We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Traditional tearoom”
Review of Anne of Cleves

Anne of Cleves
Ranked #26 of 95 Restaurants in Totnes
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Traditional tearoom”
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Warm and cosy. Excellent, polite and friendly service. The vegetable lasagne was delicious but sadly the lamb was a little on the tough side. Having seen the size of the afternoon teas I would be tempted to go for that next time

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beth368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    83
    37
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A bit disappointing...”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Hadn't been for ages, but was visiting the area so thought we'd pop in for tea. Unfortunately two of the items we asked for weren't available, but it was so busy they had probably sold out so that's understandable. Then the wrong tea was served, but changed with an apology, so again that's acceptable. However, both my scone and my partner's flapjack were a bit hard (maybe they had been in the window too long?), but the real disappointment was the pot of something red and synthetic masquerading as strawberry jam...I can go to a roadside diner and get real, good quality jam, so what's happening here?

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PamGL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo M, Owner at Anne of Cleves, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our tearoom. We take all comments very seriously and have looked at our lamb and decided to take it off the menu. We hope to welcome you back to Anne of Cleves soon!
Jo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“THE place to go in Totnes”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

What's not to like! Cakes to die for, just look in the window. Lovely old-fashioned service, the way it always was - can't beat it.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank EnglishNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Old world and friendly”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Resisted the fantastic looking cakes in the window. But had som delicious homemade soup, and good coffee.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Fabulous cake and coffee”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Attracted by the vast array of cakes in the window, we had to stop at Anne of Cleves for tea/coffee and cake and we weren't disappointed. The loveliest tiffin, moist and chocolatey brownie, marvellous flat white coffee and generous pot of Assam tea for under £9. Service was great, friendly staff and speedy without being rushed. Just great.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Libby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo M, Owner at Anne of Cleves, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review the restaurant - we encourage our staff to allow customers to take their time - tea cannot be rushed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Anne of Cleves also viewed

 

Been to Anne of Cleves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing