We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It is not the place for vegetarians!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Orange Tree Restaurant

The Orange Tree Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 332 Restaurants in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$19 - US$60
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Fine dining restaurant within easy walking distance of Torquay harbour, offering modern British-European cuisine using fresh local produce. A single seating policy allows you to relax and enjoy your evening without feeling rushed.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
62 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“It is not the place for vegetarians!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We had gone for a holiday to Torquay. As per Tripadvisor great rating for European food , we had made a point to visit this place and enjoy the great food. We called them in the morning to book a table for dinner and they informed that they are totally booked! We thought we are going to miss! Later they called us to inform due to some cancelation we can come. We were very excited!!!. Is THE Place in terms quality of food. Will grade A++. The atmosphere was nice. There breads are superb. On seeing the menu we realized they have hardly have any vegetarian food. As we came we thought lets order what they have. One soup and one main dish repeated twice among 4 of us. I would not recommend for vegetarians as hardly they can eat! But worth a visit for non vegetarians.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nalindeepa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

918 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    799
    83
    30
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wedding Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We have been to this Restaurant on many occasions over the last few years. The food has always been exceptional and the friendliness of the Owners and their staff is wonderful. We celebrated our recent wedding there with 10 of our friends and the Orange Tree couldn't have made it more special for us. It was a gorgeous evening and all our friends can't wait to go back. Thank you to all the team at the Orange Tree.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Verena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leyland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We had a really lovely meal here in June. You need to book though - several people were turned away whilst we were there.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank jtas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Great food, great service. Both courses were spot on and te portions not too big. One of the best places to go in the bay

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ashley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Yet again another great meal at the Orange Tree. If I was being super critical I would have preferred nicer potato option rather than mash or new potato. Fab steak, great service what more would anyone want. This restaurant is always my number one choice in Torquay.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lindsey E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Orange Tree Restaurant also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to The Orange Tree Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing