We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect peaceful country harmony”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Totnes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pitt Farm Holiday Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Perfect peaceful country harmony”
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

This is our second visit to Pitt farm staying in the six bedroomed Pelham cottage. On our arrival we were all greeted with home made scones with jam and cream...Needless to say that if the scones are anything to go by we knew everything else about our long weekend break away would be perfect. The farm shop on site was very useful as there is always something we forget. We never left site all weekend as the facilities and house were perfect and met all of our needs. Thank you once again Wendy
We'll be back next year without fail

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Wendy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    18
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
143
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bolney
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We had a great holiday with all the family during the Easter Holidays last year and immediately booked for the same time this year. With three generations (6 adults and 3 small children) Kinblewick Cottage was just the right size to accommodate us all. It was comfortable, nicely decorated with a superb and well appointed kitchen, and the log fire in the lounge on chilly evenings added to the cosy atmosphere. Pete and Sue are excellent and charming hosts, and the welcome tray provided of home made scones, jam and cream was delicious. The bottle of wine on arrival was also a very nice touch. The Easter Egg Hunt, organised by Pete, was the special event for the children but they also greatly enjoyed the outside play area and the indoor pool. We appreciated the comprehensive selection of provisions in "Sue's Pantry" and the freshly made croissants (and bread) delivered each morning! It is the perfect location for a family holiday and is highly recommended.

Room Tip: I am sure all the cottages are equally well maintained and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Booked a week at Pitt Farm Cottages in April 14, over the internet. And as I have never been there before I was a liitle apprehensive about what it would be like.

Arrived on first day and was presently welcomed by Pete the owner. From that point both I and my family had a brilliant holiday. There is everything you need, from the well equipped cottages, the indoor pool and tennis court. My son and daughter had a field day in the wide open spaces and play area. fed the animals on the farm with Pete and his wife Sue and made lot of new friends with the other children on site.

Great place where you are left alone to enjoy your holiday without intrusion, with help and assistance on hand from owners, if needed.

Would highly recommend Pitt Farm and will surely be returning in the near future.

If your looking for a peaceful break you can't go wrong.

Room Tip: Stayed in Mullen, which slept 6. Ideal, as everything is walking distance from the front door. Sayin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Just returned from a fantastic weekend in Kimblewick Cottage. The perfect place to get 3 generations together. The owners, Pete and Sue couldnt have been more welcoming - cream tea on arrival and a bottle of wine. The cottage facilities were some of the best I have seen and the on site activities were plenty to keep us all entertained - tennis, swimming in a beautifully warm pool, trampolining, football and animals to feed. We particularly liked the chickens who stayed very closed to our front door for the weekend and provided us with gorgeous fresh eggs. Would definitely recommend. Many thanks.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah2662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2014

I booked 3 cottages: Martingale (for a full week) plus Snaffle and Cavasson (for just a long weekend). Pete was very helpful with the booking, allowing me to make a few minor changes as the numbers of people changed in the run up to our trip.
He showed me around when I arrived in the midst of a howling gale, and when there was an electricity cut (not the fault of the owners in any way) on that first night before half of our party had even arrived, Pete came round with extra candles and a camping stove; and Sue and Pete even cooked our supper in their own (oil-fired) oven in their own home. They were also quite happy to provide fresh sheets for those people who were changing rooms when several people went home and we moved into just Martingale for the remainder of the week.
We were a group of 13 adults and 8 kids ranging in age from 2 to 9. The kids loved the pool, spending hours in there every day, and the adults spent most of our time lounging in the sitting room in Martingale which was big enough to accommodate all of us for meals. The only thing to be aware of with the pool is that there is no shallow end, and some of the kids in our group couldn't stand up in it, but we always had at least several adults with the kids so this was OK.
Having the shop on site is really useful, and the fresh eggs and coissants in the morning were great.
The location is good, and although it's not right on the coast it is easy to get to places around and about, e.g. Slapton, Kingsbridge, Dartmouth etc.
Overall we had a fabulous time and thought it was good value for a large group with lots of young kids in early Spring when the swimming pool was a major bonus to have on wet weather days.

Room Tip: Martingale benefits from proper central heating, whereas Snaffle and Cavasson it is electric radiato...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon England
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2013

we have just come back from weekend at Pitt Farm - we had a family get together (six adults and six boys) and had a fantastic time , Pelham the cottage is beautiful ,lovely, spacious and so well equipped - the kids had so much to do and never got borred ,Pete and Sue are so lovely! pete took kids to feed the animals which they all enjoyed - really recommend a visit

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank tildy1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I booked two cottages (Martindale and Snaffle) for a major family celebration. 3 generations and 17 people shared the cottages (although in reality we lived in the bigger cottage).
The location is great; the cottages spacious, clean, warm, fantastically appointed, great for mass cooking and eating. Then the site facilities are also a major bonus. Pool (warm), games room, tennis court, play area and farm animals (shame sauna wasn't working but you cant have everything!)
All 17 of us had a brilliant weekend. I recommend Pitt Farm for any family holiday or gathering.
Thanks Pete and Sue you made our stay lovely and easy (fresh croissants and organic bread in the mornings for example).

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richie_Turner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Totnes
6.8 mi away
Royal Seven Stars Hotel
6.9 mi away
The Old Forge at Totnes
3.5 mi away
Best Western The Dartmouth Hotel Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Premier Inn Paignton South - Brixham Road
7.3 mi away
The Cott Inn
The Cott Inn
#2 of 5 in Dartington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Steam Packet Inn
The Steam Packet Inn
#5 of 27 in Totnes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pitt Farm Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pitt Farm Holiday Cottages

Property: Pitt Farm Holiday Cottages
Address: East Allington, Totnes TQ9 7QD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Totnes
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Totnes
Hotel Class:4 star — Pitt Farm Holiday Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in beautiful South Devon these 7 stunning self-catering holiday cottages are fully equipped to provided a relaxing stay. All the cottages are Visit Britain 4* rated. Facilities on site include an indoor heated swimming pool, games room, tennis court and outdoor play area. We have a variety of animals including pigs, goats, ducks and chickens which keep everyone amused. Open all year with short breaks available outside of the peak seasons. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pitt Farm Holiday Cottages Totnes, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing