We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly staff - rather noisy bar!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Royal Seven Stars Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Totnes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Our room was very comfortable and well equipped, although the bathroom was exceptionally tiny. All the staff we dealt with were friendly and helpful, and the hotel has a very welcoming feel. Breakfast was absolutely excellent. Our only reservation was that the bar beneath our room was clearly the most popular spot in town, and on a Saturday night was extremely noisy. Drinkers outside in the street were revelling loudly under our window. To be fair, they were happy rather than bellicose, and the noise did stop around midnight, so it could have been a lot worse!

Room Tip: You might find a room away from the street quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ambermaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalsevenstars, Manager at Royal Seven Stars Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Many thanks for your review. I am glad to hear that you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay with us. Our bars are very popular as we are a centrally located hotel. We do our best to keep the noise down out on the terrace and ensure that all late night revellers are off the premises in good time. We will of course do our best to accommodate you if you require a quieter room in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (610)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

397 - 403 of 612 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2014

We have just returned from a four night stay at The Royal Seven Stars Hotel in Totnes. We had planned to tour Devon by train but severe weather conditions prevented us from doing so. This didn't however stop us from having a lovely break in Totnes and the surrounding area. All the staff who looked after us were friendly and welcoming. Our bedroom was warm and comfortable - perfect after days and evenings out in the wind and rain. The bar, with open log fire, was always a welcome sight. The breakfast menu choice was excellent and perfectly cooked/presented. My husband almost managed to eat the full English on the first morning! We will certainly be back. Can I also recommend the Gold service bus with a stop right outside the hotel which goes to Dartmouth, Plymouth, and Torquay (day rider ticket costs just £5.10).

Room Tip: Bedrooms on the top floor are probably quieter. We stayed in a premier room this time as we took adv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cloudlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalsevenstars, Manager at Royal Seven Stars Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Thank you for this great review. Although we are in the midst of winter we do like to keep things nice and cosy with our log fires, hot drinks and friendly faces. We are glad the weather didn't stop you from having a great stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

When visiting Totnes on a wet and windy Saturday(yesterday),we were delighted to pop into The Royal Stars Hotel. We found a warm and friendly atmosphere.The staff were extemely helpful and accommodating, especially the chef, as I have many food intolerances, nothing was too much trouble. From a good selection on the menu I had scampi and chips, my husband had a generous serlion steak, cooked perfectly with all the trimmings and my young son had a curry which was not too hot for his young mouth.We then chose from a wide range of delicous desserts. We found it very good value for money and we will certainly be returning and recommending to our family and friends.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalsevenstars, Manager at Royal Seven Stars Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Thank you for your kind review. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit. Our pastry chef will be pleased to hear that you enjoyed the freshly made desserts. Once again many thanks for the review and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We went to the Seven Stars for supper last weekend, and although it is a nice place the food was sadly disappointing for many basic reasons:

1. Nacho starter was a let down, with guacamole out of a jar or packet, likewise a very poor (non homemade) salsa and no chilis or any other additions. All very basic, and for the price I would like some homemade toppings which are very very easy to prepare.

2. Sausage and mash: sausages were totally overlooked, dried out, chewy and tasteless. Obviously reheated. Mash was stuffed with so much butter that it tasted greasy and left a huge 'oil slick' on the plate. Onion gravy was bland, tasteless and watery. No effort had gone into making it, clearly.

3. Scampi and chips: mediocre. Nothing good or bad to say, just nothing special.

Portions were overwhelmingly huge - way way too big and we have got large appetites! I suggest that the Seven Stars should focus a little more on serving fresh and good quality homemade meals, which is not hard to do.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank maccerpops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalsevenstars, Manager at Royal Seven Stars Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

Thank you for your constructive comments. We are sorry to hear that you found your sausages to be overcooked as they are a very popular dish and should be full of flavour. We pride ourselves on good food and service at the Royal Seven Stars and always look to use the best local ingredients. We can assure you that we do not reheat any of our food and make all of our own sauces and gravies. We will take on board what you have mentioned about portion control as we would love for you to have tried our desserts which are freshly made by our pastry chef. We hope you will try us again so we can restore your faith in us and thank you for your valuable feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

After strolling around the fascinating town of Totnes looking for somewhere to celebrate my wife's birthday, we finally settled on this hotel and wandered into the bar. A number of special deals were on offer and we opted for the '2 meals for £12'. We both chose chicken & mushroom pie with new potatoes and peas. The chicken was very tender but the puff pastry could have been cooked for longer. The vegetables were fine. All in all, excellent value. Couldn't help but notice that some prices on the main menu were rather expensive. £20 for a steak is the best example of this. The atmosphere and surroundings were very homely and it's easy to see why the place is so popular (even on a Wednesday!). Dogs are welcome too! Nice to hear the buzz of conversation instead of the whine of piped music!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LabRats2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalsevenstars, Manager at Royal Seven Stars Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

Thank you for your comments. We are glad that overall you enjoyed your lunch with us. I am sorry that the pastry was not perfect as normal. Our menus cater for a wide audience and we use prime Devon meats including the 28 day hung 8oz fillet steak at £20.95 that you mentioned. However we do offer 5 cuts of steak and a wide variety of seasonal meals which we hope you will try on your next visit. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Five of us (three adults ,two small children) popped into the seven stars for dinner in the bar on the way to see Aladdin in the civic hall.
The staff were friendly and helpful enough and we found a nice table to sit around. The food however was not brilliant, it was very overpriced and was no better quality than a wetherspoons meal at a third of the price.
My steak was overcooked and tough and was served with a few chips, frozen peas , grilled tomato and a jug of tasteless pepper sauce.(£15.00)
The children's meals were over £6 each and my grandsons curry was tasteless and not like a normal mild madras curry. My granddaughter had a small round ready made pizza few chips and tiny salad and my husband scampi and chips. My son had fish and chips which did look nice. the bill for those few un - exciting meals was £52!!!! We don't mind paying for good quality food but this was not good value. Very disappointed!!! We won't be back.

Room Tip: just used the restaurant so no room info
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 321DebbieDodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalsevenstars, Manager at Royal Seven Stars Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience here at the Royal Seven Stars Hotel. If we had known that you were unhappy with your food at the time we would have been happy to replace it. We do pride ourselves on the quality of the food and our meats are sourced from a local Totnes butchers. The next time you are in the area please come and see a member of our management team as we would be happy to restore your faith in us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Excellent stay. Room was comfortable, bar and service very good even though it was very busy, being December. We ate in the Restaurant one night and the bar the second night. Both were good but the Restaurant offered a better choice as we were gluten intolerant. We thoroughly enjoyed the breakfasts and indeed, our whole stay. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Totnes
0.2 mi away
The Old Forge at Totnes
7.2 mi away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
1,063 reviews
4.8 mi away
Best Western The Dartmouth Hotel Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
#3 of 6 in Dartmouth
315 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Dartmoor Lodge
The Dartmoor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ashburton
520 reviews
1.5 mi away
Dartington Hall Hotel
Dartington Hall Hotel
#1 of 6 in Dartington
932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Seven Stars Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Seven Stars Hotel

Address: The Plains, Totnes TQ9 5DD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Totnes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Totnes
Price Range: £99 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Seven Stars Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Agoda, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Royal Seven Stars Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal 7 Stars Hotel
Royal Seven Stars Totnes
Royal Seven Stars Hotel Totnes, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing