum in all gardens we did not feel that, on arrival, it should have been necessary to clean the furnishings ourselves. The dried accretion of bird droppings on the garden furniture - including stacked metal chairs on the terrace - and the general untidiness of the decking area is, perhaps, an indication of poor cleaning management.

There were several other 'little niggles' - there is no tumble-dryer or anywhere to hang wet clothes, a paucity of towelling in the kitchen (and WC) and the strange lack of a toilet roll holder in the main bathroom which, for the less agile, necessitates a degree of 'forward-planning'. As these caused more mirth than sorrow we'll not mention them.

We hope that the Agency handling this property reads and responds to this review as it would take very little time, money and maintenance oversight to fully deserve our award of "Excellent".

Park Hill House is a very attractive holiday proposition.

MH

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2016
Thank you for staying at Park Hill House and for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor.

We pass all feedback back to our property owners so that we can ensure that we’re providing our customers with the best holiday experience. In this instance, the owner has addressed a number of the focus areas raised:

‘We have only started renting our house out since the beginning of the year and are keen to take on board all comments and criticisms and where we can, to address them and put them right, in the hope of very soon having the “perfect” holiday home.
Regarding your concerns, immediately upon seeing your review we have
1. Added additional cleaning hours on changeover days to specifically clean the outside areas including the deck, balconies, barbeque area, and all furnishings. We currently have professional cleaners from 10am to 3pm, two cleaners x 5 hours so 10 hours cleaning, we have put back our access time to 4pm and added an additional two hours cleaning to devote more time to the outside areas.
2. made arrangements for a tumble dryer to be put in the laundry/utility room, and bought a new clothes horse,
3. bought extra towels for the kitchen and all seven bathrooms,
4. ordered freestanding toilet roll holders for those bathrooms that require them, and
5. are trying to engage a second gardener to do extra weeding and garden maintenance (our present gardeners cannot increase their hours from their current two hours a week).
We are also aware of the lift problem and have in fact in the last few months changed our lift maintenance company, and paid for a full survey to be undertaken which has been completed and all necessary upgrades done, so the mention of the problem by previous guests in the guest book is now historic, and the lift should now be “as new”.
Thank you again for your feedback which is greatly appreciated.’

Once again, we’d like to thank you for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back with Blue Chip Holidays again soon.

Best Wishes, Blue Chip Holidays
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;