We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent family holiday”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Totnes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pitt Farm Holiday Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed in Kineton cottage with our two sons, their partners and our seven year old grandson. Pete was a welcoming host and it was apparent that he was very keen that all his guests enjoyed their stay. Despite a family crisis nothing was too much trouble for him. The cottage was spacious and very well equipped and we all enjoyed the facilities on the farm. The pool and the games room were on either side of the cottage, very convenient! The tennis court was well maintained and the children's play area, particularly the trampoline, was very popular with our grandson (and son and partner!). Our grandson enjoyed helping Pete to feed the animals and Pete was very inclusive in the activity, allowing him to pour drinking water into the pigs trough and handle the younger chickens. The shop on the site was well stocked and in addition to locally produced sausages etc there were some delicious speciality local cheeses. We particularly enjoyed having fresh croissants in the morning. The location of the cottages is excellent. Highly recommend nearby Bantham Beach, very large and sandy, and good for body boarding as well as being safe for swimming. The location of the cottages is also convenient for Dartmouth Kingsbridge, Totnes and Salcombe. Had lovely meals at the Fortescue Arms in East Allington and Seven Stars in Dartmouth. The model village at Babbicombe (Torquay) was an excellent day out, as was nearby Woodlands and crab fishing in Dartmouth yielded buckets of crabs! Thanks to Pete for his hospitality - the cream tea and wine were very much appreciated. All in all a lovely holiday in a beautiful location.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RayandJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (220)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 220 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2013

Just back from a week away at Pitt Farm with the whole family, and we had a brilliant time. Pete and Sue are a smashing couple and wonderful hosts, and made sure our stay was perfect. They gave us info on lots of sightseeing, including taking in the British Firework Championships that were being staged at Plymouth, an awesome and spectacular night!

We stayed in Martingale which was perfect for us being a party of 10. The indoor pool was a total hit, as were the tennis courts and the games room. We were lucky with the weather, although even if it had been miserable, there is plenty to occupy!!
The accomodation has bedrooms lower level, and upper, with a spacious sitting room, kitchen and large dining room on ground level. Dishwasher (very handy!) in the kitchen with washing machine, tumble dryer and additional fridge down on the lower level, which were all used. It looked like each

Top shopping tip: Order food on line before you go. We ordered a food delivery on line before we arrived, to be delivered there on our first day. It arrived slightly ahead of our slot, but Pete and Sue helped take our shopping in, and even made the driver a cup of tea! It saved all the hassle of filling the car up with food to take with us.

We loved seeing the animals, and were lucky enough to grab a cuddle with the baby chicks!!

The food in the Fortescue Arms in recommended, although there are some really lovely pub/restaurants out and about. Exploring the lanes, and the oncoming tractors is an eye opener!!

Totally recommended, I'd forgotten how wonderful and special Devon is, and Pitt Farm is a perfect place to be based for exploring and Pete and Sue are such lovely people.

We certainly hope to return

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbydoodaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We had a great week here in August - Pete and Sue were great hosts and the kids loved everything about the place. The tennis court, pool and games room were a hit but a favourite was feeding time with Pete at the farm, Harry, Lulu, and the goats especially. The Cottage had great facilities and we wanted for nothing. The on site honesty shop is also very handy.
Bigbury beach is not far away and was wonderful. Also recommend the Fortescue Ams.

Room Tip: We stayed in Kineton and it's really spacious for 8 people
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hillsy987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Had a great week at Pitt Farm. The family loved the small farm and of course the swimming and tennis. The accommodation was good and Pete was a great host. It is in a rural location so which we liked, the beaches and towns are only about 20 minutes away. Good weather really helped I am sure but as we left the children were all asking when we could come back and if we can get some goats.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Resting9-5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Everything about the place was perfect. Nine of us stayed in Martingale (there was room for another three) and we enjoyed everything about it. We all had a lot of room and great views out of the kitchen and upstairs bedroom. The pool is great (it's bigger than the photo lets on). The good-quality tennis court is definitely a bonus, as is the games room. Pitt Farm is in a lovely area, but I didn't feel the need to venture beyond the farm itself very much--it was so relaxing and peaceful.

Room Tip: Martingale is great for larger parties, Cavasson lovely for couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adam p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

I went there with my family for my grandparents' Golden Anniversary and we had so much fun! We stayed in Martingale. All the rooms were amazing! The pool was great! We went there almost every day except for when my brother was sick. The service was great! They gave us a cream tea when we got there! It was an awesome vacation!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelGirl519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We have just returned from a fabulous week at pitt farm. We stayed in Pelham which was huge and perfectly suited to 8 adults and 4 kids. The facilities were great - lovely pool, tennis court and games room. The cottage was well located, a short drive to lovely local beaches and towns. The little farm is also great - our kids visited everyday and loved chasing the chickens. The pub is east alvington is recommended. The only area for improvement is to put wifi in the cottages. There is little mobile service in the area so wifi would be great.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Totnes hotels
8.1 mi away
Dartington Hall Hotel
Dartington Hall Hotel
#1 of 6 in Dartington
942 reviews
4.1 mi away
Higher Gitcombe
Higher Gitcombe
#1 of 3 in Cornworthy
180 reviews
8.4 mi away
Pig & Whistle
Pig & Whistle
#1 of 1 in Littlehempston
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Royal Seven Stars Hotel
6.8 mi away
The Old Forge at Totnes
6.8 mi away
King William IV Hotel
King William IV Hotel
#9 of 28 in Totnes
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pitt Farm Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pitt Farm Holiday Cottages

Address: East Allington, Totnes TQ9 7QD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Totnes
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Totnes
Hotel Class:4 star — Pitt Farm Holiday Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in beautiful South Devon these 7 stunning self-catering holiday cottages are fully equipped to provided a relaxing stay. All the cottages are Visit Britain 4* rated. Facilities on site include an indoor heated swimming pool, games room, tennis court and outdoor play area. We have a variety of animals including pigs, goats, ducks and chickens which keep everyone amused. Open all year with short breaks available outside of the peak seasons. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pitt Farm Holiday Cottages Totnes, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing