We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food and Ale”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
King William IV Hotel
Ranked #9 of 28 Totnes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We're local and had heard good things about the food and were not disappointed.
We ate from the tapas menu, the food was really very good, superb service and the new decor was very nice. The choice of beer and wine was excellent especially the real ale, but the biggest surprise was the bill, so very reasonable. We will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chai31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 151 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2014

Tried the recently refurbished pub, but more than a pub, last week for a meal. The decor is contemporary and tasteful, the service excellent and the food good. A small menu, but this means what you get is fresh. The prices are very reasonable, so well worth a try.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Stopped by for a drink and booked a table for dinner after SInead's smooth talking sales pitch! Ate from the tapas style menu and it was Wonderful food! Also tried some cocktails! Service was attentive but not over powering - really hope this venture is successful as it adds another layer to eating out in Totnes. We are not local and visit from kent every six months or so. Please try it !

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Juliette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Where to start?? What an absolutely wonderful foody pub. We were on a day out in Totnes, and wasnt really impressed by the cost of most of the meals at other establishments, so popped into the William. we were very warmly welcomed by a young chap behind the bar, he explained that they had been open 3weeks and 1day. The decor was light and made the room look spacous, the furnishings were comfortable and clean. We looked at the menu and decided to have the meat platter and the cheese platter, both of which i would higly recommend! the waitress/manager was so lovely, chatty, efficient, very very good! the homemade hummus and aoili theat we requested were to die for and went so well with the platters!! My only regret was not having more to eat! I'll definitely be back!!

Sadly the rooms werent ready else we wouldve stayed!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steffdoubleff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Called in for a drink last week when on holiday. Had'nt been in for a couple of years as the place had become very "tired".
What a suprise ! Complete redecoration ,new furniture and fittings .
Shame we had just eaten , as the food delivered to the table next to us looked amazing.
Lovely greeting fom the new landlady and landlord .
We will definately return on our next trip down in May.
Keep it going !

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We have only lived in Devon 12 months and visit Totnes regularly for shopping etc and normally end up at the Seven Stars for lunch. ( often with our frequent visitors )
Last week we decided to look in the recently refurbished King William, well, the welcome was fantastic, we were sorted for drinks quickly and invited to look at the new menu, which was interesting and a bit different from the norm.
We were only eating light that day, and had a sharing platter of Garlic Bread topped with Chilli & Cheese / Brie & Bacon / Tuna Cheese - superb quality, loads for 2 and only £5,95.
saw other food coming out which also looked great.
I can only thank the nice couple who hosted us - they even gave us a menu to bring away for the future.
I cannot give enough praise for the hosts, the atmosphere and the food and drinks - good luck to for the future we are going back tonight

Customers from Galmpton

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 8bzodiac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

i was walking a long the high st and i spotted the king william 1v,so i popped in for a drink,the beer was good and so was the service the staff were friendly and so were the locals,the owner was talking to some people who were staying there they were laughing so it must be a nice place to stay when visiting totnes,well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jamesthewedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Totnes
0.1 mi away
Royal Seven Stars Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Old Forge at Totnes
2.3 mi away
The Durant Arms
The Durant Arms
#1 of 1 in Ashprington
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Steam Packet Inn
The Steam Packet Inn
#5 of 28 in Totnes
249 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Cott Inn
The Cott Inn
#2 of 6 in Dartington
322 reviews
1.5 mi away
Dartington Hall Hotel
Dartington Hall Hotel
#1 of 6 in Dartington
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King William IV Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King William IV Hotel

Address: 45 Fore Street, Totnes TQ9 5HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Totnes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Totnes
Price Range: £76 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — King William IV Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Town centre pub. All rooms en suite.WIFI. Excellent menu, Daily specials. Menu available lunchtimes and evenings. Sunday 12 noon -8 pm. Friday and Saturday and holidays we offer Sandwiches, cakes and light snacks in the afternoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your King William IV Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King William IV Hotel Totnes, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing