We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place for good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Royal Seven Stars Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Totnes
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good place for good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Staying a week in totnes and this place is in the middle of it all really good wine and beer we had a cheese bored witch was very nice with a glass of wine was a bit over priced but then again you get what you pay for inside it is beautiful you can really see the detail that has been made to make this place we will be back thank you

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jackman19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    280
    162
    56
    31
    16
See reviews for
97
241
30
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

We only stayed for one night, we justwanted to get away from our stressful jobs. We only live in Paignton so did not have far to travel. We stayed in a superior room, and it was lovely, relaxing and clean. All of the staff were fantastic, very friendly and helpful. We are planning another night there at the end of the summer season, and I am looking forward to it!

Room Tip: We stayed in 20. There was a large bathroom with a bath and a queen size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rykerbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

This was our second stay at this town centre hotel in Totnes. There is so much to like about this hotel which has a comfortable,homely feel,great location and offers great service throughout provided by a friendly helpful staff. Breakfasts are well presented with great choice and the Sunday Carvery deal is well worth taking up.
We stayed in a premier room which was spacious with comfortable king size bed but as it overlooked the front of the hotel we did suffer from late night noise from the local drinkers using the seating/tables on the pavement below. Our stay coincided with a particularly warm spell of weather so the the noise problem was probably at its worse.
Totnes is a lovely interesting town which is well placed for visits to Torquay, Paignton and Brixham while the Dart river trips down to Dartmouth are superb.
After a day exploring its good to know that you can return to the hotel for a good meal and a drink to end the day.

Room Tip: Rooms at rear of hotel probably quieter in summer months
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Ideal for a stay in Totnes. Right by the River Dart and the shops. Also good centre to get around by train, bus or boat, all nearby.

Small car park, but you can double park and leave the key with the reception.

Well maintained and in a style suited to the age of the building (built in 1660). Lots of interesting pictures and ornaments around the hotel. And the hallway is wonderful (see photos).

Large well run buzzing bar frequented by locals and visitors. Spoke to a couple with a beautiful Bichon who pointed to a painting on the wall of their pooch!

Compact, but comfortable and pleasantly furnished room, with small but good shower room etc. Everything looked clean.

We ate in the main restaurant as couldn't find anywhere else that appealed in town (especially as I'm vegetarian). Husband happy with meal. My vegetarian was a lentil burger I seem to remember, served with a potato mash and tomato coulis - good try, but bland and uninspiring - needed some seasoning and a green vegetable to create more interest on the plate. But staff all delightful and helpful.

All in all pleased we stayed in he hotel. A little different from other hotels. And expect Americans, and other nationalities wanting a English experience would love it (as long as they are aware this is more an inn rather than luxury hotel!)



Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bird3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Just had a lovely weekend staying at the Seven Stars.. We booked the Brasserie for a group of 20 and stayed overnight. The service and food were both excellent. The hotel itself was spotless and well maintained and all the staff were very friendly and welcoming. Breakfast was excellent. A lovely hotel with a friendly laid back feel. Highly recommended

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Ate in the brasserie whilst staying in our motorhome in Totnes. The hotel has a lovely traditional feeling whilst at the same time being up to date particularly in the brasserie. We were warmly welcomed by reception staff when enquiring about evening meals and invited to peruse the menu's and have a look around. We opted for the brasserie. The waitress was very attentive and pleasant and we didnt feel rushed. I had scallops followed by the lamb cutlets which were very good.. The selection of fresh vegetables including beetroot was excellent. My husband chose chicken which was perfectly cooked and good quality.We had a very relaxing evening finished off by good coffee.

Room Tip: just dined here
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheshe393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Ate in the Brasserie in June '14. Was told seafood linguini contained razor clams and scallops-it came with neither. Was told that the waitress should have checked with chef as they vary the selection. That's a management training issue I think, not a fault of the waitress, who was very helpful. Manager did not offer a refund! At £16.95 not a pleasant experience. My wife's lamb chops were requested rare, with some blood remaining-they came up well done!! her salmon tartlet pastry was very dry. Overall, if you like to look out at a bus stop, then visit this place, otherwise eat in the bar!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paolo123Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalsevenstars, Manager at Royal Seven Stars Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback. TQ9 offers seasonal, locally sourced food in a modern brasserie & champagne bar which is a popular venue for drinks and food. We are sorry that the lamb was overcooked as its beautiful South Devon lamb and is normally served pink or to the guests requirements. A mistake was made on this occasion and we would have happily re cooked the dish at the time.
With the seafood linguini, we do change the items of seafood in according to what we get in fresh from Brixham suppliers, razor clams are often on it but not normally scallops and we apologise that you were given this incorrect information at the time. It is one of our most popular dishes and hope that you enjoyed the dish with the fresh seafood that was in it. Your comments have been used in our weekly training session so thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Totnes
0.2 mi away
The Old Forge at Totnes
7.2 mi away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Dartmoor Lodge
The Dartmoor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ashburton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Best Western The Dartmouth Hotel Golf & Spa
0.1 mi away
King William IV Hotel
King William IV Hotel
#7 of 26 in Totnes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
1.5 mi away
Dartington Hall Hotel
Dartington Hall Hotel
#1 of 5 in Dartington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Seven Stars Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Seven Stars Hotel

Property: Royal Seven Stars Hotel
Address: The Plains, Totnes TQ9 5DD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Totnes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Totnes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Seven Stars Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Royal Seven Stars Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal 7 Stars Hotel
Royal Seven Stars Totnes
Royal Seven Stars Hotel Totnes, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing