We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Sharpham afternoon!”

Sharpham Wine and Cheese
Ranked #5 of 37 things to do in Totnes
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Classic English wines are produced at Sharpham vineyard as a result of a happy marriage of soil, climate and grape variety known as terroir, and nature has bestowed her gifts freely upon us here at Sharpham. In the winery, we employ both New World and traditional techniques to best develop our unique regional characteristics. Our tally of International Awards confirms our position as one of England's foremost quality wine producers. We invite you to visit, sample, and make up your own minds about our fine English wine.
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Sharpham afternoon!”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We visited Sharpham Vineyard not knowing quite what to expect as the leaflet from our holiday cottage was quite out-dated. On arrival we were presented with the most amazing views of the river Dart and surrounding estate. We were welcomed by friendly staff who showed a real passion for the Sharpham name. A delicious Fish platter lunch was served by a smiling and attentive team before we headed out on a beautiful walk through the vineyard and along the river. After our walk we enjoyed a cheese and wine tasting, sampling many of the wines and cheeses produced on the Sharpham estate.
Quality was second to none throughout and I cannot fault the helpfulness and passion of the Sharpham team during our visit. The highlight of our stay in Dartmoor - we left with 6 bottles of superb wine and will certainly be returning.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Curly_1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    59
    23
    14
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Hen Celebrations”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Recently visited the estate as part of my hen celebrations whereby 9 of us took part in the Vine to Wine Tour. As promised, a fully guided tour of the vineyard and winery which was really relaxed and interesting. The wine and cheese tasting was fantastic, we were all so impressed with the very generous portions of both wine and cheese. This is a lovely place to visit and take in some breath taking views and also a perfect place to celebrate a special occasion. The tour guide made me feel very special as a 'Hen', cracking open a bottle of Sharpham Pink champers as a toast before the tour and tasting commenced. Really disagree with reviews on here claiming that Sharpham is overpriced and not as friendly. Much work goes into producing fine wines and cheeses in unpredictable British weather! Staff couldn't have been more friendly. I had a really memorable and fantastic hen party. Thanks everyone.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Liz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect day”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

An entirely perfect day - a privileged private view of the wonderful Ruszkowski paintings at the Hall then a glorious walk, wine tasting, lunch and then another walk. I guess its not cheap but not so expensive either - the cost of keeping this running must be very high. The wine is good and yes you do have to pay for decent English wine, the cheese is fine indeed, the bistro food was excellent, staff super friendly and the location idyllic - I could do that walk over and over, and almost no-one there to break the idea that it might all be your own

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Views”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

English wines are possibly just a bit too pricey for their own good, but have you been to Napa Valley lately. When not raining the views over the valleys are just wonderful, all the staff of very friendly and knowledgeable. The Rose we had at lunch was so good we took a bottle or two away with us and considering the size of the Kitchen the lunch we had was great. It is worth a trip.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Petmoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Sharpham Experience”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

A very enjoyable and informative day. Shown around by Elke who was very pleasant and helpful and like everyone else who worked there, full of enthusiasm for the business. First rate wine and food and extremely good value for money. We will be back!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank SBSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sharpham Wine and Cheese also viewed

 

Been to Sharpham Wine and Cheese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing