We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gitcombe House Country Cottages
Nearby Hotels
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$174
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$99
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$145
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Palace(Paignton)
US$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Berry Hotel(Paignton)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marine Hotel(Paignton)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (182)
Filter reviews
182 results
Traveller rating
160
17
4
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
160
17
4
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssoft play areahot tubindoor poolblackpool sandsstayed in the coach housesteam roomtravel cotgreat facilitiesfantastic holidaybody boardsperfect familysurrounding area ishalf term breaktwo young childrenthe main housesea tractora wonderful short break
Filter
Updating list...
174 - 179 of 182 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2010

We celebrated our 40th wedding anniversary by taking the family - two sons, wives and three grandchildren to Gitcombe House Country Cottages during half-term week. We were not disappointed: we found the two cottages that we booked - Maristow & Yennadon Barn very well
equipped, clean, modern and nicely decorated. The location is ideal for exploring the area and the scenery is stunning.

The facilities are excellent - the grandchildren had fun in the indoor and outdoor swimming pools - which are comfortably warm; we all enjoyed using the tennis court. It was great having so many thoughtful items on site that made the stay so pleasurable - from the American fridges with ice-makers to fishing lines for crabbing at local Dittisham. There are some good eating places nearby - try the Anchorstone Cafe in Dittisham for great seafood - it was reviewed recently in the Saturday TImes.

You will get a warm welcome from the owners and the staff of Gitcombe House Country Cottages who are friendly and helpful. A great location for a family holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RichardGW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2010

I went with some trepidation to the Hayloft at Gitcombe this Easter, after reading some of the reviews on this site. Imagine my surprise when we arrived, slightly worn out from a long drive from London with a tired 18-month old, at an idyllic piece of Devon countryside. My partner and son immediately went off exploring the grounds while I walked up the steps to our accommodation. I discovered a little piece of heaven - a beautifully decorated interior, light, spacious, airy with all mod cons and a better equipped kitchen than my own. As for the noise - we didn't hear any loud revving engines early in the morning, just the dawn chorus. Would I go again - YES. Please don't be put off by any other reviews. We found the owners to be perfectly pleasant and the place was incredibly child-friendly and perfectly situated to explore the South Hams.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2009

Gitcombe is a lovely place but staying in the Hayloft was a really disappointing experience. The noise from the owners vehicles underneath, their cars, motorbikes and quad bikes disturbed us at night and in the early morning. They seemed to have no awareness that they should offer us some consideration. Staying at Gitcombe is certainly not cheap and I thought we were paying, in part, for peace and quiet. Not only that, every morning we woke to dead flies everywhere. When I brought this to the attention of one of the owners, she replied 'no-one else has complained of that'. So I guess we were in the wrong.

I also noticed an offer where if we booked a second holiday with them in the same year then we would be entitled to a discount on the second holiday. Well this was my second stay at Gitcombe, yet no-one mentioned this when I booked, even though they were aware that we were returning 'guests'!

I never received an apology from Gitcombe for the noise and the flies. Shame on you Mr and Mrs Cast!

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Lulu44Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gitcombe2, Owner at Gitcombe House Country Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

As the new owners of Gitcombe House Country Cottages - we took over October 2013 - we wish to reassure TripAdvisor readers that we are completely mindful of our customers having chosen to holiday with us and take every reasonable consideration to facilitate a relaxing, peaceful and enjoyable stay.

We give our personal assurance that there will be no repetition of noise migration from vehicles parked underneath the Hayloft and have now dedicated one of these parking spaces for the sole use of Hayloft guests.

We greatly value our customers and endeavour to deal with comments and feedback in a respectful and constructive manner. More recent TripAdvisor reports reflect our personal philosophy to welcoming guests to Gitcombe. Please do try the Hayloft, it is a very chic bolthole! Peter O Brien and Joanne Doherty, Owners.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2009

We stayed in the coach house which is next to the main house. I was very quiet which is just what we wanted. The pool is very nice and the steam room and sauna are great. It is perfectly geared up for kids, but also nice for adults with good taste. The location is excellent - right between Dartmouth and Totnes, so there is loads to do.

Would like to go back!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jakeyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2009

We had a lovely 7 day stay at Yennadon, one of the two bedroom cottages that sleeps 4. The cottage was very comfortable and beautifully decorated and furnished. The facilities were great and hardly used by the other guests, they include an outdoor adventure playground suitable for toddlers up to early teens, heated outdoor and indoor pools, hot tub and tennis court. Our 4 and 7 year old had a lovely time exploring. The winding country lanes are a little hard to drive through when you aren't used to them, but for us that all added to the fun. This part of Devon is truly beautiful and there was lots to do in and around the South Hams.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rodandalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews