We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Seven Stars Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$86
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$233
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$221
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Queens Hotel(Paignton)
US$135
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$155
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Palace(Paignton)
US$166
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Berry Hotel(Paignton)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marine Hotel(Paignton)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (656)
Filter reviews
656 results
Traveller rating
324
187
74
43
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
324
187
74
43
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsagatha christiechampagne barsister hotelroyal castlelovely hotelbar foodcoaching innfour posterdaniel defoedouble parkingmain barfunction roomwatch the worlda small car parkjacuzzi bathsalmonfirst floor
Filter
Updating list...
447 - 452 of 656 reviews
Reviewed 23 January 2014

I eat here a lot and I have to say my go to meal is always the fish and chips, so much so that I bought my parents here to sample them. The fish is always good and the chips are just about the best I've had in a restaurant.

It's good value too.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stefinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

This was our second stay at the Seven Stars. Booked a deluxe room for two nights to celebrate an anniversary. Warm welcome, fabulous room. Very clean, excellent bed, lovely staff particularly Ewen in the bar and the amazing, sparky lady who serves the breakfast. Nothing was too much trouble and all staff were helpful and jolly. This is a very busy and buzzing establishment with a great atmosphere, plenty of food choice, excellent wine list. My partner (an ale buff) loves the beers on offer. Dinner in the restaurant was very nice indeed. Quick, competent service, good food and not overpriced. A great base for exploring Totnes. We will return.

Room Tip: We have stayed in 2 of the deluxe rooms that face out onto the street. It can be a little noisy late at night as you are above the outdoor terrace. It didn't bother us as we were up late and being jolly too but those who want a quiet night should book a room at the back. This time we had the" Daniel Defoe" room. Big bed, jacuzzi bath, big TV, nice seating area. Very good.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We stayed 2 nights over the New Year and had a fabulous time.Six of us stayed and we all liked our rooms which were varying in price. Rooms were quiet despite being in town and above a popular bar. All the staff from cleaners to reception to bar staff and waiters were very friendly and attentive. The entertainment on New Years Eve was fantastic, with two groups in two areas of the hotel and even a disco for the group's breaks. The venue was great for mixing with the very friendly locals and they visited the hotel, paying for wristbands on New Year's eve, therefore ensuring a mix of age groups. All meals were delicious and attentively served - amazing as they served so many on NYE and there was a great choice at all times. The weather was terrible but the hotel is so welcoming that we hope we will stay again in 2014. They offer some great deals. The sales were great on our last day as the town offers some lovely and unusual shops.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christine-ed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I was part of a work party to the seven stars for a xmas party. There was another party there with us sharing the upstairs room. The hotel/pub was very busy, as it is usually. I have eaten there in the day and evening and the food has been ok but I had been warned by several people that they do not cater well for large parties but was prepared to have an open mind. The starter which was soup was ok but the main, a turkey roast (there was very little choice for the cost of £27 a head!) Was not good. The turkey was off a catering roll and only had a very thin slice of bland tasting breast meat and a tiny bit of dark meat. We were on a table of 12 and there weren't enough vegetables only 2 dishes and when we asked for more they had run out. On the table were 4 party poppers and crackers and a glass of strange tasting pink drink. The pudding was ok too a little indifferent. As I say I have eaten there several times and it has been fine and it is a lovely hotel in a lovely town. All I can say maybe stay clear of booking a large function there as the food isnt cheap and very in different.

Room Tip: Try the food on a normal day and they do good special breaks
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deedeeSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalsevenstars, Manager at Royal Seven Stars Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2014

Thank you for your comments. I’m sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your party night. We do take as much care and attention for 140 guests as we do for 2.
We use local supplies and good local food in all areas of the hotel. The turkeys we use are not catering rolls but fresh turkeys which are boned and rolled hence the shape. We always serve seasonal vegetables and potatoes family style on the table and offer plenty for everyone so we apologise if there was not enough on the evening and we of course would offer more so please accept our apologies if this did not happen. All of our desserts in the bars, brasserie and banqueting are made by our pastry chef including our Christmas puddings.
We cater for up to 200 people on many functions throughout the year and do take care and attention on all. Please accept our apologies if you were disappointed and we did not make your evening special. When you are next in please see one of our management team as we would love to restore your faith in us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Had two nights at Royal Seven Stars Hotel and found the rooms well up to expected standard and beds extremely comfortable. Restaurant good and reasonably priced. Situated in the centre of Totnes but not noisy. Staff extremely pleasant and helpful. Would certainly stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with redspottedhanky.com
Thank Maureen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews