We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world and friendly”
Review of Anne of Cleves

Anne of Cleves
Ranked #25 of 97 Restaurants in Totnes
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Old world and friendly”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Resisted the fantastic looking cakes in the window. But had som delicious homemade soup, and good coffee.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    88
    39
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Fabulous cake and coffee”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Attracted by the vast array of cakes in the window, we had to stop at Anne of Cleves for tea/coffee and cake and we weren't disappointed. The loveliest tiffin, moist and chocolatey brownie, marvellous flat white coffee and generous pot of Assam tea for under £9. Service was great, friendly staff and speedy without being rushed. Just great.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Libby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo M, Owner at Anne of Cleves, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review the restaurant - we encourage our staff to allow customers to take their time - tea cannot be rushed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Widecombe in the Moor, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Nice cuppa”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I visited this traditional tea room on a Sunday lunchtime with two friends for a quick bite to eat. I had the buck rarebit but sadly the poached egg was hard. I specifically asked our waitress for a soft egg but that was not too happen. Of course I could have complained but frankly the staff were rushed off their feet and I didn't want to cause a fuss. My friend had the bacon and scrambled eggs which looked to be a far better option frankly. I will have that next time! I have been here in the past and can recommend the wide range of cakes.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo M, Owner at Anne of Cleves, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments about our wide range of cakes on offer. i am really sorry that your poached egg was overcooked and have passed your comments on to our chef to improve our service. Looking forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verwood, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice proper English tea room”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

If you want a proper English tea room which serves up nice cakes and meals then go to Anne of Cleves tearooms in Totnes, Devon. Great real interior with that "feel" you can only find in a real tearoom. A big range of homemade cakes and fruit pies.

My choice the apple pie with Devon clotted cream ( I'm sure they use this to build houses with !) and a good pot of tea. Other white and dark choccie cakes and others available but I couldn't manage them this time ( give me time !). My wife had fruit scone devon cream tea, can't fault that.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank michaelfcastro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely cream tea”
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

We had a big breakfast so perfect for an afternoon cream tea to follow.
This is an old fashioned tea room
With friendly staff helping what can only be described as demanding customers.
Odd to have a hairdressers upstairs too.
The scone was great lots of cream and jam and a nice cuppa.
Good stop off place.

Helpful?
Thank Chloe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Anne of Cleves also viewed

 

Been to Anne of Cleves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing