We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Waterman's Arms

Waterman's Arms
Ranked #1 of 9 Nightlife in Totnes
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Under New Management since November 2013! A quintessential 17th Century Inn, located in an area of outstanding natural beauty, at the bottom of a steep valley next to Bow Creek and bridge. The Inn has been used as a smithy, a brew house, petrol station, a prison and a haunt for the feared press gangs. The area was recorded in the doomsday book. Built in the 17th-century, Waterman's Arms overlooks tinkling Bow Creek, near Tuckenhay. We have fifteen beautiful, well appointed en-suite rooms with large bathrooms and powerful showers in the Annexe and spacious powerful shower rooms in the Inn. Direct dial telephones and free Wi-Fi equipped throughout. With riverside sitting across from the Inn, The Waterman's is the ideal place for a relaxing drink or a delicious meal by the river. We also have newly refurbished sitting to the side of the Inn on the patio. We have two separate dining rooms, on three different levels, seating no more than 35 people in each, they have been recently updated and are now bright, airy and as modern as a 17th century inn can be!
Dobcross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Been visiting this place every year since 2007 when on holiday in Devon.
You cannot fault the location...is there a better located pub anywhere else?...and the potential???
We had a meal there and can say this time round it was utter garbage. Small bland burgers with a thimble of coleslaw and about a dozen chips for an adult priced at just shy of £10!!!! A veggie burger offering less taste than a telephone directory and kids meals which were unimaginative and predictable.
Great place for a drink but wouldn't recommend eating there at this moment.
Needs substantial improvement guys.

Helpful?
1 Thank SalmonellaSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    17
    8
    4
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely end to our trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

We headed to the Waterman's Arms on our second to last night, after visiting for drinks earlier in the week.

We were surprised by how busy and bustling the pub was as when we'd come for drinks earlier in the week it had been quieter, but this only added to the lovely atmosphere. We were made to feel very welcome, especially when we were told our dog was more than welcome to come sit inside with us too!

We had a range of food off the menu, including the steak which was really well cooked and the steak pie was a particular favourite as the pastry was buttery and delicious!

The only criticism we would have is that the toilets weren't very nice - the women's in particular could have done with a good clean.

However, the food was delicious, the staff were very attentive and all in all it was one of the nicest evenings during our stay so if we were back down that end of the country we would definitely revisit!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank HunPoppet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Les_WatermansArms87, Manager at Waterman's Arms, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visits to The Waterman's.

It's great to see that you had a lovely meal with us! All our dishes are cooked fresh and made with a lot of care! And all locally sourced for the best possible taste!

We do apologise if the toilets were not at a higher standard of cleanliness, we shall be checking them more regularly to ensure that the toilets are at a high standard.

Thank you for all your feedback, it always nice to hear what people think, good or bad, it helps us to give the best service possible!

We hope to see you again when you are next down this part of the country and again thank you for taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely location shame about the food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

The watermans is in a really lovely spot by the river but unfortunately not much thought/ effort goes into its food so had a bit of a disappointing lunch here. Sandwiches were small and dry- the 'club' sandwich was nothing like one it was just like a white bread supermarket sandwich with chicken/bacon mix with a small blob of coleslaw on the side. Poor value for money. Chips were good but lemonade came out of a large generic bottle. It's a bit sad to see so little effort made in providing an appetising good value lunch here, the view alone just isn't enough to warrant a return.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Holly-vill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Les_WatermansArms87, Manager at Waterman's Arms, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
We are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your lunch.

Our white and brown bread is supplied by Kingsmill. and our lemonade is very clearly marked as Schweppes, both these bands are highly regarded in the trade and again we were sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your lunch.

Maybe if you tried us again, you may not be so disappointed knowing that you are receiving good quality brands.

Kind regards

The Waterman's Arms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great little B&B for a short trip to Totnes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

We booked a one night stay at the Waterman's Arms during the May bank holiday weekend as we needed somewhere to stay when attending a wedding locally. The reviews on Tripadvisor weren't great but then they mostly focused on the pub itself rather than the accommodations so we thought we'd take a chance. I'm glad we did.

The rooms were a good size and well-appointed. The pub's website doesn't actually do the rooms justice as they were far more comfortable than I expected. The bed was super comfy, the furnishings were lovely and the bathroom was well equipped with mini toiletries.

The mini LCD TV in the room was a welcome surprise however we didn't stay long enough to get any use out of it or the free SAT box provided.

Sadly the WiFi didn't work in our room which was annoying as there is no phone signal in the area.

The hotel staff were friendly and accommodating and breakfast the following morning was good - full English for my husband and scrambled eggs on toast for me.

All in all, good value for money in a beautiful location.

Helpful?
1 Thank L0nd0nG1rl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Les_WatermansArms87, Front Office Manager at Waterman's Arms, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review!

We are so pleased to hear that you liked the room. All our rooms have been refurbished since the new ownership, making them bright, airy and as comfortable as can be! With Shabby Chic decor throughout all our rooms, that still in keeps with the 17th Century Inn!
Thank you for your comments about the pictures on our website. We will add more pictures to ensure that everyone can see just how nice and spacious our rooms truly are!

We do apologise for the WiFi during your stay. We were having some difficulty with it. Currently, we are having a new system installed, so wherever you are in the Inn you will stay connected.

Thank you again for taking the time to write such a lovely review, and we hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Double standards”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

My partner (a local) went in and ordered a coke £2.40 a little expensive but it was tourist season it walk in and as I'm local but have an American accent I was charged £3.60 for the same drink
I think this kind of thing makes me angry. Over priced even if you get the locals rate

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Thomas E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Waterman's Arms also viewed

 

Been to Waterman's Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing