We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sandy Cheesman”
Review of Court Prior

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Court Prior
Ranked #63 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 September 2013

I have just had the most wonderful holiday. I stayed at Court Prior and i cannot rate it highly enough. Pauline and Anthony are superb,nothing too much trouble for them and food delicious. I will definitely be going back to Torquay and Court Prior.
With fond memories and thank you so much.xx

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Sandy_Cheesman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (92)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

Denise and I have just had a lovely and relaxing stay at court prior. Very clean,nice and peacefull and very friendly helpfull owners. Breakfasts cooked and presented perfectly. We will definitely stay again

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Djanddc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

I stayed recently for a short holiday and would thoroughly recommend the Court Prior.
The proprietors, Pauline and Anthony, were very welcoming and friendly and my room was comfortable and clean.
An excellent choice of breakfast is offered - everything from a delicious fresh fruit salad for the health conscious to a hearty 'full English'.
The hotel is just a short walk from Torquay sea front and yet situated on a quiet road, so you can either head off to the many local attractions or spend some downtime relaxing in the lovely garden.
As a first time visitor to Torquay I was impressed with the range of places to eat out - ranging from fish & chips to gourmet quality restaurants. It is also a great base to explore the many places of interest in the locality, both inland and along the coast, with plenty of boat trips available for those with sea legs!
Will definitely visit again.

Room Tip: Front facing rooms have a good view of Tor Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Really enjoyed our stay here, the location and views were something to behold. Rooms comfy & clean, service attentive and breakfast cooked just how you want it - great. Never been to the 'English Riviera' before and decided to come on a stopover to a wedding, will come back and explore more from Court Prior, thats says it all. Thanks

Room Tip: All rooms seem to have great garden views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Richard p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Me and my partner had a long weekend in this hotel and had a lovely stay. We were welcomed by the owner Anthony who was friendly and showed us to our room. Although the new owners had only been there a week they seem to be getting on very well and had some good ideas for the future of the hotel. Our room was small but clean and had everything we needed. The breakfast was between 8 and 9 and there was a good selection of fruit juice, cereal, fresh fruit and full cooked breakfast, Anthony was on hand if you needed anything.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Shelley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

We have just had 5 days at the Court Prior Hotel. And we, too, were surprised to find that it had changed hands, since we booked just a few weeks ago. However, unlike the other guests who have reviewed it, we were very happy with our stay. The new owners couldn't do enough for us and were very friendly. It does state in the welcome pack that breakfast is served between 8 and 9am. I took a photo to prove it. We were seated at the next table to people who arrived in the dining room at 9.20 and were told they were too late. However, the proprietor was very polite and apologetic to them, so either this was a different couple, or a different version of events.
The rooms are not tiny, even though the one I had was a single. There was plenty of room. Ok, the shower was a bit small, but then, being on the larger side, myself, I do sometimes find this! The new owners have lots of plans and have literally only taken over in the last few days. I think, once they have had time to establish themselves, they will make an excellent job of running the Court Prior.
We certainly intend to visit again. Thank you for making our stay such a pleasant one!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Louise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We booked this B&B purely off of the good reviews from previous holidaymakers. However, upon arrival, we discovered that the owners had changed within the last week, and my word, I wonder whether this is the business for them!

After being hurriedly directed to our TINY room, we discovered that the room had not been prepared properly. For example, there was still DIRTY UNDERWEAR in the drawers from the last visitors. There was also a hair pin left on top of the spoons of our tea and coffee making facilities. FAR FROM HYGENIC! I dare not to think if the linen had actually been cleaned, as the owners had clearly neglected to check the room competently.

The shower didn't work properly, and the lock on the bathroom door didn't work, so the door had to be closed to. The room is so small that there isn't enough space for a slim person to have a comfortable wash.

Most shocking was our treatment. The female owner is one of the rudest 'hosts' I have ever encountered. She rolled her eyes and pulled faces during our encounters with her. On the second morning, we were refused breakfast, and were told "breakfast is between 8 and 9 only" like naughty school children. When we explained that we were told otherwise, she argued with us and called me a liar in front of other guests in the dining room, which was very frustrating. As we left the B&B afterwards, we caught her giving us a filthy look as she was clearly badmouthing us to one of her staff. Bizarrely enough, when we returned to the room later that evening, our welcome pack had been removed. Perhaps after she realised that it stated that breakfast was served until 10 inside?

Either way, we felt so unwelcome that we didn't bother with breakfast for the rest of our stay, and tried to avoid our so called host for the rest of the stay.

The male owner was a nice man, but the standards of Court Prior are far from acceptable.

This B&B is definitely not worthy of a 4 star rating, and will definitely drop in the not too distant future.

The location is also at the top of a very steep hill, which is not stated in the description, so if you have any disabilities or walking problems, then it's definitely not an easy walk for you.

Book at your peril. Not worth the money! Stay in a 2 star nearer to the beach and you'll definitely have a better stay!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank steveparks11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APN1, Owner at Court Prior, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Sadly, a ridiculous and fabricated review. On arrival you were informed that breakfast is served between 8-9am and this is also stated in our Guest Information packs. You came down for breakfast at 9.25am and although we had finished serving cooked breakfasts you were offered our usual poached fruits, fresh fruit-salad, yogurt, cereals, together with toast & preserves. We never argue with guests or call them liars. And no dirty underwear etc. was found in your room.

NB. Please see adjacent guests’ reviews which are far more representative.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.5 mi away
Avenue Park
Avenue Park
#1 of 36 in Torquay
380 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,072 reviews
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Torquay
Travelodge Torquay
#30 of 85 in Torquay
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Iona Torquay
The Iona Torquay
#57 of 149 in Torquay
284 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#31 of 85 in Torquay
2,495 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Belmont
The Belmont
#27 of 85 in Torquay
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Court Prior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Court Prior

Address: St. Lukes Road South, Torquay TQ2 5NZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: £93 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Court Prior 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Court Prior Boutique B&B and Apartment, situated in a quiet yet central location in Torquay. This beautiful Victorian villa is set in its own pleasant gardens and still retains many original features. The mild climate of Torquay and the local area suits the visitor all year round. We are within walking distance of many of the local attractions such as; Living Coasts, Torre Abbey, Riviera Centre, the beach, Torquay town centre and harbour. And just 7 minutes stroll to local cafés & restaurants. Alternatively, a local bus service operates daily to the town centre harbour and Paignton. All our bedrooms are furnished to a high standard with modern en-suite facilities and comprise; quality tea & coffee making facilities, complimentary mineral water, flat-screen LCD television with Freeview, WiFi internet, hair dryers, personal safe and individual controls on CH radiators. We have a Master Suite (with romantic and luxurious Four-Poster king bed), Deluxe King, Classic King and Deluxe Single rooms available over the ground and first floors. And brand new for 2017 is our DOG FRIENDLY, cottage-style, self-catering Garden Apartment with large private patio (sleeps 2). Our delicious breakfasts (served between 8.30am - 9.30am) are cooked to order and include: freshly made fruit salad, poached fruits, yoghurts & cereals, as well as choice of either traditional full English breakfast, omelette with a selection of fillings, or daily special such as smoked salmon & scrambled eggs on English muffin. Our produce is sourced locally, free-range, organic and fair trade where possible. We have a large, level car park for guests convenience, as well as a pleasant garden/terraces and lounge for your enjoyment. We are open most times of the year and provide guests with quality accommodation in a relaxed and comfortable environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Court Prior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Court Prior Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing