We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another excellent stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Totnes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gitcombe House Country Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Another excellent stay”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We stayed here 6 years ago and it was a pleasure to come back with our two young children. Highly recommended for young families. The children loved the swimming pools and the beaches. We loved the Oyster Shack restaurant and the Blackpool Sands restaurant!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    17
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
137
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beverwijk, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We stayed here with a family of four for a week. From the moment we arrived, we felt at home. Beautifully located in a green Devon valley, the old renovated quarry gave us the feeling to be in an other world, of peace and quiet. It breathes a very relaxing atmosphere, exactly what we hoped for, since we're not so keen on subtropic waterworlds and mass entertainment. The clean accommodation was more than above standard and very cosy. All the stuff you would hope for in a self catering cottage was there. Our two boys enjoyed the swimming pool and playground and the site itself as a starting point for nice walks in the surrounding countryside. There's plenty of things to do within one hours drive, Dartmoor is a great place, as is the city of Dartmouth. Enjoy a riverside drink at the Waterman's arms in Tuckenhay!
Conclusion: Gitcombe is a wonderful peaceful place I would recommend to anyone who loves to be self supporting in a quiet natural environment. And last but not least, you'll find yourselves at home straight away thanks to the wonderful owners and administrator. Hope to back some time!
Ten Broecke family, Beverwijk, the Netherlands

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Have had a wonderful calm and peaceful week with my family staying in this beautiful valley. An ideal place to come to with or without children. Lots to occupy you in the grounds with swimming, tennis court and attractive playground and swings for children, or beautiful walks through idyllic countryside to welcoming rural pubs. The cottage itself is well above average in comfort, design and exceptionally well equipped. Sad to leave as could happily have emigrated to Gitcombe!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We have just returned to London with heavy hearts after leaving the beautiful Gitcombe House. In seven years of traveling with small children and grandparents alike, nowhere has been as effortless, enjoyable or relaxing as Gitcombe. Ever aspect, from your arrival, to activities available or the ability to really switch off and tune into rural life, right through to departure have been tried and tested, and the whole experience is smooth, stylish and worthwhile. Gitcombe is so peaceful and secluded we would even consider coming back without children for a romantic break. The outdoor hot rub overlooking valleys and fields of Devon and the two lovely pools are highlights, as is one of the best wooden playgrounds in the UK (small but creative). The swings and subtle sculpture in the gardens are lovely additions and the tennis court kept our budding Murray very happy. We hope to return, always the best sign of a fantastic holiday.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank totters2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Just got back from Gitcombe, a very relaxing place to have walks, splash about in the indoor & outdoor pool (except for the flies, hint : take insect repellent cream to enjoy the outdoor pool) , hot tub, sauna... which of course were very clean.

Our 3 kids (8yrs,4yrs, 10mths) loved it as well... look out for the games in the cottage drawers! There was something appropriate for the age range. Great tennis court for practicing my swings, children loved the play area while we played pool. The older kids enjoyed the outdoor pirate ship and swings.

Went only to Blackpool beach as we wanted to relax and spend lazy quality time with the kids. Beach was ok, just too coarse for playing and sand pit!

I agree with pollyd2011 as to the welcome pack, I'm a very organised person but managed to forget toothpaste and sugar this time!!! I would suggest either a small tote shop or access to a small pack if needed. The double outdoor swing needs a bit of TLC apart from these, can't remember complaining.

A def. recommendation. Enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pugipugi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2013

This was our 7th time visiting Gitcombe, once again it was a fabulous experience. The facilities here are totally fantastic, indoor & outdoor pools hot-tub etc etc.....

Plenty to do whatever the weather, we are already planning our return next year

Thank you Mike, Yve & Lynne for making it (and keeping it!) so special

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank laurie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We've just returned from a wonderful week staying at The Coach House at Gitcombe. On arrival the cottage was spotlessly clean and everything was in good working order. The cottage has a private driveway and patio which the babies (twin 16 month old boys) just loved. Cows could be seen in the field opposite and the sheep were in a field just off to the right so they were very happy. The facilities at Gitcombe are perfect for a young family planning a UK holiday. The indoor pool and soft play meant that even when the weather was drizzly and a bit miserable the children were still well entertained. The wooden playground was a little too big for them but looked great. Its the perfect location for lots of great days out; Pennywell farm, Batham Beach, riverford kitchen and lovely walks.

The only slightly negative thing I can say is about the water system - it is loud. As a previous reviewer has also said, we just implemented a no flush rule after the kids had gone to sleep. This really is a small point though and I wouldn't be put off by it.

This is definitely a baby friendly bolthole. The only improvements I could suggest are things that I have seen in other family friendly cottages - more toys and books in the actual cottage would be great. A few personal/thoughtful touches such as shower robes, cotton wool, welcome hamper etc. It would also be really helpful to have some staples in the kitchen - things like Olive Oil, coffee, tea etc. It doesn't need to be extravagant but I think it would really make this wonderful venue amazing.

All that said, they are just suggestions and even without them we'd still happily return and hope to do so

Room Tip: Coach House was perfect for us - main bedroom and 2 cots in the second bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pollyd2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Totnes
1.2 mi away
Best Western The Dartmouth Hotel Golf & Spa
20.2 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
7.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 87 in Torquay
2,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
11.0 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
10.6 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gitcombe House Country Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gitcombe House Country Cottages

Property: Gitcombe House Country Cottages
Address: Cornworthy, Totnes TQ9 7HH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Totnes
Amenities:
Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Totnes
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great, weatherproof, English holiday, in the country by the sea! Exclusive, luxury, self-catering holiday cottages and leisure spa, with heated indoor and outdoor swimming pools, indoor and outdoor play areas, hot tub, sauna and steam rooms, tennis court and cosy log fires. A haven of boutique, luxury accommodation and tranquility in a traditional English country setting. Eight, stylish, self catering holiday cottages Enough guests to make friends and still enjoy peace and privacy. Clustered in a private, West Country Devon valley, midway between Dartmouth and Totnes, close to Salcombe. Baby, child and family friendly cottages. Perfect too for couples seeking that special away-from-it-all boutique bolthole. Chic Devon holiday cottages with sleek kitchens, elegant soft furnishings, luxury bathrooms, log fires, private patios, warm and comfortable in all seasons. English pared down styling , with a contemporary, scandi touch. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gitcombe House Country Cottages Hotel Totnes
Gitcombe House Country Cottages Totnes, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing