We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room and restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Royal Seven Stars Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Totnes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed here last mid-August, taking an unplanned road trip around the south west, arriving from Brixham. First impressions of the outside and lobby were positive. I'm not sure if the hotel will appreciate me sharing this, but we arrived without a booking around 3pm and after learning there were vacancies, attempted to bargain the price of a room. The receptionist wasn't overly keen on playing along and explained she would have to check with a manager in an adjacent office, returning with a piece of paper on which she had written the lowest price they would accept. It was under £100 so we went for it... Little did we know the room was the Agatha Christie suite, and so were pleasantly surprised! It is a truly lovely, large room with beautiful features - four poster bed and an immaculate bathroom with a HUGE bath. We considered this absolutely worth the price we paid.

Later we ate in the restaurant which was actually empty, bar one other couple (who we're sat in another section hidden from us). We both had a steak which was very good and recommended, served with sauce of your choice, fries, grilled mushroom/tomato etc. Particular thanks go to our waitress who's name escapes me; privately, we tipped her personally as the service was top notch. Additionally, the music was at a comfortable volume, and generally non intrusive (The XX's first album on repeat). We did use the bar, but sat outside until a young employee asked us politely to move inside before a certain time. We were pleased to learn that you can be served at the bar well into the small hours by a night porter present, but retired to our room around 1am. The inside bar itself is nice enough.

The following morning we checked out slightly late, but no pressure from the desk was encountered. Before departing we had coffee and orange juice on the outside front terrace (smoking) which is pleasant in summer. We really enjoyed our stay and hope to return to the same room in August 2014!

Room Tip: The Agatha Christie Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kayleygrub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (629)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

427 - 433 of 629 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed here unexpectedly and the staff could not have been more accommodating. The breakfast was excellent and the bar and restaurant food good, we had a family room which was great and would be delighted to stay again.

One thing would make it better is a slightly wider menu with less carbs choices -I was desperate for a choice of salad or veggie dishes which were good but limited

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melbobjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed 2 nights over the New Year and had a fabulous time.The Agatha Christie suite has a very comfortable four poster bed and the bathroom is huge. All the staff are friendly and helpful. The entertainment on New Years Eve was fantastic and every bit of the hotel was an entertainment space. Breakfast was delicious. The weather was terrible but the hotel is so warm and inviting . We have stayed twice before and I'm sure we will stay again in 2014. If the website says they're full it's worth phoning direct . They offer some great deals.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theresa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Stayed here twice before, last time being about 13 years ago. What a difference! Previously, although obviously packed with history it was a tad faded and dark and in need of some TLC. And it has certainly had that given to it in spades since! Booked a half price deal via their website directly (note - worth a look as on all the usual hotel websites it was full price) and was excited to see that it had been upgraded. Absolutely wonderful, retaining all the original features but so much lighter and plusher than before. And both bars and restaurant were packed all day and all evening, with locals enjoying everything from a coffee to an evening meal. We ate here and the seafood salad was wonderful, packed with crab, salmon and prawn and reasonably priced. Breakfast was gorgeous and the staff very helpful. Only issue was the intense heat in the bedroom, even with the window open but in the middle of winter, who cares? Will return again, soon, thank you so much for a fabulous stay.

Room Tip: We had a premier room, it was gorgeous - huge bed and big bathroom - and bathrobes too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeanieLinguini2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Stayed for 2 nights and loved every minute! Live music on the Friday (Shady Cool)who were superb. Food great ,staff lovely. Surroundings in the hotel were lovely. Particularly loved the quiet room upstairs which has such a calming atmosphere . Will return whenever we go to Totnes.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Marion K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

What a lovely experience, more than helpful and friendly staff, from checking in, to the bar, to the dining room, to breakfast and check out. Food was delicious, breakfast was definitely the best I have had for a long time for a small hotel. The buffet choice included smoked salmon, prosciutto, lovely glasses of granola mixed with fresh berries, (raspberries on December 27th!) and yogurt. Plenty of other buffet items, then a cooked breakfast freshly prepared to your order, not help yourself from big tureens. Although I prefer Dartmouth as a town to visit, the Royal Seven Stars has the edge on the Royal Castle in my opinion. When the receptionist saw that my husband is 6'7" tall, she moved us to a larger room with a super-sized bed at no extra charge. That's service.

Room Tip: We liked room 19, but there are a lot of steps if you have walking difficulties. It was in a quiet p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank residentemmett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Eaten here for breakfast and stopped by for coffee a number of times over the years and it has always been the same great standard.

Chose to eat inside as it was quite chilly but we have often sat outside under the heaters in the middle of winter for coffee.

Just had bacon and sausage sandwiches with lattes but they were good value and served quickly by friendly staff.

Love the fact that we can use the same loyalty card here as well as our more regular Royal Castle Hotel in Dartmouth (as we stay in Dartmouth). Well worth getting one if you visit the area more than once as we have had a couple of vouchers from them now normally one after each trip down.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Emma_N68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Totnes
7.2 mi away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
1,084 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Old Forge at Totnes
6.5 mi away
The Dartmoor Lodge
The Dartmoor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ashburton
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Best Western The Dartmouth Hotel Golf & Spa
14.1 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
21.9 mi away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#5 of 5 in Tavistock
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Seven Stars Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Seven Stars Hotel

Address: The Plains, Totnes TQ9 5DD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Totnes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Totnes
Price Range: £94 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Seven Stars Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Royal Seven Stars Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal 7 Stars Hotel
Royal Seven Stars Totnes
Royal Seven Stars Hotel Totnes, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing